We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely go see!”

Montezuma Castle National Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Sedona with Jerome and Montezuma Castle One Day Tour
Ranked #4 of 20 things to do in Camp Verde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This stone castle built into a shallow cave on a cliff was once a six-story dwelling with 45 rooms.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Definitely go see!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Next time I would make the time to have a guided tour. Very interesting and pretty cool to see. Ask a ranger inside what other things there are to do in the area. Great information site.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank olivebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    913
    597
    181
    28
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
362 reviews
220 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“A must see for anyone going to the Grand Canyon!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My family and I flew into Phoenix and stopped by Montezuma Castle on our drive up to the Grand Canyon. This national monument was not far from the interstate and was a quick trip to make. We found it very informative and had an easy trail for any family to take. Plenty of shade was also available in case the weather is warm. The actual cave dwellings were easy to see as well. Well with the visit!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jesselodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
592 reviews
244 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“We knew nothing and left informed and impressed!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We found this almost by accident and are so pleased we stopped. The monument is special in that it is a remaining cliff home of native Americans built about 1000 years ago. It only costs $5 to enter and you are provided with lots of information in the visitors centre and also on sign boards along the concrete path to and from the monument. Fascinating insight into this ancient culture and very impressive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
Level Contributor
388 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A nice historic stop”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nestled in a beautiful little valley just off the Interstate it is a great little break to catch a bit of history and relax.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank montanan_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

If you like history, you will enjoy Montezuma's Castle. It is only $5 to get in - free for seniors - and it is well worth it. I don't know if there is a volunteer there every day, but the gentleman that was there when we were, had a very in depth knowledge of the history not only of the peoples that lived in the cave dwellings, but of the restoration efforts of past and present. There is a very easily walkable path that passes in front of the dwellings and the river, also wheelchair accessible. The path is not long, you could easily do this in about half an hour. There is also a display in the entry building with history of the dwellings and the restoration efforts. I thought it was pretty good. They kept it pretty simple, but the information is still very interesting and doesn't overload you with reading. . You can go through the displays in about 20 minutes and still read everything. There were quite a few kids there and it appeared that even the kids were kept interested.

Make sure you pop in to Montezuma's Well, too. There is lots more to see and there is no fee. Montezuma's Well would probably be better with a guided tour. While there is lots of signage, there is even more that is not explained. We had a guide who was an archaeologist - amazing information! There is also a concrete pathway at the Well, and it is also wheelchair accessible. There are steps that go down to the bottom of the well, and one that goes almost to the river. Obviously not wheelchair accessible, but as long as you are reasonably mobile, it is not a strenuous climb. These two historic sites are worth a visit, and I think even kids would be interested. There are restroom facilities at both sites.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DorisBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montezuma Castle National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Montezuma Castle National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing