We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing restaurant and people”
Review of Placebo

Placebo
Ranked #12 of 107 Restaurants in Oliva
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing restaurant and people”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

It's the first time that on vacation I return in the same restaurant, but it was totally worth it! Food is amazing (an awesome paella) and waiters are incredibly friendly and quick! All at an incredibly cheap price! A MUST!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    30
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value food, excellent service, right next to the beach.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Visited this bar / restaurant whilst on a fairly regular visit to Spain with Family for some lunch.

The immediate thing that attracts is the setting. Less than 50m from a wonderful, sandy beach and shaded enough from the midday sun to make it a comfortable visit.

The staff here are very friendly and most importantly multilingual, speaking Spanish, English, French, German and Romanian.

3 of us visited, picking 2 starters and 3 main courses between us. All meals were of good quality and value (main courses at around 9 euros and worth every penny). We were advised by the staff there not to pick 3 starters as we would have enough food with two . . . and they were right. I have to point out, that it takes a different type of restaurateur to advise against over-ordering.

The menu was large and varied, with around 20 - 30 starters and similar numbers of main courses (including a good selection of paella and pizza). It is also worth noting that ordering paella in Spain usually requires a reasonable amount of notice. (2 hours in this case). We did not opt for the paella, however I am told by a friend that they have done so in the past and it was of high quality.

The staff were friendly and enthusiastic, offering us complementary spirits after our meal and engaging in conversation throughout. They really made the experience special.

Musical entertainment is scheduled here on a Sunday night, from 6pm. I felt this worth noting, although I cannot rate this as we were not there at his time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading,England
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Well worth finding as the food, service etc is fantastic. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, the food even better. This place is a must if you are in Oliva.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GRK56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very friendly beachside restaurant, good food and good value”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

A very laidback restaurant with friendly staff who made everyone feel really welcome. A good selection of tapas plus salads, steaks, pizzas and fish dishes. Extremely good value - for 4 adults with drinks it came to €50. Tricky to find but worth it for a laidback night with friends,

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteMUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Went here with friends for lunch and a band food was really good excellent pizza and superb dessert. Would recommend this restaurant for good value well cooked food

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Placebo also viewed

Oliva, Province of Valencia
Oliva, Province of Valencia
 
Oliva, Province of Valencia
Oliva, Province of Valencia
 
Oliva, Province of Valencia
Oliva, Province of Valencia
 

Been to Placebo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing