We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hated it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cliff Castle Casino Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Camp Verde
Phoenix Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hated it”
Reviewed May 26, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Cliff Castle 5/27/2007. The employees were rude and you could hear everything going on in the next room. We were also charged an extra 150.00 for supposedly smoking in the room. We will never go back. Don't waste your gas getting there from Phoenix, stay at one of the other ones that are closer.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    45
    66
    39
    51
See reviews for
52
96
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2007

Don't waste your time. If you're a gambling addict in need of counseling this is just another place to lose money - you can do almost as good at a kiosk or buying scratch-offs at the local quick mart. The rooms at the Lodge are clean but spartan, the food is mediocre, the surrounding area is a redneck enclave. Go to Sedona and look at the nice red rocks, or save your green for Vegas, it's not that far away and you'll get spectacle and substance in lodging and food while you waste your potential retirement savings on gambling.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Camp Verde hotels

phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2006

cliff castle lodge is a nice simple hotel, we came down for a night based on the casino being voted number one for the last seven years. For a place to stay to see the area such as Sedona its great, if your coming for the casino, thats not a good ideal. the machines are the tighest i have experienced with no feed back or give you any play, I lost 5 hundred in 3 to 4 hours on quarter machines. here in Phoenix at our casinos that would be tough to do. Guess im spoiled by the play the machines give you here. I was literally bored playing those machines. I wont go back to gamble, but i would consider the lodge for seeing the area. Our night ended so early, that we just drove on back home even after we had paid for the lodge room.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bigloser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 5, 2006

My husband and I enjoyed our stay so much last April, that we are going back next month. Last year we were headed for the Grand Canyon and stopped at Cliff Castle for two nights. It was very enjoyable and relaxing. The workers were a great bunch and made you feel very welcomed. We are headed for Sedona this year and can't wait to stop at Cliff Castle. The Casino is nice and comfy and the shuttle is a plus. The food is great and so are the people working there.
Our room was spacious and clean and we seen two roadrunners right outside our patio door. Just can't wait to get back. It's beautiful country!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2005

This hotel is nice and in a very good Area to reach Sedona, Flagstaff, Phoenix, and the Grand Canyon. The stay and play discount is EXCELLENT!
We traveled with 2 adults and one 6 month old. The hotel told us they had cribs but upon check in - they did not have any cribs at the hotel. :(
The floor of the bathroom was sticky - but other then that I have nothing but amazing things to say about this place, nice casino, nice view, excellent service and good food.
The Casino is very strict about no children on the casino floor. Kids Quest is availiable for Childcare and the babysitters are very nice and caring. $6.00 per hour is a good rate for the weekend.

For the price this is an excellent value. If you want LUXURY - stay elsewhere - but the atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DixonFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast,Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2005

We loved the Lodge at Cliff Castle and the adjacent Casino.
Rooms are quiet,modern and very clean,and there is a free shuttle from your room up the hill to the Casino.
What really makes this place is the staff. Everyone from room attendants to front desk to wait staff to shuttle driver were just so relaxed and friendly you couldn't help but relax and enjoy yourself !
Casino is modern and well run,and the restaurants have great food at great prices.
Do your reservations via their website for some great deals.
We wanna get back there asap !!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MARTIN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp Verde
2.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Camp Verde Arizona
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Camp Verde
283 reviews
2.5 mi away
Copper Canyon Inn
Copper Canyon Inn
#4 of 5 in Camp Verde
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Wildflower Inn at BellRock
13.0 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#6 of 7 in Cottonwood
152 reviews
13.4 mi away
Days Inn Kokopelli Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Castle Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Castle Casino Hotel

Property: Cliff Castle Casino Hotel
Address: 555 Middle Verde Road, Camp Verde, AZ 86322
Location: United States > Arizona > Camp Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Camp Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cliff Castle Casino Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL UNDER CONSTRUCTION – COMING SOON Close to it all! Whether you're coming up from the Valley, just passing through town, or looking to escape from your daily life, The Lodge is exactly what you're looking for. Spend the night playing, dining, and partying in the Casino, then take a load off and let us take care of you. With more than 80 rooms, we can accommodate you and your friends, and we're only minutes away from numerous local attractions such as Montezuma Castle, Montezuma Well, Sedona, and many other Verde Valley points of interest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Cliff Castle Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Cliff Castle Hotel Camp Verde
Hotel At Cliff Castle
Cliff Castle Hotel
At Cliff Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing