We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Bedbugs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Toronto
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Bedbugs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Went to this establishment for the "suite" in the name. Did not check Trip Advisor. Suite was not separate rooms, more like a studio. Staff pleasant. After checking in went to room and immediately found bedbug snuggled up to the light switch by the bed headboard. Immediately left and asked to have check-in canceled. Quickly done. Almost seemed like they were used to this.

Room Tip: Avoid unless you want to take a chance on bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Edurehab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    24
    14
    5
    20
See reviews for
25
17
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This place is SO GROSS... I got an infection from using the HOT TUB... I ended up calling the Frederick County Health Department and they had to shut the HOT TUB down due to being so dirty. I really want to sue this place for giving me this infection. PLEASE DONT STAY HERE, It is the MOST DISGUSITING place ever. DIRTY DIRTY DIRTY. If your kids were in the hot tub or if you were in the HOT TUB on the week of June 19 of 2010 you need to get your self tested for trich virus. I am SERIOUS. I got it from this hot tub.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frederick hotels

Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

I didn't have as bad of an experience at this hotel as other reviewers. The staff was very friendly and provided cookies and newspapers in the lobby for guests. Although my room was clean, it needed a new paint job. There were many black marks on the entrance way to the suite.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suspensewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I reserved a room for myself, my wife and son for 2 nights at this hotel staying in this area for a Bat Mitzvah. We checked into the hotel Friday night. When we returned to the hotel on Saturday afternoon to get ready for the party the manager, Mr. Kaushal Shah, was running down the hallway proclaiming "You have to move out of your room right now!!" (He had changed the code on the lock so we had no choice.) He claimed we only had a reservation for one night and a large group was here for a wedding and we had to leave. We showed him the reservation we made through the corporate website and he claimed that corporate must have made a mistake. It was only after I insisted he call corporate and let me speak to them that he offered another room in the nearby Comfort Inn. (It was a smoking room and the windows didn't open. We wound up spending the night in the lobby because the air in the room was so foul and unventiated. In reviewing this issue with corporate they admitted that the hotel had changed the reservation. This manager was nasty and dishonest. I thought it was curious that he did not ask to see the reservation when I check in (a customary procedure) He probably had this planned since he received the request for a block of rooms and was probably short one room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodVib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

My husband works 2 and 1/2 hours from home. I wanted to take my children (a 5 month old and a 6 year old) on a special getaway for the New Year holiday. We were checked into room 316. It was the most filthy place I have ever seen. The dust on the tv was so thick my 6 year old decided to write on it. The counter tops had hair, dirt, and FILTH all over them. The toilet and shower were not cleaned since the previous checked out guest. I called the front desk and requested a room change. The front desk clerk told me that she could move us to another room "right down the hall". We moved into our current room. It was not as FILTHY as our previous room but it wasn't the best. While getting ready for bed tonight the hotel phone rang. He said that he was the front desk clerk on duty. He proceeded to tell me that I had to pay an extra $20 per night for our room because our room has two beds. I told him that we would move to another room in the morning if he guaranteed that it would be clean. He said that he couldn't promise that. NICE!!! After admitting that it was the front desk clerks fault for not telling me that I had to pay an extra $20 a night he proceeded to yell and me and ACTUALLY HUNG UP ON ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I asked his name and he told me that he wouldn't give it to me and told me that he "dared me to come down to see him in person to get it". I told him that I had a baby and a six year old with me and he told me that he didn't care about my kids. I am still in the room and truly do NOT FEEL SAFE HERE!!! I have never been talked to the way he talked to me. My six year old is so scared and afraid that he will come up to our room and hurt us!!! NICE!!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!! IT IS DIRTY AND THE GUEST SERVICE IS THE WORST EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherryandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

While on the outside this hotel looks adequate, I overheard employees making comments that I found disturbing concerning the cleanliness. For starters, bed bugs keep showing up in a few rooms. The rooms get treated, but you know that you can never fully get rid of bed bugs. Second, in one of the rooms, apparently a guest had gotten ketchup and other spills on the ceiling. Rather than clean the mess, the hotel chose to just paint over it! Finally, I heard the staff will let stopped up toilets sit all weekend for someone to clean up Monday, though I have no clue why the maids don't take care of it. I suppose they pass it off to maintenance as there is no maintenance staff over the weekends, so you're stuck if something breaks in your room, or someone else who only works during the week. Who knows what other short cuts this hotel takes. I will never stay here again. You shouldn't either!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shambular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Alabama
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

Our experience wasn't nearly as bad as the other reviewers, but this place was a serious disappointment. The lobby and hallways were nice enough, but it went downhill quickly upon entering the rooms. The furnishings are cheap, dirty, and VERY poorly-maintained--almost everything in the room was ugly, discolored, dinged, or outright broken, and everything was highlighted by harsh white fluorescent light. The heater was very noisy and awakened me from my sleep! The continental breakfast featured the smallest selection I've seen in years.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Storm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Frederick
Comfort Inn Frederick
#13 of 21 in Frederick
3.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#17 of 21 in Frederick
3.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Red Horse  Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 21 in Frederick
4.0 of 5 stars 647 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#8 of 21 in Frederick
3.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Property: MainStay Suites
Address: 7310 Executive Way, Frederick, MD 21704-8353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Hotel Frederick
Mainstay Suites Frederick
Mainstay Frederick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing