We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very great place, nice surroundings, fabulous breakfast buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Denia La Sella Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Denia
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very great place, nice surroundings, fabulous breakfast buffet”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed a lot of times in this hotel, both for business and vacation.
The last time we spent the weekend there to just relax. The location is great, just at the "La Sella" golf course, nice views and nice surroundings. The rooms are cozy, not too big though. The only negative point to mention is the need for some renovations and really, really bad WiFi. I think the hotel could be in so much better shape if they would invest a little bit into maintenance. Also the gym needs renovation. Make sure you get to enjoy the great breakfast buffet, various choices and good quality!
The staff is very friendly and try hard to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micha-07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    320
    116
    49
    41
See reviews for
221
365
20
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend recently.
Hotel is certainly not 5 star. Rooms and, especially, bathrooms require significant improvement. No excuse for cheap plastic shower curtains over bath. Pool towels have to be requested at reception against a holding deposit charged to your room. Extra charge to enter the spa if you wish to use the indoor pool. Some staff, who were generally scarce, made an effort to provide good service but many seemed demotivated and directionless.
Locals we spoke to indicated that there were "problems" with the management contract and that Marriott was reluctant to continue. If true, it might go some way to explaining our disappointment.

Golf course would have been fine but on this occasion nine holes (out of 27) were closed for the whole of our stay and another 9 greens had just been hollow tined and dressed. So we played the same 18 for three days in a row.

Shame, because the resort could be really delightful with some serious investment and management.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelDavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here last week for 4 nights. Very good value for money but getting very tied which is a real shame because the views from the hotel are amazing, and the hotel is in a really nice location. They really need to spend some money on maintaining the place. All the staff were very nice. Been going to this hotel for the past 10 years.

Visit Javea and Moraira both really nice for eating out. You need a car.The hotell has free parking.

Room Tip: overlooking the golf course breath taking as you see the mountain but not under breakfast if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather190813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, UK
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We found this a very comfortable hotel. Our room was spacious and well appointed and the bathroom facilities were very good - so nice to have a bath.The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. There was a delightful pool area and small restaurant where snacks or light lunches could be bought. The food generally was very good with an excellent and varied breakfast. We tended to go out to eat in the evening , but when we did eat in house it was very good. Watch out for special deals there are excellent bargains on offer.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kópavogur, Iceland
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott hotel for ten days which included all the golf I could play at the La Sella golf course, breakfast and dinner. If you are staying at the hotel your golf buggies will be charged to your room so make sure your bill is right when you leave. The same goes for the drinks you may purchase at the bar.

The hotel: Pretty nice but not quite what you could expect from a five star hotel. The breakfast buffet was ok with all the basic needs. The dinner, however, was not that impressing. I would rather go with some local restaurants if you have the opportunity. The staff was nice but unfortunately the room maid threw away some medicine I left beside the bed. The walls at the hotel are extremely thin so if you´re telling some secrets you might wanna whisper... really! And, the aircondition didn´t work. We asked for the aircondition to be checked/"improved" - nothing happended.

When we were leaving the bill was all wrong. We were charged for playing 18 holes even when we could play all the golf we wanted (which was included in the price) and were charged for two extra buggies we didn't´t rent. We were therefore charged 100 Euros extra for something we didn't´t purchase and had a big fight at the lobby because of that. This is not something you want to experience when you´re checking out.

The golf: La Sella is, in my opinion, an excellent course with a great variation of long and short holes where the forrest demands a lot of you as a player. However, the service at the club house is very poor so don´t get your expectations too high regarding a cozy time at the club house terrace, which by the way has an excellent view over the 9th greeen and the 10th tee.

All together the whole experience was nice, still given the errors made at the hotel and the lacking service at the club house. The Spaniards have some catching up to do regarding the service which seems strange given the importance of the tourist industry in Spain.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bjarmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denia, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent part of an excellent chain. This hotel/spa/golf complex in a Spanish style has wonderful public areas, great pool, great spa and a superb golf course attached. Meals are excellent either from the extensive room service menu, or one of their excellent local/international restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennglobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killorglin, Kerry, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This Hotel is very nice to look at on the out side. the reception pools golf course etc. However the rooms are basic about the standard of the bewleys newlands cross which is 3 star. we had booked a superior room and in off season was around 110. per room as opposed to 45-55 at the bewleys and the room was exactly the same layout. the bedding basic and the beds so uncomfortable that i did not sleep and neither did my 8 year old. when we asked if this was a superior room they said the rooms where all the same. however our room was not the same as shown on their web site???
the shower was over the bath just defo not 5 star as compared to the 5 star hotels we have experienced in killarney etc. the manager was not available and we asked for him on a few occasions. the last time he was in a meeting and was supposedly going to find us when he was out of it. This did not happen. Infact no effort was made to try and see us at all. And then on the last eve , a phone message was left for us at the reception and this was not passed on to us. Very bad service. The breakfast which was included was good but again not 5 Star at all! Not good value for money especially with the uncomfortable beds!!!!!No sleep makes for a bad holiday!!

Room Tip: they say all rooms the same!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denia
3.0 mi away
Port Denia
Port Denia
#8 of 34 in Denia
676 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ona Ogisaka Garden
Ona Ogisaka Garden
#11 of 34 in Denia
479 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Daniya Denia
Daniya Denia
#24 of 34 in Denia
422 reviews
4.2 mi away
Les Rotes Hotel
Les Rotes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Denia
352 reviews
11.5 mi away
HOTEL SH IFACH
HOTEL SH IFACH
#4 of 31 in Calpe
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denia La Sella Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denia La Sella Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Denia La Sella Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Partida Alqueria Ferrando s/n | Jesus Pobre, 03749 Denia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Denia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Denia
#8 Family Hotel in Denia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Denia La Sella Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Denia La Sella Golf Resort & Spa offers 5 star luxury comfort in a quiet environment and surrounded by Mediterranean nature adjacent to the Montgó Natural Park and at only a few minutes driving distance from Denia or Javea (Costa Blanca /Province Alicante).The hotel has 178 comfortable guest rooms and 8 Junior Suites with a tasteful classic design, warm colours and Mediterranean elements. The bathrooms with marble floor have a bathtub/shower combination, towel heater, hair dryer, magnifying mirror and bidet. All rooms are equipped with satellite TV, telephone, air conditioning, in room safe, minibar (a la carte on demand), iron and ironing board, work desk and wifi for free. The hotel includes two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Denia La Sella Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Denia La Sella Golf Resort And Spa
Marriott Denia La Sella Golf Hotel Denia
Marriott Denia La Sella Hotel
Denia Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing