We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad to see the decline of this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Denia La Sella Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Denia
Certificate of Excellence
altea
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sad to see the decline of this hotel”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I write this review with sadness. My husband and myselfa ttended a function on 28th December and stayed overnight. We found that the quality of food and service to be lacking in what we think should be required of this type of hotel.We think that the whole place looks tired. We found the bed to be very hard and uncomfortable The breakfast was of a poor quality and not hot and fresh and the plates were cold. We had also previously booked for Christmas Day Lunch which again was considerably below expectations. I would like to add that Iwe have been going to the Marriott Denia on and off for a number of years. It had always been excellent.

Room Tip: My tip to other travellers, just use the golf course until things improve
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    320
    116
    49
    41
See reviews for
222
365
20
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
612 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 903 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for a week over Christmas. Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and would return. We had a pool/golf course view room which is the side of the hotel to be on for the sun. Our balcony had sun from around 11am until sunset and was perfect. The whole hotel has a relaxed, smart feel to it and the pool area is stunning with exceptional views of the Montgo National Park. The location is very lovely - do note that without a car it may be difficult, although the trainline is nearby and I saw lots of bus stops. The hotel is situated between the two villages of La Xara and Jesus Pobre, which are very peaceful. Supermarket in La Xara is a five-minute drive. Lots to see in the area and Valencia, Gandia, Denia, Murcia and Alicante all close enough for days out. We loved the experience and would return. The service was truely 5* in our experience, and early in our stay we requested to move rooms to one with a balcony on a sunnier angle and this request was met graciously. The hotel restaurant Montgo has a wide range of foods with the pizzas being particularly good for lunch - thin bases and baked in a real pizza oven. Lovely range of meats too including duck which was excellent. Many local residents visit the hotel restaurant, as well as the spa. Breakfast was included in our rate and was very good - a wide range of international foods and hot food cooked to order. The best value thing was the EUR 17 'spa experience' which gives you access to all the sauna/caldarium/massage hydrotherapy pools for as long as you wish - you could spend several hours there and then enjoy the 'zen' room with free teas etc. The only minor criticism I would make is that some amenities - in the rooms, not the public areas - may be more for a 4* hotel rather than a 5*. I know that Marriott hotels have the same bathrooms worldwide with no shower cubicle but a shower over the bath, but I felt that the bathroom was not really 5*. This is the only thing I would say on the negative side, but our stay was still fantastic value. I plan to return next Christmas with my mum and family!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tjh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Finland, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great hotel !
I was there in October 2012 v in one night, but I can recommend this hotel. The hotel is a golf hotel, but I do not play golf. Nevertheless, I can recommend this hotel. The hotel rooms are really lovely and the hotel's environmental fine. This is the room the child families, but also for the other, even if you do not playing golf.
Room decor was very romantic and I recommend this hotel even if the newly wedded couples. The hotel was a short (by taxi) to the beach, with lots of good restaurants. But you can also stay in the hotel restaurant, which is also a good place.
Denia is very nice area and I thik, that sometimes I will come back to hotel.

Thaks to the Hotel.

Room Tip: I think, that all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PVeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraira, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Simply the worst service we have ever experienced in any hotel, of any class, anywhere in the world. I have often found that if things go wrong, that great hotel's and their staff overcome and fix them quickly. Sadly not the case here. I complained to the hotel's General Manager and hoped he would act to improve the shamblolic organisation and service supporting dinner at an event where all the guests were similarly disgusted. He could not have cared less, and did nothing. I am a former Black Level Member of Marriott's Club Marquis having stayed with them all over Europe and in the USA. The Denia Marriott sadly falls short of the group's usual high standard of customer care.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

First thing is its hard to find, almost impossible when the sun has gone down and without a satnav. The staff are excellent and show a lot more life than the tired hotel does. Good bedrooms, spacious and comfortable but lacking the quality that would make the hotel stand out from the rest. Big box TV and thin ageing towels are a major disappointment but there is good value to be had with some outstanding deals.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javea, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I only live up the road from this hotel but we don't have a bath in our villa and I was in desperate need of a lovely long soak, I was not disappointed. We checked in early at 2 pm and did not expect our room to be ready but it was, also the cava upon check in is a nice treat. Our room overlooked the car park but that was fine as we were only staying for one night, we did not manage to get the wifi in the room but did not have a problem in the downstairs bar, the room was quite big and nicely furnished and the bathroom was lovely with a bath and shower and plenty of hot water. For some reason when we booked our package it worked out cheaper to include the spa and we also paid a bit extra for half board. The spa was a disappointment, as another reviewer has mentioned before the candles weren't lit and it all seemed a bit dismall really, also the hydrotherapy pool was quite cold. Dinner in the Montgo restaurant was lovely, it was just as well we were half board though as we worked out it would have cost around seventy euros for our meal, the service was very fast, a little too quick really, the people next to us hadn't finished their starters and the main course arrived. The drinks in the bar weren't too pricey I think it was three
euros for a glass of wine and there was a pianist playing which was nice. The buffet breakfast was delicious with a large choice. I ordered a room service tea and coffee in the morning and it cost eleven euros . I could imagine in the summer the outside pool area would be wonderful. The hotel is a bit remote and I wouldn't recommend it for a family beach holiday, but for our break it was perfect.

Room Tip: For just one night the cheaper rooms overlooking the car park are fine, but for a longer holiday I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FizzyTiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

As we stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in the late autumn, the place was quiet: exactly why we had chosen this period.
To be honest: without the help of a GPS [broken!] the hotel is very hard to find. Which means at the same time that – when you are finally there – it proves to be in a quiet surrounding. And the search is compensated by a glass of cava on arrival.
The rooms were comfortable in the typical Marriott style, but – admittedly – in some aspects somewhat outdated. And the shower could be better.
The water was too cold for a swim, but the pool looked very attractive, as the other outside facilities.
The staff is attentive: especially during breakfast. And breakfast itself is awesome: nothing to complain about there.
All over the hotel were signs directing to ice machines: we followed them all but we did not find one. The lobby bar provided the missing ice without any problem. A very nice touch is that in the lobby a large selection of newspapers from many countries is available for reading. And: connecting to the internet was free (as it should be in hotels in this category).
We can’t judge about the Denia Marriott in high season. But otherwise it is a good and quiet location to relax. A car is essential. And a functioning GPS as well, to find the way to and from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epo376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denia
3.0 mi away
Port Denia
Port Denia
#7 of 34 in Denia
677 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ona Ogisaka Garden
Ona Ogisaka Garden
#11 of 34 in Denia
479 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Daniya Denia
Daniya Denia
#21 of 34 in Denia
426 reviews
4.2 mi away
Les Rotes Hotel
Les Rotes Hotel
#6 of 34 in Denia
353 reviews
11.5 mi away
HOTEL SH IFACH
HOTEL SH IFACH
#4 of 31 in Calpe
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denia La Sella Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denia La Sella Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Denia La Sella Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Partida Alqueria Ferrando s/n | Jesus Pobre, 03749 Denia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Denia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Denia
#8 Family Hotel in Denia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Denia La Sella Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Denia La Sella Golf Resort & Spa offers 5 star luxury comfort in a quiet environment and surrounded by Mediterranean nature adjacent to the Montgó Natural Park and at only a few minutes driving distance from Denia or Javea (Costa Blanca /Province Alicante).The hotel has 178 comfortable guest rooms and 8 Junior Suites with a tasteful classic design, warm colours and Mediterranean elements. The bathrooms with marble floor have a bathtub/shower combination, towel heater, hair dryer, magnifying mirror and bidet. All rooms are equipped with satellite TV, telephone, air conditioning, in room safe, minibar (a la carte on demand), iron and ironing board, work desk and wifi for free. The hotel includes two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Denia La Sella Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Denia La Sella Golf Resort And Spa
Marriott Denia La Sella Golf Hotel Denia
Marriott Denia La Sella Hotel
Denia Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing