We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service i have ever received!”
Review of Casa Benilde

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palas de Rei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Benilde
Ranked #2 of 17 Palas de Rei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best service i have ever received!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stay at five star hotels every week with my job but never in my life have i had such excellent service as from Pilar and Franscisco at this hotel! From the minute we walked in we were treated as honoured guests being greeted by name every time we appeared. We were offered an umbrella when we went out, when you are on the camino you have very few luxury items with you so this was a lovely touch. Even the Parador in Santiago didn't do this. We were given advice on where to eat that evening and at breakfast we had everything explained to us! Absolutely excellent in every way. If only other people could learn to deliver service like this, there would be lots of happy hotel guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vittoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    40
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
49
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BC, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was a fairly large hotel, compared to many on the camino. As others have said, they are very efficient at the front desk, going into great detail. Little oddities were the warning about the Internet going off at 10pm, a sign about no clothes drying in the windows, getting instructions on what you can and cannot do. The flip side is that they are proud of their hotel and it was clean and tidy. No problem recommending this one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelownatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Without a doubt, this is the hotel that I received the best service ever in every sense of the word. The front desk help (especially Pilar) were the most accommodating of ANY hotel I have ever been in, even the Ritz Carlton. Upon entering they greeted me with a smile and personally accompanied me to my room and explained everything about the room, hotel and breakfast. My most notable experience was Pilar's overwhelming response to my personal crisis. While on the Camino, I found myself no longer being able to walk and Pilar was accommodating in every sense of the word. She helped get me tea to help settle my nerves and began a campaign to find me a physiotherapist in the next town, make insurance calls for me and see to my transportation. I cannot say enough for my TOTAL experience at Casa Benilde.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vickiRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

When you first walk in, the hotel seems pretty ordinary. However, the rooms are spotless, updated and very nice. What sets this apart even more, though, is the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. They aim to please, and they do an excellent job of it. Some examples: Our luggage was in the room when we arrived. This is a bonus for weary pilgrims at the end of a long day, and no other hotel offered this service. Then, they accompanied us to our room to show us how to turn on the heat, etc. They did not accept a tip but responded that service is their job. When we left for dinner, they offered umbrellas to guests on a rainy night. I felt honored and appreciated -- not at all "spooked" as the other reviewer wrote. Keep up the great work, Casa Benilde!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've read the other reviews and agree entirely. You couldn't find a friendlier staff than at Casa Benilde. I felt special and as if I was the only guest who mattered. Sadly, I find out that they treated all the guests in a similar fashion, and exceptionally. There was a Norwegian couple we were walking alongside, on the Camino de Santiago, and they said it was the sixth time they had stayed at Casa Benilde. My room and the bathroom was spotless. The hotel takes exception to guests hanging their laundry on the windows, so drying service is provided (not free, but at a reasonable price). There is free internet in the basement, where the dining room is. The staff is extremely helpful in making reservations for your next hotel, and for tours (we went to Vilar de Donas). Definitely a welcome respite after walking 25 kms on the Camino!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

From the time we were greeted by the front desk man, Francisco to the time we left the following morning, we were treated with friendliness, kindness and concern. I had a good time practicing my Spanish with the staff, especially Francisco. The room was spotless and smelled of freshness. We were in the midst of a bike tour on the Camino de Santiago and this was by far the best of all the hotels we stayed in. The hotel is situated right in the center of town but away from any busy traffic street. There are several nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connectorPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Like the day before in Portomarín, I missed some signs in the town of Palas de Rey - but finally I found my place for this night. Very, very friendly staff, very well equipped for only 1 Star, very clean. What became a little bit spoky was the kindness of the team behind the reception: even when the staff change and you meet them for the very first time, they calle you by your first name. They guide you to the breakfast room and do not stop to explain, what at the end is self-explanatory .... but to negotiate in English with American pilgrims is very difficult, their English is very poor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palas de Rei
0.5 mi away
La Cabana
La Cabana
#1 of 1 in Palas de Rei
217 reviews
13.6 mi away
Pazo de Berbetoros
Pazo de Berbetoros
#1 of 2 in Portomarin
23 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Carlos 96
Hotel Carlos 96
#1 of 3 in Melide
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Hotel Alfonso IX
Hotel Alfonso IX
#2 of 5 in Sarria
322 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hotel Mar de Plata
Hotel Mar de Plata
#1 of 5 in Sarria
125 reviews
4.9 mi away
Casa Camino Turismo Rural
Casa Camino Turismo Rural
#3 of 17 in Palas de Rei
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Benilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Benilde

Property: Casa Benilde
Address: Travesia Mercado s/n, 27200 Palas de Rei, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Lugo > Palas de Rei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Palas de Rei
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing