We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveler rating
88
91
75
44
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
91
75
44
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast buffetfrench toastfitness centera king size bedthe francis scott key mallnice sizeflat screen tvhousekeeping staffplenty of parkingconventionmicrowavemarylandhighway
Filter
Updating list...
303 - 308 of 336 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2011

The room itself was fine, though unimpressive. The bed was comfortable, the TV old but functional. However, the temperature in the room seemed independent of what I set the thermostat at -- the heat came on during the day and cooled off at night, regardless of whether I turned it up or down at other times.

The buffet breakfast was the same every morning, which gets pretty depressing if you're there for a week. The waitstaff was nice, but that didn't make up for the overcooked scrambled eggs, dry potatoes, and crumbly pancakes. And with the service charge and included gratuity, it came to $17.50 for something I wouldn't have paid more than $5 for anywhere else.

The hotel bar & grille was a bright spot; the bartender was very friendly and helpful and the food was quite good.

The wireless internet was unreliable and even unavailable in some areas of the hotel. One evening the TV cable was down entirely.

The "Fitness Center" was a joke. Three treadmills, all of which seemed in disrepair (I watched a person try all three and then give up and leave) and one sad elliptical machine with a very short and squeaky stride. Oh, and it was 80 degrees, humid, and smelled of chlorine because it was right next to the pool and there was no ventilation. There was no way to clean the equipment after use (no spray or even hand sanitizer) and the water cooler wasn't even plugged in, so the water was warm. Ew.

I was there during a snowstorm, and their attempt at plowing the parking lot was laughable.

The hotel is in a good location for stores and restaurants, but there are many others in the same quarter mile area. I'll be trying a different one next time I go to Frederick.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RazorSharpClaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredInn1, Sales Coordinator at Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2011

On behalf of the staff and management of the Holiday Inn Frederick we would like to apologize for not living up to your expectations. Our guest's satisfaction is important to us and we wish to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

I booked this hotel through “HOTWIRE HOT RATE” at $333.21 for 3 nights. It was advertised as“restaurant on premises” and “3 star” accommodation. On Nov 14th I arrived at an empty (250 rooms w/maybe 10% occupancy) 1970-80’s era facility that sprawls at least an acre under one roof (old convention center with conference rooms, indoor pool, kids play areas, and lots of large common spaces with tables – all TOTALLY EMPTY ). I planned to have dinner at the restaurant but was told it was closed .The assigned room was on a peripheral hallway (accessed via long empty corridors and metal doors) that looked on a hall with about 40 doors to rooms. It was isolated, the carpet and halls worn, and there was a strong dog odor. The room was dingy and adjacent to a very large, empty, and poorly lit parking lot. Not a 3 star hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredInn1, Sales Coordinator at Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2011

On behalf of the staff and management of the Holiday Inn Frederick we would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. Our guest's satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention. We hope that you will stay with us in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Very nice place to stay, service was very good. .Shopping and restaurants close by

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

I was in the Frederick to visit Civil War Battlefields. This was an excellent hotel to stay in the Frederick area. It was close to major roads to reach these battlefields and also close to downtown. Although located in the mall area of Frederick it was very quiet. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmm120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredInn1, Manager at Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2010

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel online! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our location and found it convenient to the many historic areas of Frederick as well as the Francis Scott Key Mall. Thanks for choosing us; we hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Pamela Stoeffler
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

This is an older Holiday Inn with the old Holidome atrium. It looks like it has been updates, and was very well kept and clean. Staff was friendly, and the restaurant was good. My first thought when I saw the indoor pool area with games and a putt-putt course was that it would be a good place to bring kids. When I turned on the TV, however, the first thing I heard was "would you like to add a little spice to your stay? Then go ahead and spice it up." I know it is supposed to be normal these days to mix a pornography distribution effort with family vacationing spots, but I just can't get used to it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadsthoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews