We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, not to be missed.”
Review of Tapes La Xara

Tapes La Xara
Ranked #18 of 460 Restaurants in Denia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $35
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a few small restaurant 40 seats kitchen is based on our tapas meats and fish have 1 special Menu all day
Javea, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Excellent, not to be missed.”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Excellent high quality food produced and efficiently served by friendly, knowledgeable staff. Tables are covered with white linen tablecloths with white linen napkins in this wonderful restaurant hidden in La Xara. A varied menu offers a range of tapas and other dishes that really are all quite outstanding. Choose from the interesting and creative menu or go with one of the three tasting menus which although published as being "Chef's Choice" can be amended if you ask. Everything here is more than good, the only problem is not ordering too much which is quite easy to do given the range and variety on offer. Prices are higher than normal for tapas but not that much so and the dishes are certainly not overpriced; the portion sizes are generous and quality always comes at a cost.
The wine list is comprehensive and well priced, the house wine excellent. Alternatively you can bring your own wine and pay a nominal corkage fee of 3€.
Eaten here a few times now, have always had an outstanding experience and it is nice that the Chef wanders around now and then to make sure all is well.
Always busy, probably worth booking.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank felipehavana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrpvn, Propietario at Tapes La Xara, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias estamos encantados de que opine a si de nosotros se lo agradecemos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    89
    8
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denia, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Stunning food”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

DO NOT be fooled by the name of this restaurant, this is definitely not your average Tapas bar. Great food by any standards.
Fantastic experience especially if you share each dish to broaden the tasting experience. The Sashimi Salmon is amazing!

Helpful?
4 Thank grapow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tapes l, Propietario at Tapes La Xara, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Any visitor familiar with this area will know that La Xara is one of those places you tend to go on the way to, or back from, somewhere more important!

But in this drive-through village there is now a genuine reason to stop and park - at night at least - beyond the Mas Y Mas supermarket.

Encouraged by enthusiastic recommendations, we located this restaurant down a dusty back-street off the main road through La Xara on a hot night in August. First things first, it's not the kind of place you're going to visit for the sweeping coastal views, which can be awe-inspiring and spectacular in the Denia area. When I say dusty back-street, I mean it. Furthermore, while the Costa Blanca summer will generally make you opt to dine outside, you'll find the interior nicely furnished and - crucially - properly air-conditioned.

But it's the food that will have you coming back here time and time again. If one could conjure up a mental image of what Michelin Star tapas looks and tastes like, this is would be it.

A party of four - we knew before, during and after our four hours at Tapes Y Vins we had experienced something very special. We opted to take along our own wine - the restaurant charges a very modest E3 per bottle corkage fee. We ordered several courses - too many in fact, but all of them utterly superb.

The absolute highlight for us all were the baby artichoke hearts in batter with a ginger and chilli marmalade. A dazzling combination....why didn't we order another serving? A very close second were the pork loins in a subtle marsala-cream drizzle. But to point out these dual delights seems unfair on the immaculate French fries, the meatballs, the patatas bravas, the stuffed peppers and the other dishes I have forgotten!

After our plates had been cleared, the chef emerged from the kitchen to gauge our approval rating. It was a lovely and much-appreciated touch on a night when the service was prompt and enthusiastic and everything else was just right.

Now - our dining partners were to re-visit some days later with another couple and testified that - on an evening when the restaurant was considerably busier - the service was measurably slower and less precise. Yet, they reported, the food was equally immaculate.

I recommend highly. Sit inside, take your own wine, avoid a 'peak' (IE weekend) night and enjoy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank liverpoolriggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tapes l, Propietario at Tapes La Xara, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denia, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Another great find !!!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We don't know how and why we have missed this gem for so many years. We were invited to a 60th birthday lunch with several other friends and were so pleasantly surprised by the quality of food and the restaurant itself. Although quite small it seemed spacious and it was very busy on a Wednesday lunch time. We had the 18 euro menu which comprised 6 tapas a mains and a dessert ,. Good value because the food was excellent. We can't wait to go back for dinner and try the Carte menu.....it seemed to have some very interesting dishes. Good friendly service. Certainly on the Denia rota for us.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gordy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tapes l, Propietario at Tapes La Xara, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Muchisimas Gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I don't think Dougie Wougie could possibly have been to the same restaurant. Tapas i Vins is an amazing find. The food is tasty and very imaginative. Yes, it is expensive compared to a lot of other local restaurants (probably Dougie's main gripe), but if you have the selection of six tapas, it is quite reasonable (18 Euros). The fact that it is always packed with local Spanish at lunch and dinner says it all! We have never had a bad meal. Go and try it and see for yourself.

Note: During the day it looks like any other cafe, but at night it transforms itself into a smart restaurant with white tablecloths.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tapes l, Propietario at Tapes La Xara, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapes La Xara also viewed

 

Been to Tapes La Xara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing