We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel Woeful breakfast”
Review of Mare Nostrum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mare Nostrum
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Peniscola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very clean well equipped, but simple rooms with sea view in excellent seafront location between the old town and the modern town centre.
Parking at a reduced rate in the underground public carpark opposite.
Breakfast in sunny rooftop room. lovely location but breakfast was the worst I have ever had in Spain. Portion control taken to extremes. Allocation of 1 very small butter portion, 1 jam,1 cheese spread (plus two slices toast or 1 very small croisant) per person. Cornflakes grudgingly supplied on request, but not offered

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scottishviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 97 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

Room was small but clean and well priced. We preferred the more expensive ocean view & beach side. The room came with a small terrace at no extra charge in the off season. 50 euroes per night. Staff spoke english and helped us get right to the tourist attractions that interested us. The endless beach must be spectacular in the summer. The castle and walled town are awesome any time of year and within a short walk of this hotel. My wife liked the bathtub.

Room Tip: Might be a little noisy in summer on the ocean side. Get the terrace if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StarLakeResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. We found it by sheer luck as there was free parking at the back of the hotel (actually its entrance). From our terrace to the left we saw the magnificent semicircular beach, and to the right protruded the magnificent castle with the old city inside its walls.
The room was clean, although a bit small, but enough to accommodate 2 people. The receptionist/owner was helpful and courteous. The low price (50E in October) included a continental breakfast on the 4th floor. We enjoyed it and felt very lucky.

Room Tip: A room facing the beach/castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tamiNetanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, excellent location at the castle end of the beach, our room on 2 nd floor had a balcony overlooking the beach, great for people watching! Nice continental breakfast served on 4 th floor rooftop terrace overlooking beach and castle. Very friendly hosts Pablo and Juan and their family, they also have a surfshop a few doors up 'Bondi'
Spotless, big room, shower over bath, big bathroom, has a lift, secure, parked in metered parking outside hotel (entrance on the back street) has aircon, flat screen tv, surely it's worth more than 1 star! Paid €70 ( or was it €72)
Loved this hotel as it is small unlike many of the huge hotels here that do half board. A multitude of places to eat within 3 minutes walk . owners speak good English . Would def return

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichelePtLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The hotel itself is located in what we felt was the PERFECT spot. It is beachfront and just at the bottom of the road that leads up to the castle. It is within an easy walk to everywhere we wanted to be during our stay in Peñiscola. It felt like it was sort of in the center of everything - bars, restaurants, beach, sites... We had an ocean view room and it was quite spacious with ample closet space and a private balcony overlooking the beach and with a view up to the castle. The room was clean, comfortable and very affordable. It is not a fancy hotel, not a super new, chic spot, it is simple, spacious, comfortable, clean and truly, it is in the best location. The bathroom, like the bedroom, was spacious and clean, the shower was fantastic, great water pressure, great temperature control. The breakfast was simple, and the coffee was really good - which is important to us! Also, they had free WiFi that actually worked in the room. It made things very convenient. One note: they have only twin beds which they will put together for couples. This did not bother us at all.

However, for all those positives, the thing that struck us the most was how welcoming and gracious the hosts were. Ruth, and Pablo could not have been kinder and more accommodating. The morning we were traveling to Peñiscola, my husband's back went out. When we arrived he was in bad shape. Luckily, the hotel has an elevator. They offered advice for pharmacies, and medications, offered to call in a massage therapist, even offered to bring food up to the room for him if he couldn't walk. We were booked in for 2 nights, but as his back did not get better, we extended our stay by an additional 3 nights and they were very sweet and accommodating about it all. In the end, even though his back was not fully healed, we had to catch the train to Barcelona for a flight out and they drove us to the train station because they did not want us to have to hassle with a taxi with his back in that shape. They helped transform what could have been a low point of our holiday into the high point! We will definitely be back and would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zarinigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We come to town late with no booking so took first room available. Double Room €73 with breakfast. Were concerned with it only being 1* but when entered the room were pleasantly surprised. Had a room with ocean view and view of the old peniscola town. Room reasonably clean, only complaint really was floor needed a good sweep. Excellent location close to walk up to old town and near many bars and restaurants. Breakfast was on 4th floor with magnifcent views from the terrace, breakfast simple but nice.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MorrisMPAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank catadordecosicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peniscola hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel RH PortoCristo
Hotel RH PortoCristo
#2 of 50 in Peniscola
540 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Felipe II
Hotel Felipe II
#24 of 50 in Peniscola
162 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Peniscola Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites
0.3 mi away
Servigroup Papa Luna
Servigroup Papa Luna
#4 of 50 in Peniscola
1,438 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bodegon Hotel
Bodegon Hotel
#10 of 50 in Peniscola
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mare Nostrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mare Nostrum

Address: Calle Molino 4, 12598 Peniscola, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Castellon > Peniscola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Peniscola
Price Range: $45 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Mare Nostrum 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mare Nostrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing