We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid 10 out of 10 B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luz de Azahar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Luz de Azahar
Ranked #2 of 13 Peniscola B&B and Inns
Torrevieja
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Splendid 10 out of 10 B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

This is outstanding accommodation with outstanding hosts and it will be very difficult to find better. The price includes secure parking in the basement.
The large bedooms are scrupulously clean and tastefully decorated and are even themed. Each of the four top floor rooms has a good sized balcony and enjoys the morning sun, and good views across the swimming pool and orange groves towards the sea. Each has a large bathroom with double washbasins, multi-jet shower and a separate bath.
Your hosts Miguel and Marieluz are the epitome of friendliness and kindness and will go that extra mile to please.Between them they can adequately converse in English, French, German, Italian and of course Spanish.
We had our Ruby Wedding Anniversary weekend here together with friends and stayed three nights.
Check out the other trip adviser reports - we are all in total agreement.
It is extremely comfortable and quiet. Continental breakfast is served in a delightful breakfast room.
It is a five minute drive into Peniscola - do not miss the castle and surrounding old town.

Room Tip: If travelling by car it can be easy to miss. So - when going towards Peniscola on the CV141 lookout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacko48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nerja
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

We would like to echo the glowing review already given by HMK2 - 2 Canadians who stayed here in May 2011. We agree wholeheartedly with the comments & views they have expressed so well - we endorse everything they say but won´t bore readers by a straightforward repeat.
The only significant extra we can add is that we arrived in not-too-good weather (early December) and were not keen on driving out to eat ( nowhere nearby open in winter). These marvellously hospitable hosts volunteered to cook us a meal - very nice, not at all expensive & much appreciated.
We are active oldies who also could (sadly) only stay one night, while en route from N Italy to S Spain. The only drawback is that it is difficult to find - we did eventually with the help of a local tradesman who knew it well.
That is the only criticism we can think of - so overall it is a treasured discovery & thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: All have superb spacious balconies - each one beautifully designed & furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NerjaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I have to say that I take great pleasure in writing this review! My husband and I are semi-retired Canadians. In May 2011, we were en route from S.W. France to Andalusia, and unfortunately, we could only stay here for 1 night.

This small family-run B&B-type hotel is very special. It’s located on the outskirts of Peñiscola, Castelló - an attractive, fairly small city that’s located right beside the sea (with easy access to a long sandy beach). Peñiscola is known as "Ciudad en la Mar" or “City in the Sea”. A high castle on a hill dominates the area and it was the former home of the Anti-Pope Benedict. The city was also the site for part of the 1961 movie, El Cid!

Luz de Azahar itself is located on the edge of the city - within a quiet and safe-looking residential area. Our GPS had a bit of trouble finding it. Miguel later told us that there are 2 local streets with the same name. No problem. When we finally called Miguel (the owner/manager who had been so helpful and kind all along with our booking questions etc) - he cheerfully drove out to meet us within minutes.

Miguel and Mariluz's place is truly beautiful, in every way - inside and out. It’s a brand-new building with contemporary design and architecture. Attractive gardens. The rooms and ensuite bathrooms show superb attention to every detail. A very comfortable bed. A quiet building and a quiet neighbourhood. Some interesting and lovely original art work.

Immaculate throughout. Even the underground PARKING area is immaculate with its ceramic flooring. It was also convenient and very secure.

There's a good stairway in this 2 storey-building and also a quiet elevator if desired. The couple lives in a private apartment right on site.

They designed Luz de Azahar and although Miguel is a retired professional engineer, he told us that he gives all the credit to his creative wife, Mariluz. This couple is so very gracious and kind, attentive without being pushy, thoughtful and keen about serving their guests in whatever ways that they can. They both epitomize the true meaning of natural class. Both of them are multi-lingual, and although they are both Spanish-born, they lived in Switzerland for several years. Miguel even led us by car to one of his favourite restaurants in town and he even got out and introduced us to the owners. Can see photo.

They have their own orange grove behind their B&B and a pool (photos) that looked so sparkling and inviting. Unfortunately, the weather in late May was coolish this year, so we couldn’t indulge. We had to leave before 7am the next morning, and so, we chose not to have breakfast - yet they still kindly served us the best way that they could in spite of our early leave-taking.

Good memories! Best wishes and thank you, Miguel and MariLuz!

From Helen and Ed Kearns, Burlington, Ontario, Canada.

Room Tip: Ask Miguel for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HMK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peniscola hotels
1.7 mi away
Servigroup Papa Luna
Servigroup Papa Luna
#4 of 54 in Peniscola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Peniscola Plaza Suites
1.8 mi away
Los Delfines
Los Delfines
#26 of 54 in Peniscola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felipe II
Hotel Felipe II
#23 of 54 in Peniscola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel RH PortoCristo
Hotel RH PortoCristo
#2 of 54 in Peniscola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz de Azahar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz de Azahar

Property: Luz de Azahar
Address: Camino Cervera s/n | Apartado de correos n 259, 12598 Peniscola, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Castellon > Peniscola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Peniscola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luz de Azahar, the light of the orange blossom, is a guest house where you get all the amenities of a hotel while feeling perfectly at home. The house is located between the sea and the mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Luz de Azahar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing