We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Forget my rating, this is just a warning” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Frederick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Frederick
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Forget my rating, this is just a warning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

With Trip Advisor, I had to give a rating, but that's not why I'm writing a review. In fact, I've never stayed at this Hampton Inn. I just want to warn future guests about this hotel's unique policies and to urge you to read the fine print.

The Fine Print states that if you aren't going to be checking in until after 6pm, you have to call the hotel and tell them. The result if you don't? They give away your room. I arrived on my check-in day at 6:30 (half an hour after their ridiculous cut-off time) and was told they had NO record of my reservation. After showing them my email confirmation and waiting for them to talk amongst themselves for several minutes, they finally informed me that they gave my room away and were now completely booked.

While I blame myself for not reading the fine print, I still find that policy completely ridiculous. I've never ever heard of a hotel policy like that.

To those that run this Hampton Inn, if you must have that policy for some unknown reason, my suggestion to you would be to make sure this rule is in bold and easily seen when making reservations. Also, why give the room away? Charge a fee instead - or call the guest!

It should be noted that I love and highly recommend Hampton Inns, and every other one I've stayed at does not have this policy.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    172
    87
    25
    20
See reviews for
195
139
48
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We chose this wedding for our family to stay in during our wedding in Frederick. Staff was friendly, rooms are clean, breakfast was good for buffet, and there's a great pool. Outside may not look like a standard Hampton, but inside is remodeled and has the updated Hampton Inn room and bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The location of this hotel is right between two major highways. It is really loud! Also, the air fan doesn't stay on to muffle the noise or keep you cool so it's stuffy. I wouldn't recommend it due to the noise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank SuMu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stopped here for one night after landing at IAD on the way to the Poconos. All was perfect. Warm reception, efficient and speedy check-in, spotless throughout, extremely comfortable room with many amenities, lovely buffet breakfast, beautiful pool (which we did not use), and speedy wi-fi throughout. Highly recommend. Excellent for business, couples, families.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ojainel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel 6 nights. The bed was very comfortable as was my room. The complimentary breakfast was wholesome and fresh each morning. Room service was performed daily with fresh clean linen. The staff were awesome and friendly. My only regret was that available TV programs offered did not include any Christian broadcast channels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Iris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

this was a tough business trip, so it was nice to have a relaxing hotel with plenty of amenities. There were only two issues. 1. although they offered an excellent breakfast service the restaurant, which offered dinner, was closed and this was not in the advertisement 2. The pool was not covered and had limited use hours because of it. Overall their service and support was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My experience at Hampton Inn Frederick was AMAZING-From the front desk staff, to breakfast staff and housekeeping-everyone was attentive and pleasant. I have stayed at 5 star hotels and did not receive the attention and respect that I received at Hampton Inn Frederick.

Room Tip: Share what you are looking for because staff are eager to please
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#7 of 21 in Frederick
3.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Frederick

Property: Hampton Inn Frederick
Address: 5311 Buckeystown Pike, Frederick, MD 21704-8307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Frederick
#3 Romantic Hotel in Frederick
#4 Family Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Frederick 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned in the historical town of Frederick, Maryland, the Hampton Inn Frederick hotel is the perfect place to rest after a day out on the town. Explore the cultural landmarks in the city, learn about the development of Civil War medicine, browse the local antique shops and enjoy local dining and entertainment options. As the day winds down, enjoy complimentary internet service, a free hot breakfast each morning, outdoor pool, fitness center, business center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Frederick Hotel Frederick
Frederick Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing