We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bluff”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Quique Dacosta

Quique Dacosta
Ranked #2 of 429 Restaurants in Denia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Paris, France
Level Contributor
125 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A bluff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have to confess that I am not a fan of restaurants where I dont see the products in each entree and the menu is a long list of differente small dishes (with an explantation about each of them which takes more time than eating what is on the table) . It's all intuition of what perhaps it will be. And this is a restaurant that pretends to be master in this kind of cuisine. It clearly tries to imitate Adrià's El Bulli and falls far so short that has nothing to do with. Mugaritz in the Basque Country is hundred time better in this line of cooking.

For the price charged, can go to 200 € per person, we prefer a thousand times an appetizer and an entree with it's snacks and petitefour that the senseless chaine of flavours served in the menu. It's so pretencious!!.

Chefs like Dacosta are in hundreds across Europe or in the States. In my view this places are for people who like to count in how many Michelin star's restaurarant have been regardless of theirs menus. Nothing to say about, except that this is no my bet for spending so many euros. If we go to Denia, where products are superb (and weather and people are exceptional), we want cooking of course, but also first class products with all the flavor. And this is not the case. Unfortunately.

The service in the same line. Proffesional but very extra smile. Old, in one word. The only and possitive exception? Spanish wines are very good, and their quality depends on the wineries not in which restaurant you taste them. In Quique Dacosta prices are fair in comparison with France or the UK (or Madrid). So you can taste some of the best without the impression you are being ripging off. Not bad, but not enough to recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Triper_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    100
    48
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A very special evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is not really just about the food. It is an amazing evening entertainment from begining to end showcasing extrordinary food and wine. There are two menus and the idea of 32 or 50 courses may sound a bit daunting, but be assured it is not. From the moment you arrive the service is immpeccable, the staff freindly and informative. If the weather is nice be sure to sit outside to start. From then on it is just a gastronomic delight. Not only is the food wonderful and exciting, it is imagainative and served with huge sense of fun. The big red box, the smoking peas and the magic box of chocolates to name a few. The wine pairing is excellent but there is also an extensive wine list if you prefer. Not cheap but for the very best in the world very reasonable. This is a must for food and wine lovers who are prepared to push boundaries. Wonderful

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wodonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This restaurant deserves its place among the very best in the world. The menu is incredibly inventive and the staff, starting with the chef, are all incredibly friendly and down to earth. My wife and I had the full tasting menu and wine pairing. Not for the faint of heart and pricey in an absolute sense, but good value when you consider it was 50 dishes and 13 wines.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfonso C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
171 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“worth the detour !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were driving on the Spanish cost (Granada to Barcelona via Murcia) and had heard about Quique Dacosta. Made sure to be in Denia during lunch time & was worth the the trip.

My only regret that as we were driving, we could not do the tasting menu with the wine pairing.
The dishes were an experience ! It is not for the concervative palette at all.

Their "starters" menu at 120 euro's / person was reasonable, I think. it took us 2 hours, but needed a slower pace, I recommend to allow minimum 3 hours to give the time needed ( the wine pairing will for sure extend the time)
I fell in love with Mary, an very fun innovation - will not tell what it is :-), the foie gras was the finest texture I've ever had anywhere. the tomato soup blew my mind away...

Botom line, if you are even around Denia, make sure to have a meal here, it is an experience !

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AzerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have made it a point to come to this restaurant every time we are in Denia. The food is out of this world. The Chef is an absolute genius.
The wine list is extremely extensive and very affordable. the Sommelier very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. So is all of the staff.
Highly recommend !

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Uwe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quique Dacosta also viewed

 

Been to Quique Dacosta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing