We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest reception staff in a lovely hotel”
Review of Casa Benilde

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palas de Rei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Benilde
Ranked #2 of 17 Palas de Rei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Friendliest reception staff in a lovely hotel”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

After a very long day on the Camino trail, I arrived exhausted at the Casa Benilde,only to be greeted by two of the most delightful staff members I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Pilar,on reception, was helpful as regards advice re; where to eat and what to see whilst in the small town. I was also given an umbrella as I left the hotel to explore, as the weather was atrocious.
My single room was small, but very clean and with an on-suite shower/bathroom, which was adequate and flat screen TV.
Breakfast was great, with freshly squeezed orange juice, muffins etc.. Again the staff here were incredibly helpful and attentive..
A great little hotel to stay at and recharge your batteries, before the next days effort.

Room Tip: This hotel is on a very quiet street, so I dont believe any of the rooms would have been too affecte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianeperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    40
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
49
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

we Stayed at Casa Benilde recently on our Camino to Santiago. I have to say what a delightful and friendly stay it was. On check in, the Staff were Impeccable. It felt like we were the first people ever to stay at the Hotel. Nothing was too much trouble, everything about the Hotel and town was explained in great detail, with such charm and genuine professionalism. We couldnt have felt more at home.
The Breakfast was so comprehensively layed out, it was difficult to know where to start. Wonderful.
If you are walking the Camino and you are staying at Palas de Rey, then you have to stay here.
Please, if the hotel owners read this, thank your wonderful staff, they make Casa Benilde such a memorable stay, their greeting from the moment you walk in is a delight, they make you feel so special and at home. They are proud of where they work.

I cannot rate a stay at Casa Benilde highly enough. Many thanks

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulwUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON, UK
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

it would be easy for a hotel to just 'coast' in Palas de Rei. As a stop on the Pilgrims Way to Santiago, there is a constant stream of pilgrims looking for cheap basic accommodation. So the fact that Casa Benilde doesn't just coast and offers a very good level of service and accommodation comes as a welcome surprise. It's very clean and tastefully decorated. The wonderful woman who runs it makes a real effort to show you the places to eat and shop in town, right down to the hand-drawn photocopied map and explanation of opening and closing times. The rooms were tasteful, clean and well equipped. The breakfast buffet were good. There's parking in a secure garage for bikes. Given how easy it would be to get away with less, this hotel was exemplary and I can't praise it enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Of all the places we stayed at the Camino, Casa Benilde was the most welcoming and hospitable. When we arrived they had already taken our suitcases up to our room (the only hotel to do so). They spared no effort to give us an orientation about the town , and recommending which would be the best restaurants where we could also watch the final of the Eurocup between Spain and Italy.

The rooms were small and basic but functional and very clean. The bathroom was a decent size, very modern and had great towels and water pressure.

My only complaint (and not a major one at that) was regarding the breakfast. At 10 euros it was by far the most expensive we encountered in any hotel we stayed at during the Camino. The muffins and croissants they offered were prepackaged ones, and fruit offered was limited to bananas and fresh squeezed OJ. The lady that serviced the breakfast room was very sweet and attentive, but frankly the price was ridiculous for what they offered.

If I go back to Palas de Rey I would stay there for sure, it was good value (except the breakfast!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I could not recommend this hotel more highly, clean and comfortable accommodation just what you need after a days walk. Very importantly the staff gave us a fantastic welcome as we staggered through the door! Our bags were in our rooms, maps provided and recommendations for dinner given. We are a family of four, walking the Camino with our two teenage sons and we all voted this as our top hotel along the route A wonderful nightstop, thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

There are not exceptional things to tell about this place except the staff. They make you feel welcome since the first moment you enter and will help in any need you may have. The hotel has been recently renovated to offer small but clean and well appointed accommodations, more than fair to finish a day after walking El Camino to Santiago. When we arrived our previously transported luggage was already in our room. The hotel has not a restaurant but we had probably the best dinner of our five-day walking trip in the bar recommended by the nice man at the front-desk. In summary, when doing El Camino, a stop at Casa Benilde in Palas de Rei will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlgtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

As soon as we entered, we were taken care of. We were walking the Camino and looking forward to a nice room. Our rooms wasn't ready so the man at the front desk stowed our bags, showed us a place to relax, and the rushed to get our room ready.

If you're in Palas de Rey, stay here! And it's right on the Camino and close to supermarkets and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaJonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palas de Rei
0.5 mi away
La Cabana
La Cabana
#1 of 1 in Palas de Rei
217 reviews
13.6 mi away
Pazo de Berbetoros
Pazo de Berbetoros
#1 of 2 in Portomarin
23 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Carlos 96
Hotel Carlos 96
#1 of 3 in Melide
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Hotel Alfonso IX
Hotel Alfonso IX
#2 of 5 in Sarria
322 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hotel Mar de Plata
Hotel Mar de Plata
#1 of 5 in Sarria
125 reviews
4.9 mi away
Casa Camino Turismo Rural
Casa Camino Turismo Rural
#3 of 17 in Palas de Rei
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Benilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Benilde

Property: Casa Benilde
Address: Travesia Mercado s/n, 27200 Palas de Rei, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Lugo > Palas de Rei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Palas de Rei
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing