We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Frederick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Frederick
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

I enjoyed my stay at the Hampton. The Hampton had very clean rooms. The Hotel serves a complimentary breakfast buffet with a nice variety. The hotel's pool is very clean. the Hampton has fresh cookies in the lounge area. The staff is very Friendly at the Hampton.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bartsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    190
    94
    33
    22
See reviews for
210
154
55
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

As a result of reading reviews on Trip Advisor, I made a reservation at this Hampton Inn on a recent road trip to take my daughter back to college in Maryland. The staff were welcoming and pleasant, the room was comfortable, and they even gave us treats for the dog traveling with us. Great place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TempleMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

The room for 2 adults and 2 children (10 & 13) was very small. The desk chair stuck out so far it hit the edge of the second bed. We had to move it so we had room to walk.

The location was great with freeway access right there and all kinds of restaurants and shopping options. We drive back and forth to Harpers Ferry twice, once AM and again PM for ghost tour and it was perfect.

Breakfast was "nasty" as my children put it. Nothing there was really edible except the cereal. We ended up at Cracker Barrel the second morning.

The pool was great and it really helped to cool off with temperatures in the 100's during our stay.

This hotel would not work for us on a return trip to Frederick.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLM63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

The Hampton Inn is a typical character-free box structure, so go for the 5th floor to avoid thumps from above. Pleasant lobby area and meeting rooms. Location is very convenient to Ft. Detrick with easy access to freeways, downtown Frederick, etc. Room had refrigerator and microwave. Grocery store and fast food within walking distance. Safe residential/business area. Comfy beds, chair and desk chair. Windows don't open, so it relies on the A/C which audibly cycles on cooling. Plentiful towels, nice beds. Internet. 3-item hot breakfast plus waffler in addition to the usual continental offerings of most places.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anemonefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

Before our trip, I was a bit "ho hum" about staying at the Hampton Inn Frederick. After all, a Hampton Inn is a Hampton Inn is a Hampton Inn. They're all pretty much the same, right? WRONG! This is an older property BUT there is actually a restaurant on site, we didn't have the time to try it out, but it was there nevertheless. The very best (and I do mean very BEST) thing about the hotel is the staff. We wonder how the management goes about finding them because they are the cream of the crop. No matter what we asked for, they went above and beyond our expectations. We arrived early, our room was ready. We were traveling with a baby and had requested a crib in advance (which we have frequently requested at other hotels, to no avail). To our surprise, the crib was already set up and waiting for us in our room. Because of the needs of the toddlers traveling with us, it was necessary to ask housekeeping for "non-customary" cleaning times. They gladly accommodated us. The place is absolutely spotless. We had read other reviews about "noise levels" but found the hotel to be very quiet, and it was pretty well packed. We saw a friendly, well behavied dog or two on the elevator, but other than that, you'd never know this was a pet friendly hotel.

We asked for directions to an attraction and Alanna, at the front desk, actually volunteered to map quest if for us and printed a copy. The pool is huge, two to three times as large as most hotel pools and it was stocked with plenty of towels for the guests. We left a wake up call for 4:00 AM. I stumbled down into the lobby, hoping for a cup of day old coffee but a really nice guy in a "security" jacket made a pot of fresh coffee for me. He also put together five breakfast to go bags for our family. His name is Gregory and you've got to know it probably wasn't in his job description to take care of us like that, but he did so with a smile. He really made our day! My only regret is that I forgot to fill out the guest comment cards for everyone who helped us, they all certainly deserve a pat on the back AND THEN SOME!!! We travel to Frederick several times a year and will look forward to staying at this Hampton Inn again. They really know how to make a guest feel welcome.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank hymeragal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

The Hampton Inn, Frederick, Maryland is a wonderful place to stay for one night or an extended stay.

The hotel is welcoming and will turn on the tea pot when asked, as they did for us when we arrived after 10:00 PM.

The rooms are beautiful, clean, and comfortable. My elderly Mother was traveling with me and she said the bed was better then her bed at home!

This is a pet-friendly hotel, a definite plus as I travel with one small (10#) dog.

There was a continental breakfast worth getting up for!

All totaled, I give this experience 4 thumbs up, both of mine and both of my Mothers!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank earthtosusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

I have stayed here twice and found it to be a very consistent, well run, consistent hotel. We stayed both times on the side away from the road which looks over a marshy grass area and I think is quieter. The room and bathroom were very clean and the bed comfortable, (alittle soft for me). We used the internet connection in the room to look up local restaurants which worked reliably. A very solid choice of a place to stay in Frederick.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eastcoasttransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Frederick

Property: Hampton Inn Frederick
Address: 5311 Buckeystown Pike, Frederick, MD 21704-8307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Frederick
#3 Business Hotel in Frederick
#4 Family Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Frederick 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned in the historical town of Frederick, Maryland, the Hampton Inn Frederick hotel is the perfect place to rest after a day out on the town. Explore the cultural landmarks in the city, learn about the development of Civil War medicine, browse the local antique shops and enjoy local dining and entertainment options. As the day winds down, enjoy complimentary internet service, a free hot breakfast each morning, outdoor pool, fitness center, business center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Frederick Hotel Frederick
Frederick Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing