We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“they are not a zoo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Out of Africa Wildlife Park

Out of Africa Wildlife Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.95*
and up
Out of Africa Wildlife Park Admission
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Camp Verde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in the heart of the Verde Valley, the mission of Out of Africa Wildlife Park is to create the ultimate animal adventure for all ages, one steeped in fun, immersed in learning, and inspired by a living and colorful world of astonishing wildlife. We strive to foster an appreciation of our planet's wild areas and wondrous inhabitants by supporting and promoting conservation awareness and action, practicing exemplary animal care, providing education and learning experiences, and establishing broad community support, through a peaceful and interactive relationship with our animal friends, who touch our hearts.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Camp Verde, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“they are not a zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Most think of central Arizona as western History, or native american culture. Well surprise! Camp Verde is home to one of the best African experiences imaginable. This park is not only an adventure, but it is an education in animal behavior. The shows are enlightening, and the park itself is one of the most enjoyable times I have ever spent.It is not a Zoo, it is an up close encounter you will never forget. With all the history,art,wine tasting and nature in the Valley, Out of Africa is a great compliment to your plait for adventure. I highly recommend a day at this wonderful attraction.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Alaninaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    775
    259
    51
    18
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the confusion...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have visited this park within the last 3 years and did not remember the set up being so confusing. I seems like the owners are trying to expand and offer new experiences, like a zipline tour, when in reality they are just trying to gauge you out of more money. Good luck trying to decipher which vehicle to get on and where. Also make sure you keep your white tickets seprate from your blue ones. When we visited the park a few years ago with family friends, we enjoyed the safari tour and the tiger show the most. I don't particularly remember there being so many options at the ticket window- which I know now to be all essentially the same thing. The admissions lady was rude- this did not surprise me because I read the reviews before visiting the park this time around- and had a very difficult time explaining the different events between sighs and eye rolls. We got through that process at around 11:05 and opted to try the train tour. We were pointed in the direction of some shaded benches and saw a line moving forward so we got in it. We were informed by the person taking tickets that we would not be able to go on the safari tour (which is what we were apparently in line for) and make it back for our train. So instead of paying admission and enjoying the park right away, we were forced to wait in the heat for 25 plus minutes for the train to board. To say the train tour was boring is an understatement but I doubt anyone throws a fit about it since they only paid $3 to ride. We were excited to go on the safari bus and should have done that first (and skipped the train altogether). We were told by one of the many people trying to explain our confusing day that we would have time to get on a safari before the tiger show only to be informed by the man driving the train that we missed the last one of the morning and would have to wait until 2. We ended up leaving the park without a safari- the part of the day we were looking forward to most- because we had small children with us who were melting in the heat.
A word to the wise- skip the train stick to the safari. You can see all of the animals the train passes by on foot and will have better photo opportunities. The tiger show is entertaining for what it is but feeding the giraffe is unforgettable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank judith d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Took the Grandkids and their parents on a day when they were feeding. Come feeding time, what a difference in the way the animals behaved. All of the animals were very active in the afternoon (when it was feeding time).

Someone has to get a kiss from a Giraffe when riding the bus around the lower part of the park.

Make sure you take your camera, you can get great shots!!!!!!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, wi
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Driving into the parking lot, I was thinking what kind of hokey thing is this because I was expecting a type of mini Busch Gardens, and it was a dirt parking lot with very few cars. The tram and safari buses are old and reused, but....the safari trip was great, the interaction with the animals was something we never experienced anything like before and the Tiger Splash show was very unique. The rest of the shows and animal pens were nothing great, but we were impressed with the care and attitudes all of the workers had, you could tell they really loved working and caring with the animals. We ended the visit and we all agreed that we were glad we did it. Kids are 12 and 17. Also fed the tiger.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth a visit in Central AZ!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great animal shows. Be sure to catch the Tiger Splash. Got very close to the animals in the Unimog. Had teenagers with us and they loved it. This is worth the drive if you are anywhere in central AZ or for a day trip if you are staying in other parts of AZ. You can spend the best part of the day here. Be sure to check out the Predator Zip Line next to the park and Zip Line over the animals.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OneLadyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Out of Africa Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to Out of Africa Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing