We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent birthday weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hospederia Bajo el Cejo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Latvia
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent birthday weekend!”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We would like to say thank you to this place and its owners as it made my birthday this year a special one to remember!
The setting of the place is breathtaking in between the mountains, close to the national park with great views from the bedrooms over the swimming pool and the mountains in the background. You are waking up to the birds singing and the sun shining into your room - soooo romantic.
The personal attitude from the staff of the hotel adds an extra charm: they called us on the day of arrival to ask if we will be having dinner and then waited for us to arrive as we came quite late, around 11pm. They also let us have our breakfast a bit later then normal as we came so late the night before and wished to sleep in in the morning.
The breakfast is another marvelous detail - strawberries, cheesecake, freshly squizeed orange+apple juice, etc. There is an option to have it on the terrace or inside by the fireplace.
The place has a free parking and also free Wi-Fi (if you cannot stay disconected from the world - even though you should in this place).
The rooms are very stylish with comfortable beds, hot showers, magazines/books to read and little things like shampoo, toothpaste, razor, hair dryer, etc.
In general, it was a wonderful stay and we didn't want to leave.
Thank you again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baby-Dragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
158
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
palomares
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Worth the time spent in locating this peaceful residence.The setting is spectacular,extremely helpful staff and the room was very comfortable.
The evening meal was one of the best we have had whilst visiting Spain over the last 16years on a regular basis.The proprietors sister cooks the meals many of which are made to her own unique creations using locally grown produce.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troutmasterpalomares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Great ambiance, excellent hospitality. Stress leaves your body the moment you arrive.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InekeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Difficult to find. But what a find. The location inside a national park is great and You could easily spend two full days walking around the park. The hotel holds onto the edge of a hill looking across a small valley filled with fruit trees being tended by locals. The staff are very friendly and with just a few rooms are very individual. Following the reviews on this site we ordered in advance the full meal which was delicious. I would say that the previous writer who mentioned expensive drinks was not experienced by us: upon the owners recommendation we had a beautiful bottle of white wine which was only €12, the same as we would pay in UK for poor house wine.

But finally it was the breakfast which made this place stand out (as previous reviewers have mentioned). I would go as far as to say the best breakfast I have ever had (way better than a 5star hotel). Totally Spanish and local, included freshly squeezed apple and grape juice, ciabatta and tomatoes, cheese cake, cake, yogurts, home made preserves, cheeses, meats and a pile of deliciously ripe figs.

Bravo.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The village, surroundings and the hotel are like a tonic to remove stresses and strains of busy city life. If you make the effort to drive up the twisty roads, you will be rewarded with magnificent views of the sierra. The peace descends with the road into El Berro and the hotel is clean, comfortable and quiet. The pool was a little chilly in mid September but the sunshine and general relaxed atmosphere made up for it. The food was delicious, healthy and creative. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GralindaSWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Beware! When they say you can only check in after 5pm, they really mean it. At 2pm they shut for siesta and all the staff seem to leave the hotel - howver to be fair, when we arrived at 4pm we did eventually rouse someone who went to get the owner, who did let us in....

We were the only people staying that night - apparently weekends in winter get busier.. No matter, everyone was very welcoming, and didnt' seem to mind just pampering us!!

Room was comfortable and well appointed - staff had thoughtfully turned the heating on for us before we arrived. We stayed in a standard room - which was perfectly comfortable. We did have a sneaky peak in a superior room - main differences were a jacuzzi bath rather than a wet room; a slighly bigger room (though furniture is the same) and a terrace - not much use to us in March - so if you go in the winter, I would save your 30 euros and opt for a standard.

Despite being the only guests, they were still happy to serve the 5 course (30 euror pp) meal. Arrived at the appointed hour to find a wood fire burning for us - very cosy. Food was excellent - the best evening meal we ate in our week long tour around the region - stuffed olives, a courgette and onion souffle to die for and a cactus sorbet were the highlights. Staff were all very accomodating and spoke good English despite their protests that they were poor! Only gripe would be that they didnt' seem to have wine by the glass. We ended up buying a rather pricey (at 10 euros) half bottle and only drinking a little of it.

Breakfast was good - watched one of the staff pick the organes for our juice from our bedroom window - good range of jams and breads - and a very nice (homemade, I think) cheese cake (savoury) and orange cake for b'fast.

Setting is just fabulous - would happily go back here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We are already planning to return to Bajo el Cejo. It is a fantastic hotel, tucked in a beautiful, rural hillside position. It is provides a wonderful combination of comfort, privacy and service. Views are wonderful and the property has been carefully converted to fit into the location. The staff are fabulous, and provide a great breakfast, mostly composed of their own produce. However, dinner, sat on the terrace, was the biggest surprise. Five courses, mostly of local dishes, supberbly prepared for less than 30 Euros, with very good (and affordable) local wines. We ate there for 5 evenings and included 3 British friends one evening, who also raved about the whole evening.

The hotel can provide advice on cycling / mountain biking and walking, including detailed British route maps. Whilst the village is small, it is atmpospheric and there is a shop and comfortable cafe (good lunch option). There is a huge amount to do in the local area, from the excellent local museums to beaches (ask for directions to the quieter Spanish beaches). For us the walking and cycling made the trip, combined with the fantastic hotel.

I am a little suprised by the very poor English Trip Advisor review. Yes the staff live out and the roads are small, but the service and their attitude is excellent. Likewise, we got a large into the car park. I attach some photos, and Andreaus will provide many more (hotel webiste and email address are contained in the Trip Advisor information). I highly recommend the two Suites, and in particilar S3. The views from the balcony are wonderful. The weather was perfect in late June / early July, with very few tourists about.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalamityUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alhama de Murcia
18.8 mi away
Parador de Lorca
Parador de Lorca
#1 of 5 in Lorca
950 reviews
21.5 mi away
Nelva Hotel
Nelva Hotel
#1 of 28 in Murcia
868 reviews
20.9 mi away
Tryp Hotel Rincon de Pepe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Hotel Jardines de Amaltea
19.4 mi away
Balneario de Archena - Hotel Levante
8.1 mi away
Hotel Executive Sport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospederia Bajo el Cejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia Bajo el Cejo

Property: Hospederia Bajo el Cejo
Address: C/ El Paso s/n (El Berro) | El Berro, 30848 Alhama de Murcia, Spain
Location: Spain > Region of Murcia > Alhama de Murcia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alhama de Murcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hospederia Bajo el Cejo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 10 double rooms and 3 suites. All rooms have underfloor heating, airconditioning, internet access and TV, with ensuite bathrooms. The 3 suites each have a jacuzzi and private terrace. One of the rooms is specially adapted for people with mobility problems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Hospederia Bajo el Cejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospederia Bajo El Cejo Alhama De Murcia, Spain - Region Of Murcia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing