We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel in a pretty village/small town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa de Biar Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biar
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 6, 2013

What a nice place to spend a few days, just relaxing by the pool in a large garden. plenty to keep the visitor occupied during the day, eg castle, quite walks, you could take one particular walk which i did in 2 hours or more and see everything, churches, fountains, pottery shop, the old tree, the old monk house, a very small church, the old toy factory.
warning not for the faint hearted,cuz theres tons of hills, so lots of ups and downs.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1959mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 213 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, the hotel is in a great location to explore the lovely town and surrounding areas however, as stated in an earlier review there is an amount of noise, for some reason they have an open 'flue' running from the 1st floor to the 3rd, whilst this lets in natural light it also acts as a soundbar to transmit all the noise from the bar throughout the hotel. The doors don't self close slowly and bang which echoes along the corridors, when the room next door showers you will know about it due to the noise. The pool was too cold and not clean enough for us to use and my wife couldnt use it because there is only access vai ladders, If you are a light sleeper avoid at all costs, and if you worried about safety........ I dont know what the fire regs are in Spain but having done 30 years as a firefghter in a busy metropolitan brigade it concerned me that the only means of escape is via an open staircase and as mentioned earlier there is an open chimney that serves every floor, our door had no seal or intumescent strip and had a gap around all edges that not only let in light and noise but could let in smoke and gases. I was going to discuss it when we checked out but the receptionist seemed bored by our presence

Room Tip: Avoid room 201 its between the lift and the soundbar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesPoseidon, Manager at Villa de Biar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear eric1999,

Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor, all our guests’ opinions helps us to improve every day the running of the hotel.

Referring the noises on the second floor, we inform you that we have solved the problem permanently.

We regret that the pool did not have the adequate temperature for you, but the weather during your stay did not help at all. The pool is cleaned daily and, for the convenience of users, has no stairs access from one side of the garden.

As to whether the hotel meets all spanish legal requirements for safety in case of fire, we answer with a resounding YES. Otherwise, the hotel would be closed. We resent that the information relating to the safety of our hotel does not conform to reality. If you, as a firefighter for 30 years, were unable to see that the hotel has TWO clearly marked stairs (not one) as evacuation routes, perhaps you should refrain from making such comments because all you get is damage our image without reason.


Thank you once again for your review and we hope to serve you again on near future.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Fantastic hotel and excellent value. Staff are so friendly and efficient and the food is wonderful and plentiful!! Great chef. I cannot speak highly enough of everyone and everything in this hotel. A five day stay was just not enough

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms but you could try a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesPoseidon, Manager at Villa de Biar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Michael D,

On behalf on Villa de Biar Hotel staff, thank you very much
for your kind opinions.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have just returned from a walking holiday here and although mostly the hotel was quite pleasant the housekeeping in the rooms left a lot to be desired. The most that seemed to happy was the dust was moved from one corner to another. The food was variable but the waiting staff and receptionist went out of their way to be helpful.

Room Tip: Try to be away from central atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BadtravellerSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here recently for 8 days while on a walking holiday. Biar is a very pleasant little town, and the hotel was comfortable with reasonable sized rooms and very friendly and helpful staff. There are nice outside seating areas and a small pool (unheated) which unfortunately wasn't really warm enough to swim in while we were there.
We were on the 2nd floor and did not notice any noise as has been previously mentioned- probably because we were in a room in a short corridor away from the central atrium.
Food however was only average- perhaps because of the group booking.

Room Tip: There are a small number of junior suites which have a separate sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a nicely presented hotel in a lovely little town centred around a Moorish castle on top of the hill. The staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant is excellent. We particularly enjoyed the tempura vegetables and the goats cheese and tomato salad. There is a large terrace and a pleasant garden area around the pool. I won't give it five stars because I agree with Shesha about the potential for noise on the 2nd floor. Also the disabled access to the terrace and gardens could be improved. However the manager speaks good English and I know he is committed to developing the hotel and acting on feedback for further improvement.

Room Tip: Avoid the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterJEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here recently. It is a pleasant hotel, the food is good and the rooms spacious with good bathrooms. However, there are a number of points that could be improved
1. I stayed on the 2nd floor and found it very noisy - not from outside but from within. I could not understand why this was so. Even gently closing bedroom doors created a larger than expected noise. I discovered that the whole corridor acted as an echo chamber. There were no carpets on the floors and it was aggravated by the fact that there was a large opening from the ceiling of the reception/lounge/bar area and every sound carried up through this funnel. I find it extraordinary that this has not been mentioned by any of the other guests. The first night of my stay was spoiled by a loud group of footballers and guests who arrived late. I am sure the latecomers did not make more than the usual amount of noise but it echoed all the way along the corridor.
2. If you want a drink, cup of tea, or coffee on the terrace you have to go up to the 1st floor and find someone to make it and then carry it downstairs to the outside terrace.
3. Although there was a minibar - it was not stocked.
4. I needed to phone reception early one morning and there was no indication on the telephone or information sheet as to the No. to dial. It was finally found the number printed on a card which referred to the non-existent mini-bar.
5. The staff tried to be helpful but on the whole their English was not good.
6. Biar is an attractive town but while we were there it was almost dead and opening times of all facilities are very restricted - I am wondering if it has lots of holiday rentals - However, perhaps in the summer it is more lively. .

Room Tip: Try not to have a room on the 2nd floor because of the way noise carries from the reception,bar,loun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheshaNorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesPoseidon, Ignacio Montero, Director Hotel Villa de Biar at Villa de Biar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your opinion on Tripadvisor. All our guests opinions helps us to improve every day the running of the hotel.

Referring the noise on the second floor, this problem only involves the rooms adjoining to the main corridor and stairs. We are studying how this problem could be resolved. By the way, we have no records about this complaint during your stay. We could have offered you the possibility of a room change.



About the bar service, the bar area on floor “0” is open every day from 13.00 to 15.30 and from 19.30 to 23.00. Out of this timetable you can ask for this service at reception on the 1st floor.

Mini Bar is not stocked but you can buy your items calling reception who will bring you the drinks of your choice in a few minutes. To provide a better service to our guests you have at your disposal a 24 hours room service with cold drinks and Ice.

There is a display near the telephone indicating all details of this service including all internal extensions of the hotel.

Biar isn’t yet a massive touristic destination and that’s the reason why the opening times of the facilities is restricted and it is not very lively. However for many people that is one of the attractions of this village.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards
Ignacio Montero
Directo Hotel Villa de Biar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biar
22.3 mi away
Hotel Bonalba
Hotel Bonalba
#1 of 1 in Mutxamel
1,490 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel del Juguete
14.4 mi away
Hotel Rural Masia La Mota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
AC Hotel Elda
AC Hotel Elda
#1 of 2 in Elda
103 reviews
21.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Sierra de Alicante
19.9 mi away
Hotel-Spa La Romana
Hotel-Spa La Romana
#1 of 1 in La Romana
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa de Biar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa de Biar Hotel

Address: Calle San Jose 2, 03410 Biar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Biar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biar
Price Range: $75 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa de Biar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star establishment is the pride of the whole town and offers immediately a sense of comfort and well-being to the visitor. One notices the friendliness already at Reception and then later again in the Restaurant Vizconde (Viscount )Valdesoto where the dishes served pay due homage to such high name and whose reputation now stretches far beyond the county limits. Ample breakfast buffet with main meals served at table. Hotel totally renovated between Dec. 2010 and Jan. 2011 of 40 rooms and suites in the centre of Biar, a picturesque town built on the slopes of the Sierra Mariola hills of great natural beauty and extensive pine forests. 45 kms. from Alicante and 8 kms. from Villena with very good access from the Alicante - Madrid (Villena Exit) dual carriageway. Rooms offer air-conditioning, heating, satellite TV, minibar, telephone, safe, free WIFI connection and full bathroom with hair-dryer. Enclosed parking, free for hotel guests. In our hotel pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa de Biar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa De Biar Hotel Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing