We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aparthotel Jardines Del Plaza
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Peniscola
Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Jardines Del Plaza is located within the Peñíscola Plaza Suites. Jardines is the apartment section of the resort, and it is just beautiful! The apartments are spacious, yet cozy. Ours was 2 levels and featured 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 2 balconies and a kitchen. It was wonderful to be able to shop at the nearby markets and cook at home, while still having the option to drive just a few minutes into Peñíscola and have a nice meal out. There are only a few restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and Peñíscola is too far to walk, so I would recommend a car or bicycle. Jardines offers secure, underground parking for both cars and bicycles. Our only "complaints" while staying at Jardines was that there was poor internet service that was very expensive (1 € for just 20 minutes, it often did not work well and you were required to be in the lobby - the rooms do not have internet service). Also, you must make reservations for any of the hotel services other than the main lobby bar. If you would like to use the spa or eat at any of the restaurants, you first go to the front desk to make a reservation and then they tell you what time you need to be there. This is because the resort is so large, it helps to organize the crowds and be sure everyone who stays at the hotel has equal access. These "complaints" however, are very minor and honestly did not impact our stay very much. The resort has several pools and is directly across the street from the beach. Peñíscola is an adorable little beach town with an amazing castle, delicious restaurants and fun shops! A short drive in any direction will bring you to quaint Spanish countryside villages, countless historic sites, a mountain range and the Parc Natural D'Irta. I would highly recommend spending some time in Peñíscola and at Jardines if you are visiting Spain and wanting an experience outside of the city!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesnowtaTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    48
    32
    15
    4
See reviews for
96
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We went at the end of May and the weather was great, 75 -78 day and 60 - 65 at night. This was not the peak season so we did not find large crowds anywhere except the big cities and even then it was reasonalble.
There were 4 of us in our group. We found the best way to eat cheaply was to go to the market, less than a mile from the appartment and buy food for breakfast and our evening meal. We always found wonderful places to eat during the middle of the day for about 7.50 - 11.00 Euro each. This usally includes a 4 course meal including beverge and dessert. Our farorite place was Casa Oliver Cuina Internacional in Peniscola, a block from the Casle. They treated us like royalty and we went there 3 of the 7 days we were there. The food was 5 star. We were always able to eat outside under an umbrella or canopy of beautiful trees and enjoy the view while we ate..
The beach was very nice, the roads took us to many small towns with wonderful views and scenery. We enjoyed a day in Valencia and one in Barcelona since we drove which we found to be very easy to do in this region of Spain.
Most people understood some English but when they did not we were able to use our mattering of Spanish and hand gestures and when in doubt just take a chance.
Our only complaint would be the beds which were very springy and needed to be replaced. Also the hotel food is very expensive and I do not recomend it.
For the value I would give it a 4 star rating and hope this helps others who want to trade for this site.
K & V from Jacksonville, Florida

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank VPINJAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Just if you have young children there is no dvd player (so bring your own) and if you plan to cook at the resort there is only two ring cooker no oven.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dominiqueStAlbansUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2008

Several of the other reviews really helped us plan this visit to Spain. Peniscola is NOT your typical vacation spot for Americans. Most of the other vacationers were from other parts of Spain. If you are not willing to try to speak some Spanish, you will be frustrated. Very few people we came in contact with, even at the hotel, spoke much English, so it was a very good thing that we had enough Spanish to get both what we needed to eat, and where we wanted to go. If we were willing to be patient, everyone was happy to help us, and they seemed to be pleased if we liked their part of the world. The staff was very courteous and friendly, despite the language barrier. The only time we got frustrated was when we hoped for a hot tub after a day of hiking, and they directed us to the nightclub!

We flew into Barcelona and rented a car to drive to Peniscola. We had gotten international driver's licences through our AAA office, and rented a small 4-door car through the Internet. Bear in mind that almost ALL cars in Spain are very small, so if you are tall like my 6'2" husband,and are going to have more than 2 people in the car, don't get the economy 2-door!

There are a lot of tolls on the Autopista AP-7, which is like our interstate highways. Be prepared with plenty of coins available. It will take you about three hours to drive to Peniscola. Taking the scenic Mediterranean coastal roads like the N340 will take much longer, but you will see a lot of interesting little towns, if you can stay awake after the long flight. Do not use the online map programs to find directions to Avenida Papa Luna 158, Peniscola, without making sure that you are going to Peniscola, NOT Benicarlo. The two towns run together, and they both have Avenida Papa Luna 158.

The Jardines del Plaza is more like a small apartment than a hotel suite. The rooms were very nice and clean, but be prepared for slightly smaller beds. We kept busy enough and did plenty of walking and climbing, so we had no trouble sleeping. The kitchen was small, but well equipped for our needs. We had to walk through the Peniscola Plaza to get to our apartment, which got to be annoying when we had to dodge the busloads of Spanish vacationers. There were plenty of nice swimming pools, and the endless beach and boardwalk were right outside the gates. The parking on the street was free, and we always found a spot nearby.

We are the type of travelers who want to savor the local scene as much as possible, so we tried lots of new foods and wines. We did not eat at the hotel restaurants, although they were always full of people. The prices seemed high after we looked around the town, and saw the prices at the local places. We got completely hooked on the fresh bread from the panaderias (bakeries). We especially liked the "pan entero", which is a delicious whole wheat bread that still looks mostly white. We usually had bread and coffee for breakfast, as we never saw any place that offered anything like an American-style breakfast. We packed fruit and bread for our day trips, and ended with a nice meal from a local restaurant in the early evening. The "menu del dia" at each restaurant was uniformly delicious, and very reasonable no matter where we ate. We never spent more than $20 US (for two people) for a three or four course meal, including wine. Most meals were under $15 US. We did not have a bad meal in Spain, and there was NO tipping. We asked one of our servers about that. He laughed and said that our genuine thanks were enough, and if we were pleased with the food and wine, and had a good time, then he was satisfied. Hard to believe, but it seems to be the case. Most of the restaurants we ate at were family owned and family staffed. There is a lot of pride and quite a bit of competition among neighboring establishments!

Once you get settled, check out all the great historical spots within a fairly short drive. We drove to Peniscola and toured the Papa Luna castle. We also went to the castle at Morella, and toured the Roman/Moorish ruins at Sagunto. Farther afield, we drove through the Priorat wine region and ate a marvelous dinner in Falsett. Another afternoon was spent at the Ebro River Delta, watching the birds and walking on the nearly deserted beaches.

The weather at the end of May was warm enough for swimming, but it was unusually rainy for that area this year. They were happy for the rain, as it is very dry in the surrounding hills. It didn't stop us from all our touring though, as most of each day was warm and sunny.

Our first visit to Spain was absolutely delightful, and we would be more than happy to find ourselves in Peniscola again someday.

  • Liked — The location on the beach, and proximity to many interesting historical sites.
  • Disliked — Walking through the Peniscola Plaza lobby to get to the aparthotels.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank Momrat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

Good location for relaxing, Cafe Heidi a block away is so charming. Nice balcony view.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank syzer119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2008

The hotel itself is very relaxing and right on the water; it would be a great place to get away. At the beginning of the week we thought the staff weren't very friendly and just didn't take kindly to Americans but as the week went on found out they just weren't very kind to anyone. The will not attempt to speak or help you in English so make sure you know Spanish if you are planning on staying there. Also, the cleaning crew have some type of robbing scam and leave your door open for someone else to get into your room after they are finished cleaning. So, if you plan to be gone all day I would advise you not to have your room cleaned!

  • Liked — great location to relax
  • Disliked — people were extremely rude!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelforfun8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Peniscola hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2008

I stayed at Jardines Del Plaza in May 2006 with a friend of mine. We loved the town of Peniscola and the hotel. We had a great view of the courtyard and the two-level suite was beautiful. Plenty of space, very quiet. The staff were also very helpful, friendly and many spoke English. The beach is literally across the street, and the hotel is only a 10 minute walk from a nice supermarket. There are plenty of places to eat in the area, and the beach is great. I would stay again in a New York minute.

Only two minor complaints - it's too far to walk to the train station from the hotel but a cab ride is only about 10 Euro. Also, the internet cafe was not running when we were there but I am sure that has been fixed by now.

  • Liked — Location to the town and beach
  • Disliked — Distance from train station
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Malagababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peniscola hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Peniscola Plaza Suites
0.8 mi away
Acualandia
Acualandia
#18 of 53 in Peniscola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aparthotel Acuasol
Aparthotel Acuasol
#32 of 53 in Peniscola
3.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Los Delfines
Los Delfines
#26 of 53 in Peniscola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.3 mi away
Servigroup Papa Luna
Servigroup Papa Luna
#4 of 53 in Peniscola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Jardines Del Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Jardines Del Plaza

Property: Aparthotel Jardines Del Plaza
Address: Avenida Papa Luna 156, 12598 Peniscola, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Castellon > Peniscola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Peniscola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Jardines Del Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Aparthotel Jardines Del Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Jardines Del Plaza Hotel Peniscola
Aparthotel Jardines Del Plaza Peniscola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing