We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Papa Luna hotel met all my expectaions and comfort throughout my stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Servigroup Papa Luna
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Peniscola
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Papa Luna hotel met all my expectaions and comfort throughout my stay.”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The hotel Papa Luna is positioned in a beuatiful location over looking the wonderful beaches and sea with their historic castle as a focus point. The staff are very friendly and on this visit i made it was very noticeable that there were more english spoken. The room service was excellent and the meals was of a very good selection of choice...well done Papa Luna..i hope to visit again soon

Room Tip: ask for castle view....breath taking....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliesunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    640
    169
    34
    25
See reviews for
715
440
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights and it was at the same time the worst and most expensive hotel of our 1-week trip in Spain. We did not book in advance so the price was € 150.- for a double room per night, but we urgently needed a room so decided to try it.

The beds in the first room were worn through, you could feel the bottom layer of bed. The shower was in poor condition, the water pressure was low, and the beam was spraying in all possible directions. We asked for a different room, she had to check with the manager, then we got a room which stank as if 5 men were smoking pot in it for a complete week (but the beds were better). We changed again, the 3rd room was ok (shower somewhat better), but definitely not worth neither the 4 stars nor the money.

We have not tried the lunch or dinner buffet since there are a lot of decent restaurants around, but there were large queues in front of the dining rooms.

This hotel might be appropriate for people who want to stay and eat in their hotel during their complete vacation and who need a big swimming pool, but it's definitely not 4-stars and I would never go back there.

Room Tip: aks for a different room if you're not satisfied
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nightowl-ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

we actually stayed in this hotel first six years ago,while passing through.
It is one of my favorite hotels.
Good food,good staff,good clean modern well kept building.
quality

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elginge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
635 reviews
267 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,004 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Location could not be better. Right next to the centre with bars, restaurants and the old town. You are metres away from the spotless beach.
Reception was warm and a very helpful Christian sorted out our room problem. We booked a double but got a twin. The rooms are average. Be careful what room you get...some have views and are quiet....some don't and can be noisy over the car park. We found them lacking in warmth or any real 4 star quality. We booked a superior but these are 3 star rooms. We did get to a front room which is a genuine 4 star room with fantastic views. There are few of these and at extra cost. Parking (difficult to find) free on the street and 11 Euro per day in hotel. TV has 3 channels in English...all news.
Food is NOT good. It is canteen food, and not a good canteen at that, at best. Poor choice, poor quality and poor cooking. One night the chef was cooking sausages on the grill! Not chicken, lamb, beef or pork...but cheap sausages and 1/4 cooked at that. Salads lack imagination, main courses awful and the deserts are dreadful Synthetic and tasteless. AVOID! We paid for half board but preferred to eat out!
The bar is very nice and the outside bar has live music and is a good place to end the evening.
I had to rate 3 stars because of the food and the fairly basic rooms....otherwise it is a nice, clean, friendly hotel and the best location. It is not a 5 star 4 star hotel. It really needs to look at the food and upgrade the standard/superior rooms.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, NB
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2007

After reading some good reviews about this hotel we were expecting a decent place to stay. We were disappointed. The lobby is fine and the front staff desk were very accommodating but the rooms were a let down. They are in a serious need of renovation and modernizing. The cheap quality beds don't have headboards, the sheets were so thin you could see through them and they were falling apart with holes and frayed edges. The bed cover was threadbare. The room is all old wood pannelling with a small desk area. The bathroom had very old and thin towels. It just seemed very run down considering that the outside of the hotel was quite modern. We think this a hotel and also a destination for the elderly as it was full of old people from bus tours. The restaurant is buffet only.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Poor quality and out dated hotel rooms
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank countingsmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2006

Inexpensive hotel with excellent service. £45 a night for two, half board! We had a small room (I understand that the rooms are bigger in the Residencia, part of the same complex) but it was plenty big enough and very clean. We stayed half board, and when we saw the size of the hotel and the number of people we were a bit apprehensive. However, the service in the buffet restaurant was superbly efficient - and the food was excellent, too. We love Peniscola - the town is dominated by a castle built by the Templars which was later the home of some of the anti popes (notably Papa Luna). Miles of beach (see it at the end of the film El Cid - although it's somewhat more built up these days!) It's an excellent, if somewhat isolated holiday place.

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — Bit isolated
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank henry.d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2006

Our experience of this hotel was excellent. It is located literally right across the street from the beautiful beach on a buzzing esplanade, just 1/2 km down the road from an ancient castle and very interesting old city. We had full buffet meals which were just delicious!! The rooms were not flash, but very comfortable and contained everything we needed. All the rooms have balconies. There are 2 towers, one called 'Hotel' and the other 'Residencia'. The Residencia tower is newer and the rooms are larger. My only complaint was that the walls are quite thin and not very sound-proof! Not a huge problem, but I think it would be if you had noisy neighbours!! It is a great place for younger or older kids...it comes highly recommended by us!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VANDIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peniscola hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Peniscola Plaza Suites
0.7 mi away
Hotel Peniscola Palace
Hotel Peniscola Palace
#5 of 50 in Peniscola
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel RH Don Carlos & Spa
Hotel RH Don Carlos & Spa
#1 of 50 in Peniscola
360 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Peniscola
Gran Hotel Peniscola
#13 of 50 in Peniscola
931 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel RH PortoCristo
Hotel RH PortoCristo
#2 of 50 in Peniscola
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Servigroup Papa Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Servigroup Papa Luna

Property: Servigroup Papa Luna
Address: Avenida Papa Luna 6,, 12598 Peniscola, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Castellon > Peniscola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Peniscola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Servigroup Papa Luna 4.5*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Servigroup Papa Luna is situated in an unbeatable seafront location, just a few metres walk from Peniscola's historical old quarter.Facilities and services:Two buildings communicated by the reception area, each with its own restaurant and with communal public bar and lounges.Pleasant and large sun terrace with swimming pool for adults and children, tropical bar, sunbeds and parasols.Daily music and entertainment programme with a lively evening atmosphere.Wellness Centre (supplement), including gym, sauna, Turkish bath, jacuzzi, bithermical shower, and a wide range of massages and beauty and body treatments.TV room, games room, children's playroom and children's miniclub.Delfi children's club (high season) with its own mascot, workshops and activities.5 Conference and banquet halls measuring between 80 and 300 m2.New Servigroup boutique with souvenirs, gifts and accessories.Free wifi connection throughout the hotel, including outoor areas.Internet connection at reception (supplement).Reserved beach area attended by the hotel staff for hiring beach awnings, sunbeds and parasols exclusively for hotel guests (supplement).Hotel-owned covered/outdoor parking spaces (supplement): 205 Rooms:Its 551 rooms can be twin, twin single use, superior twin, and superior twin single use. All of them provided with air conditioning by fan coil system and heating, full bathroom, hairdryer, balcony, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV, mini fridge, safe and electronic safety locks.The hotel also has double panoramic rooms with wonderful views over Peniscola Beach and the castle. These rooms have an additional supplement.The flat screen TVs provide a new digital system with 40 national and international channels and 6 music channels.Restaurant:Restaurant with buffet service and show cooking. A selected and varied assortment of dishes including themed dishes, vegetarian choices and delicious desserts. Celiac menu and children's menus available on request.Evening buffet including themed dishes.Children's menus in high season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Servigroup, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Servigroup Papa Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing