We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tastefully modern”
Review of Parador de Lorca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Lorca
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2014

It is the perfect place for a leisurely overnight stop - visit the castle, the synagogue ruins, relax in the pool, and then move on!
It is a modern building that shares a rocky pinnacle with Lorca Castle. It has been sympathetically built to respect the grandeur of the site and its architectural heritage. Perched high above the city, it has tremendous views in every direction. We had a huge comfortable bedroom, with wonderful breakfast and friendly staff.
In late June there were few other guests, which meant that we had the wonderful swimming pool to ourselves. It is a beautiful indoor infinity pool, with glass doors opening onto the incredible view - what more could you ask for?!! The delightful spa was well worth the €17 additional charge. The only disappointing aspect was the quality of the bar meals.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Bald-Tripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,056)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

It is more a hotel built on a ruin of castle instead of old parador conversion. However its interior and the ruins made me feel like staying in a castle. Also its services, breakfast buffet and room interiors are definitely alot more than 4star hotel. We had really good rest include late night snack and drink at terrace with beautiful scenery. Not much to do around the area.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank TSHur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here for three nights as part of a Titan tour in June 2014. The position of this Parador, on top of the hill overlooking Lorca, means that superb views are seen from virtually every point. A modern but tastefully designed hotel built on an archaeological site which has and is undergoing continuing development makes for a fascinating stay. Food was very good, cleanliness excellent and friendly and helpful staff helped make for an enjoyable visit. The approach road should not present any problems for anyone travelling in any car regardless of size but getting in and out in a large touring coach certainly tested the drivers skills!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pip48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for an over 55's package which was after the Easter rush so inexpensive and quiet. Few people staying at the hotel although there were some 'first Communion' functions which did not disturb us at all. The staff were very helpful and English spoken in the absence of our Spanish. We were introduced to information about local attractions and I would urge you not to miss out on visiting both the Castle next door and the archeological displays around the old Jewish quarter and the only Synagogue in Spain to have never been used for any other purpose! See my reviews on attractions.
We arranged to have lunch at the hotel with two friends who lived in the area as guests. We were nervous about this as a recent reviewer had been unhappy with their fish, but we were delighted both with the food quality and service although we did think the price of food was expensive for set menu so we used the a la carte menu which was sufficient in quantity for our lunchtime needs. Highly recommend this Parador (not all of them are as good). The hotel is new so everything inside is of high standard. It was built around the time of the earthquake 3 years ago which affected the opening which was greatly delayed while changes were made to the building which is now surrounded by iron girders to strengthen it in the event of another quake. It looks charming, don't be put off by my description, it looks as modern a piece of architecture as you could find and was designed to fit in with the renovation of the castle and surrounding buildings. It is up on the hill above the town next to the castle and therefore every room has view to die for! Breakfast was like a banquet! Swimming pool, Spa and relaxation area available was compact and charming and we had one superb full body massage and one sports massage by such a competent professional.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to have equal views and facilities although I did not observe the extra facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Please Ignore any negative comments about this Hotel. It is a revelation in every respect. We live only 30 minutes from the hotel, and have seen it being built for nearly 10 years. We now totally understand why. The discovery of archeological ruins meant that the hotel plans had to constantly be revised. They are amazing. The fusion of old and new is incredible, sitting in a 21st Century Hotel surrounded by 13th century history is total credit to the architect and interior designers, Take the very inexpensive and interesting Castle and Synagogue tours, they are one step outside the Hotel.
The Hotel and its rooms are divine. The Restaurant is fabulous and the staff are perfect in every way.
I think the negative comments are from people who perhaps do not understand or appreciate the Spanish cuisine, but this cuisine is truly International, and gastronomically excellent.
Please try this Hotel, you will not be disappointed.

Glennis Sharpe - Vera. Almeria

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GLENNIS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

the parador only has relatively few rooms but they are beautiful as you would expect.
a bit of a pain to find as some of the road signs seem to be missing or are misleading.
Generally a lovely hotel . it also has a very nice swimming pool.

Room Tip: from what we saw all room were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rich w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at this parador for three nights in May. We ate our meals at the parador, too. This is what we liked about the Parador at Lorca:

1. Beautifully styled -- and almost brand new (dedication in 2012 by the Queen of Spain).
2. Junior suite is spacious.
3. Breakfast buffet is wonderful -- a wonderful assortment of local items, fresh fruit, and hot and cold dishes.
4. Commanding view of the valleys on all sides -- this was built in the former fortress complex on the hill.
5. Rich historical importance as a frontier, with recently discovered synagogue inside the fortress compound -- pre-1492 when Muslims and Jews and Christians lived/fought/traded in this part of the world (and sometimes peacefully co-existed, too).
6. Nice selection of decently priced wines, and "a good pour" when then make cocktails at the table for you.
7. One receptionist was particularly helpful in helping us with some administrative things at other paradors where we were planning to stay.

What we did not like about this parador:
1. The dinner menu is very heavy, the lighting and ambience is very clinical (you have the feeling of being in an old folks home), and the background music is cheesy and more suited to an elevator in a department store.
2. The bar area is very sterile -- not interesting at all.
3. Decorations clash with the style of the building. For example, walking to the bar you see in the distance a giant TV on a stand that doesn't match anything. Also, there is a cigarette machine in the bar (although you can't smoke inside) -- it looks cheap. Laminated advertisements in the elevators are not elegant. The TV monitors in the hallways have the electric cables just hanging down the wall -- not very well thought-out.
4. There is not much to do or see in the area except for driving around to the higher plateaus north to see some magnificent scenery, but that takes but a half a day to do. It is also just a half day to view the fortress complex -- three different tours and a confusing way of meeting the tour guides and/or viewing the site.
5. Not much else to do around the parador -- the bar area outside is very narrow and with only a partial view to one end. Pool and spa are average.
6. This is not a criticism, just a fact: a history of floods and eathquakes in the region have made many buildings unsafe to enter, and without funding, many go unrenovated.

What we recommend:
1. Add some vegetables and salads to the bar menus and dinner menus -- so much meat and cheese!
2. Although we were generally pleased with the service (ouir Spanish is average, but they appreciate your trying!), the clientele was very international, and English (for better or for worse) is an international travel language, and the level of English should be improved.

Room Tip: Book the junior suite -- it doesn't cost that much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SwissMike1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorca
0.8 mi away
Hotel Spa Jardines de Lorca
18.8 mi away
Hospederia Bajo el Cejo
Hospederia Bajo el Cejo
#1 of 1 in Alhama de Murcia
227 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Jardines de Amaltea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Hotel Puerto Juan Montiel, SPA & Base Nautica
9.3 mi away
Sercotel Riscal
Sercotel Riscal
#1 of 1 in Puerto Lumbreras
92 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hotel Aguilas Resort
Hotel Aguilas Resort
#6 of 8 in Aguilas
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Lorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Lorca

Address: Castillo de Lorca, s/n, 30800 Lorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Region of Murcia > Lorca
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lorca
Price Range: $68 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Lorca 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parador de Lorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing