We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiger splash was very good but poor collection of animals”

Out of Africa Wildlife Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.95*
and up
Out of Africa Wildlife Park Admission
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Camp Verde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in the heart of the Verde Valley, the mission of Out of Africa Wildlife Park is to create the ultimate animal adventure for all ages, one steeped in fun, immersed in learning, and inspired by a living and colorful world of astonishing wildlife. We strive to foster an appreciation of our planet's wild areas and wondrous inhabitants by supporting and promoting conservation awareness and action, practicing exemplary animal care, providing education and learning experiences, and establishing broad community support, through a peaceful and interactive relationship with our animal friends, who touch our hearts.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tiger splash was very good but poor collection of animals”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The good thing: The tiger splash show was very good. The performers did a variety of tricks and kept the audience engaged. The show conductor also shared some useful info about the tiger and tigers in general. The children in the group chose to feed the tiger and it was a good experience too. By the way, the process of feeding is completely safe and is guided by a trained professional. The persons who feed the tiger do only using tongs and there is no way the tiger could touch / pull or otherwise harm the ones who feed.
The staffs were all friendly. There are a couple of gripes though:
1. The collection of animals is poor.
2. The road inside the gated site is unpaved riding on which isn't a pleasure.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ammukutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    834
    275
    55
    21
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A kiss to remember”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were able to get a groupon for this great adventure. We payed extra for the unimog tour, where we had special bonding time with some of the animals. We were able to feed the giraffe and camel, and by holding the carrot in my mouth, I got a giraffe smooch I won't soon forget.
Our amazing guide gave snacks to the predators, to bring them up close so we could get a better look. The laughing hyenas were hilarious. We were fortunate enough to be there on a feeding day (I think Monday, Wednesday and Friday) and it was the highlight of the day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank dwert5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great, memorable experience! <3”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We went to this park yesterday and it was an unforgettable experience for me and for my hubby. We loved this place! All staff-members was very kind, helpful and competent. We enjoyed the Serengeti bus safari, the tiger splash show, the giant snake show, the creature feature show and so much more - included in our general admission! I found a coupon on Groupon, so I paid only $16 for my general admission, and my hubby could enter the park for free because of his birthday (Out of Africa Wildlife Park gives you the opportunity to enter into the park for free in the entire month of your birthday, what is soooo coool!).
We saw lots of tigers, lions, wolves, leopards and many other kinds of wild animals. (all of them were very active, so I took great pics and videos).
We spend half a day in the park (we walked a lot, we watched every shows, and we ate some really tasty hamburgers too).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CsillaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You can't have a bad day if you feed a giraffe!!!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We paid an extra $4 on top of the usual ticket to have a more personal tour guided by one of the more experienced personnel while riding a "bus" that really looked more like a small train. He had a bucket of meat which definitely made some of the animals that maybe wouldn't have come out for the other tours.....well they came out for ours because the animals knew he had the meat! HAHA! On the safari portion of the tour everyone on the bus got to feed a giraffe a carrot stick which was awesome! They are huge! Didn't get to try to zipline over the park, no time, had to get to a wedding in Sedona but next time! Animals were awesome too many to count, giraffe, camel, zebra, water buffalo, tigers, white tiger, different types of lions, but the HYENAS were awesome and FUNNY!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

The zip line would be fun all by itself, but to add the visual of zipping over a good number of exotic lions, tigers, antelope, giraffe and many others make this an awesome experience! Chelsea and Jasper were wonderful at making us feel safe and confident while making it sooo fun! Jason runs a great operation here.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Iowan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Out of Africa Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to Out of Africa Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing