We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique!”

Montezuma Castle National Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$196.83*
and up
Private Tour of Five National Monuments in Arizona from Sedona
Ranked #2 of 22 things to do in Camp Verde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This stone castle built into a shallow cave on a cliff was once a six-story dwelling with 45 rooms.
Sachse, Texas
Level Contributor
553 reviews
399 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Unique!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We visited on June. It was very hot. It was not far from the main road. The monument was unique. I was impressed to see the castle on the cliff. We had to pay to get in. It was worth it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BangkokSachse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    928
    610
    186
    30
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
140 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“How did they do it?”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This attraction was amazing. It's hard to believe ancient people could build this engineering feat. One of the best parts of this site is that they have most of it paved so that wheelchairs and walkers can negotiate the path. There are very interesting information boards along the way. We were lucky enough to meet a very knowledgeable docent as well as listen to a great talk by one of the rangers.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobandJan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Living history, amazing”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

To imagine Indians lived that way is short of amazing and creative. Very spiritual. The area is well kept and the guides are very friendly. It is something I would love to do again in the future but with more time to take in the wonders around!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tonimonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Interesting. Pretty grounds.”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The national monument was very interesting. The setting was shady and relaxing. The ranger was informative. He definitely got you to thinking how the ancient people lived life in the harsh desert. It really was one of my favorite sights this trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LEA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss This Historical Spot”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just a couple miles off I-17 between Sedona and Phoenix, this is the best preserved Indian cliff dwelling in the SW. It's just a short stroll on a paved path from the visitor center and the ranger did a great job explaining and answering our questions.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbfeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montezuma Castle National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Montezuma Castle National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing