We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff managing a very comfortable if modest accommodation”
Review of Casa Benilde

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palas de Rei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Benilde
Ranked #2 of 17 Palas de Rei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great staff managing a very comfortable if modest accommodation”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

There are not exceptional things to tell about this place except the staff. They make you feel welcome since the first moment you enter and will help in any need you may have. The hotel has been recently renovated to offer small but clean and well appointed accommodations, more than fair to finish a day after walking El Camino to Santiago. When we arrived our previously transported luggage was already in our room. The hotel has not a restaurant but we had probably the best dinner of our five-day walking trip in the bar recommended by the nice man at the front-desk. In summary, when doing El Camino, a stop at Casa Benilde in Palas de Rei will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlgtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    40
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
48
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

As soon as we entered, we were taken care of. We were walking the Camino and looking forward to a nice room. Our rooms wasn't ready so the man at the front desk stowed our bags, showed us a place to relax, and the rushed to get our room ready.

If you're in Palas de Rey, stay here! And it's right on the Camino and close to supermarkets and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaJonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We enjoyed Casa Benilde after a cold, rainy day walking the camino. The room was warm, comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artsfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed one night after a long walk on the camino. Very friendly welcome, quiet and very clean rooms with (for the first time in 20 years travelling in spain) the extra blanket not lying loose in the closet but packed in cotton sack. Good breakfast with a very helpful Lady fullfiling our wishes before we could mention them.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warenkatalog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

The staff at this hotel were amazing. So helpful in every way. We had our laundry drying on rack while were out eating and it started to rain. We rushed back to find that the staff had moved the rack into the covered garage. Perfect. I had difficulty making a reservation on the phone and the staff handled it for me. The room was small but very comfortable and there was a separate lounge downstairs with a free computer...All of this was very helpful for pilgrims on the camino!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaminoJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Excellent welcome from very helpful lady. Room was clean and functional and it was a good stop after having spent some time walking! Staff so helpful even moving our washing in when it started raining. If only all hotels were so welcoming!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed here on the 3rd night of our walk on the final section of the Comino. It is a 1 star hotel, situated right in the centre of Palas de Rei. The staff really couldn't have been more helpful and friendly! This is what we would expect from a hotel with a much higher star rating. Mind you, the room was small and basic (what did we expect!) but it was clean, comfortable and quiet. That's what we needed after a long day on the dusty paths of Galacia! There was no facility for an evening meal, (We knew this in advance.) and were well catered for in a local restaurant, of which there are many. Breakfast was terrific! Two kind ladies squeezed as much fresh orange juice as we needed, made our toast, tea & coffee and 'mothered' us beyond all expectations! None of the impersonal self service buffer breakfast that we have come to expect and accept from hotels everywhere! Nice one!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skindiverDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palas de Rei
0.5 mi away
La Cabana
La Cabana
#1 of 1 in Palas de Rei
215 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Carlos 96
Hotel Carlos 96
#1 of 3 in Melide
252 reviews
15.1 mi away
Casa da Igrexa
Casa da Igrexa
#2 of 3 in Arzua
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Hotel Mar de Plata
Hotel Mar de Plata
#1 of 5 in Sarria
122 reviews
4.9 mi away
Casa Camino Turismo Rural
Casa Camino Turismo Rural
#3 of 17 in Palas de Rei
73 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hotel Ferramenteiro
Hotel Ferramenteiro
#1 of 6 in Portomarin
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Benilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Benilde

Property: Casa Benilde
Address: Travesia Mercado s/n, 27200 Palas de Rei, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Lugo > Palas de Rei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Palas de Rei
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing