We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great experience”
Review of La Cabana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Cabana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palas de Rei
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a great experience”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed as part of a package trip while doing the camino. The food was pretty awful and rushed and the staff were so unfriendly. Our breakfast before heading off on our walk consisted of 1 croissant and some toast. All our group were most disappointed and were looking for something else to eat along the walk. Our hotels for the previous nights were really good with substantial buffet breakfasts. This hotel is one to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFAR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    80
    61
    25
    15
See reviews for
38
53
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

While far from luxurious, this log cabin styled accommodation is perfectly good for a night on the camino. The rooms are clean and the setting nice. Forget the hotel restaurant and stick with the bar/cafe on the terrace which is more jolly and serves good value meals, including burgers and chips and the best calamari I've had for some time. Their padron peppers are great too. Forget the pool across the road, as its not great. In the morning the breakfast in the restaurant is to be avoided, as its a dull place and there were way too many flies when we were there. Instead go back on the terrace and you'll get a good refuelling before heading back on the camino.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CH3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

A relief to find our accomm was before Palas de Rei.Reminded us of Canadian log cabins.Big school trip eating when we arrived so lunch service not good.Rooms fine and spotless but no sound proofing at all!'Menu del dia' v basic - wine thrown in undrinkable and dessert was a little yogurt pot, breakfast also v basic - bit like eating in student halls.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pips044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here for a night while walking the Camino. At first I wasn't too sure about the place as it was located just a bit before the actual town of Palas de Rei, but it turned out their location was a huge asset. Its patio area was a perfect spot to enjoy a beer and a burger while watching other pilgrims wander by on their way into town.

They have a washer for your clothes in a little shed next to the clothesline towards the back of the property. The rooms were big and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was large and clean. It was so quiet at night that I slept really, really well and woke up feeling incredibly well rested.

The pilgrim's menu included salmon which was quite good, although the red wine was barely drinkable. Fortunately the white wine was actually not bad. All in all, a very pleasant place to spend an afternoon and an evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
950 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Not exactly cabins but there was that rustic feel. It is located directly on the Camino about 1K before Palas de Rei and the deck/patio allows you to see the pilgrims and your acquaintances to pass and say "Hi." Lunch and dinner were fine (Pilgrims' Menu at 10 euro). Bed was solid, water was hot and the staff gracious and helpful. There were washing machines and dryers available with payment. It's not the Parador, nor would I want it to be! I did not take breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the afternoon/evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This motel-like hotel right on the path of the Camino de Santiago is a fantastic place to stay, especially on a warm sunny evening. The rooms are good, and the Bar and Terrace are great for relaxing in after a long walk. We had dinner here, and was also very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubaluyve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stopped here overnight while walking the Camino. The property is well maintained and the rooms have a woodsy, rustic quality. Dinner was okay (not memorable) but breakfast needs improvement: we were given a croissant and jam, and that was it. Still, this hotel is a decent choice that serves its purpose as an overnight place to sleep and shower.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palas de Rei
23.8 mi away
Hotel Alfonso IX
Hotel Alfonso IX
#2 of 5 in Sarria
316 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Carlos 96
Hotel Carlos 96
#1 of 3 in Melide
252 reviews
4.0 mi away
Oca Balneario Rio Pambre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Hotel Mar de Plata
Hotel Mar de Plata
#1 of 5 in Sarria
122 reviews
15.5 mi away
Casa da Igrexa
Casa da Igrexa
#2 of 3 in Arzua
86 reviews
23.6 mi away
Oca Villa de Sarria
Oca Villa de Sarria
#4 of 5 in Sarria
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cabana

Property: La Cabana
Address: C/ Doctor Pardo Ouro | (Enfrente Centro de Saude), 27200 Palas de Rei, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Lugo > Palas de Rei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palas de Rei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cabana 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing