We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Horn - CLOSED

The Horn
Price range: $0 - $26
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: The Horn is located in downtown Camp Verde on Main Street. It features fine wines, craft brews and great food for everyone's palate. The atmosphere includes a handcrafted bar with turquoise inlay, Native American art and antique decorations for sale, and a dining room filled with different seating options. Unique features include a state shaped penny mural on the floor, Verde Brewing Beer brewed next door and on tap, wine on tap and a piano signed by Bruce Hornsby. The Horn is a family run local restaurant.The Horn is also known as "The Horn Saloon," or misspelled as "Horne Saloon." Now Serving brunch on Sundays! Located across the street from Camp Verde's White Hills Winery & Gallery.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Friendly waitstaff, high quality food with a very varied menu to choose from. The baby back ribs were just delicious.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claremont77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    24
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glendale
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place and wonderful people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Without even entering the restaurant we were so impressed when one of the employees approached us in the parking lot after noticing us securing our black lab in the back of our pickup. She assured us that it was fine to bring him on the patio while we ate and even brought him a cup of water. Such very nice people:). The food was beautifully presented and simply delicious. We had lasagna and the Horn burger. Both were generous portions and incredibly tasty. The salad dressing on my salad was also wonderful. We'll definitely return to this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank happyhiker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duck, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprise in out-of-the-way place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very surprising and pleasant spot in an out of the way locale. Camp Verde, AZ, isn't that big and is mostly franchises. But Horn Saloon has big variety of beers, wines, daily specials from the kitchen and a terrific staff! You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place in Camp Verde”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Most places to eat in the verde are mom and pop shops with ok food and light beers but not The Horn. The Horn offers a a step above the rest with gourmet burgers to excellent dinner specials. Don't forget to wash it down with one of their craft beers or one of the many wines.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank firefighter419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Top quality food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Don't be put off by the name.

To me, "Horn Saloon" sounds like a locals' boozer with nothing but beer and whisky on the menu. Nothing could be further from the truth. In fact, this was the best food we had in Arizona. Camp Verde is a lovely quiet laid-back town that will forever be in the shadow of Sedona and its red rocks, but the food we ate at the Horn beat anything we had anywhere in the whole of Arizona, never mind Sedona.

What made the Horn so special?
In a nutshell...
A chef who knows what he's doing - especially with the kind of Mediterranean-influenced things we Brits love, like balsamic, olive oil, freshly baked bread, feta, humous, sun-dried tomatoes....
A sun-kissed terrace; it might be boring for locals, but it's gorgeous for sun-starved British tourists (there's an A/C indoor area as well, but who wants that!?)
Super-friendly waiters and waitresses, the kind of people who make you so welcome you feel you've lived there forever and never want to leave
And finally, a cute, shrewd and charming owner who takes the time to chat with her guests and wants to know exactly what they like and what sort of food they crave.

In summary - if you like British gastropub food, eat at The Horn, because as far as I know, there's nothing else like it within a 200-mile radius.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SpongeBob2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing