We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids Liked It”

Out of Africa Wildlife Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.95*
and up
Out of Africa Wildlife Park Admission
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Camp Verde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in the heart of the Verde Valley, the mission of Out of Africa Wildlife Park is to create the ultimate animal adventure for all ages, one steeped in fun, immersed in learning, and inspired by a living and colorful world of astonishing wildlife. We strive to foster an appreciation of our planet's wild areas and wondrous inhabitants by supporting and promoting conservation awareness and action, practicing exemplary animal care, providing education and learning experiences, and establishing broad community support, through a peaceful and interactive relationship with our animal friends, who touch our hearts.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Kelowna, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Kids Liked It”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great attraction for kids and young teens. Would have rated it higher except for one exceptionally rude older female employee who made very inappropriate comments to our family and upset our children. Other than her, the rest of the staff really seemed to care about the animals and wanted to share their enthusiasm with the guests.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    834
    274
    55
    21
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“It's all about the animals at Out of Africa”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I decided to take the long holiday weekend up in Camp Verde and go to Out of Africa. We had purchased our tickets beforehand online with a 10 dollar off coupon, and the admission price for us both was only 43 dollars.

We stayed at the Days Inn in Camp Verde (see Review) and it was a quick ride to the park. However, be careful as you approach. All the roads leading to the park are dirt only, and the ride can get bumpy as you get to park your car.

After we had gotten our tickets validated and wristbands put on, we headed for the first safari tour. Our guide was very well informed and patient with everyone. We were given carrot sticks when we got on, and were able to feed the giraffe and camel, getting some amazing close ups.

After that 40 minute tour, we took the tram to the other end of the park. What is really amazing about this place is how close you can get to the animals. We had lunch at some of the concession stands near the tiger enclosure. As we were finishing our food, two of the tigers decided to stroll around their enclosure. They cuddled with each other not 4 feet from me, and I was able to get some outstanding shots. Another tiger took a bath in a tub right in front of me, and again, great shots. I have been to many zoos and parks, but never have I been this close to such beautiful wild animals.

One note of caution. My wife and I went out in the blazing sun, and even with sunscreen, we got burnt. Bring plenty of protection, both clothing, hats, and sunscreen. Food is pricey. 7 dollars for a hot dog, water, and chips. You can bring your own water, but that's it. You should bring cash, as you can tip the guides ( who deserve it). Gift shop is small and expensive, but we found some cute things for a good price. You can leave and enter the park as many times as you want during the day, just don't take the wristband off until you are done for the day. There are many other attractions there if you want to pay (zipline experience is 80 dollars per person). It is a great place to see animals up close. We will definitely be back when it is cooler to get the full experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank OceanLoverInDesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“PHENOMENAL!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I admit, our 12 year old begged us to go. I thought it might be touristy or gimmicky. Boy, was I wrong. This place is amazing! The employees really and truly care about these rescued animals. This was the highlight of our trip to Sedona. It was educational and fun. The best part was the unimog ride. Feeding and seeing the animals close up is worth every cent. We really appreciated how much love goes into caring for the animals. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bcinsd15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azhikin4me, Public Relations Manager at Out of Africa Wildlife Park, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to post your review and we appreciate your support of Out of Africa Wildlife Park. We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Ashton Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton california
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great time will be had by all!!!!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We just visited Out of Africa and had an absolutely amazing time!!!!! If you are traveling in the Scottsdale/Phoenix/Sedona/Flagstaff area, this is a MUST DO! You can get up-close and personal with the animals (within reason, of course); you can even feed a tiger!!! If that doesn't float your boat, then try getting kissed by a giraffe -- or a python!!! :) Go -- you and your family will love it!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shakespearenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Verde, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome fun”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Go early and spend the day make sure you see the Tiger Splash show great food at the snack area. Also do the zip line when you are there .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Out of Africa Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to Out of Africa Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing