We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Courtyard Marriott” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Frederick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Frederick
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Uxbridge, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Courtyard Marriott”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I have stayed at Courtyard Marriotts all over the country and in Europe, and this is the best Courtyard Marriott I ever stayed at. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated, while the Wifi works very well. The grounds are nice with a waterfall fountain and fire pit. The employees are all friendly and helpful when needed. The best feature of this hotel is the Bistro. I only visit it during the week nights, and the bartender Chantelle is excellent. She is very welcoming to guests, and makes you feel right at home. Additionally, goes out of her way to help you out, and takes great pride in her Bistro and the hotel brand. The Bistro experience is a major differential of this Courtyard vs other hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomKim29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    50
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
22
10
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Of the few Courtyard by Marriott hotels I've stayed in this was one of the better ones. My room was clean. My bed was comfortable. The check-in and check-out was quick. The locations was convenient enough to walk a few places, but you really need a car to stay here. The gym is small but functional. There is also an indoor pool and hot tub,

My only complaint was the heater didn't seem to work all that well. I was too lazy to bring this to the attention of the front desk, as it usually was an issue when I woke up cold.

I'd stay here again. As long as you don't expect anything more that a clean comfortable Courtyard, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank So_where_is_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, General Manager at Courtyard Frederick, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
So_where_is_home,

Thank you for your feedback. Clean and comfortable are both huge. I wish we could have quickly fixed that heat for you. Thank you for your feedback.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
340 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I like this hotel...I had a friendly greeting, it has a nice feel when you first walk in and the room was very comfy. It does appear to be recently renovated as a few other reviews mentioned. That is a huge plus. There is a Promenade of stores, movie theater, yogurt ice cream, and lots of restaurants across the road...it may be a tad to long of a walk so you would need a car. The bed was very comfy, lots of good pillows, and well lit. I did not hear noise between the walls as another reviewer mentioned...that did concern me as that is rather annoying. Overall, I do recommend this hotel and I will be back next time in the area.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Shersei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, General Manager at Courtyard Frederick, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Shersei,

Thank you for your feedback. I agree that the design, lighting, pillows, comfortable beds, and location all make a difference from one hotel to another. As someone who works in the hotel industry for a long time, I have had an opportunity to be a part of hotels being built. Like having a strong friendly customer focussed team, some hotels are just built better and therefore will be quieter. Our hotel is what is called block and plank in our industry. Basically, there is a lot of concrete in it - which makes it much quieter. I hope you do return next time as mentioned. Regards. Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel exists merely for convenience. It is your basic equivalent of a fast food restaurant. If you like McDonalds and Burger King, this hotel will suit you just fine.

The walls are paper thin. I found the bed and pillows to be comfortable and the room was clean. Dont get me wrong, there is nothing bad about this hotel. Just nothing remarkable.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lottaaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

One night stay for work and although it was like any other newer Courtyard property I have stayed, the staff was very friendly and cordial! I thought the room was very clean and would definitely stay in this property again. The breakfast was very fresh and I ate dinner as well; the tuna was very good. Highly recommend this location as well to north Virginia area and WV.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fernsandflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, General Manager at Courtyard Frederick, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Hospitality is our business and our staff is in this business because they enjoy it. Thank you for recognizing them. The Bistro is very convenient and Marriott has done a great job with their menus. Thank you again. Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at the Courtyard in Frederick off and on for two months while I was temporarily working in the Frederick area.

The service was excellent the entire time. If I ever had a request, it was handled immediately and with a smile. The staff at breakfast was great, day in and day out.

The hotel is an older hotel however it was recently renovated and everything is brand new. The lobby is beautiful, the gym is small (5-50lb weights, 2 treadmills, an elliptical, and a bike) but all equipment is new. The swimming pool and hot tub are indoors and relatively small but well kept. There is also a very nice area behind the hotel with a garden, fountain, fire pit, and seating.

The rooms are also very new. The ceilings are very high and makes the room feel huge.

I expected to switch hotels about halfway through my two month stay in Frederick (in order to get a change of scenery), however I knew that I would not be able to find anything better than the Courtyard. I'm very thankful to the staff for making my two months in Frederick relaxing and enjoyable, and would highly recommend the Courtyard Frederick to anyone considering a hotel in Frederick.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djo4gq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, General Manager at Courtyard Frederick, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Djo4gq,

I'm thrilled that you thought enough of our hotel to stay longer than anticipated. Thank you for the kind words and wonderful summary.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding and found this to be an extremely comfortable stay. Good sized rooms with a comfortable bed, very friendly staff and the lobby and breakfast area are well designed. Pool and gym area are both excellent, plus the fire pit area in the garden. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Perhaps best to ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you want to sleep with the windows open a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank langham55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, General Manager at Courtyard Frederick, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It's great to be with such a great chain! Our fire pit and beautiful Courtyard area is really nice for groups like yours. I'm glad you were able to enjoy it. Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 21 in Frederick
4.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frederick
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Frederick

Property: Courtyard Frederick
Address: 5225 Westview Dr, Frederick, MD 21703-8306
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Frederick
#4 Business Hotel in Frederick
#5 Family Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Frederick 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find that the new state-of-the-art lobby and newly renovated sleeping rooms at our Courtyard Frederick MD hotel provides greater flexibility and choice, featuring; inviting, productive spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our hotel's new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., which provides healthy offerings in the morning, plus dinner service with cocktails in the evenings. You'll find outdoor spaces with a Fire Pit & Pond and plenty of seating, indoor pool, plus, a well-equipped fitness center, 24-hour self-serve business center and Quick Print station. Our new rooms offer comforts of home and ample work space. Conveniently located less than 30 miles from either Baltimore or Washington, DC,near the I-70 and I-270 interchange and just minutes from Historic Downtown Frederick. Your stay at the Courtyard Frederick MD hotel is sure to be more comfortable, productive and enjoyable than ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Frederick Hotel Frederick
Frederick Courtyard
Frederick Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing