We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveler rating
88
93
76
44
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
93
76
44
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast buffet french toast fitness center a king size bed the francis scott key mall nice size flat screen tv housekeeping staff plenty of parking convention microwave maryland highway
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 339 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Room was clean but wife said it smelled. I didn't notice. Very dated. Needs a remodeling.
Bathroom clean and functional. Bed was very, very hard. Internet was not secure and very weak.
Had coupons for free breakfast. Still not worth it. Terrible. Never made it to lounge but it looked nice. Would give this hotel a 2 1/2 rating if I could.

Room Tip: Asked for a quiet room when making res. They gave us room 144 which was all the way at the far end of hallway from courtyard. Very quiet and not a lot of traffic. Parking right out side door.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Johnny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear 1Johnny1,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at my property. I am sorry that we did not give you a better experience, however, I am pleased that you indicated my staff service was 5 star! If you have a moment, I would certainly love the opportunity to speak to you in person to apologize and get additional details. I hope you would consider giving us another chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed her for two nights. The place is huge. Our room was a solid 5+ minute walk from the front desk. Good thing about being at the back of the hotel, plenty of parking by our entrance which was nice. Staff was nice. Didn't really explore the hotel since we were visiting family and attending a wedding.

We really liked the location. The mall is within walking distance and there are plenty of chain and local places to eat all in a two mile radius.

Downtown Frederick was maybe a 10 minute drive if that.

Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedukea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for your compliement of my hotel and staff. We do have a rather large footprint for a hotel and it can be a little hike at times, but I'm glad that you enjoyed the quiet location and its closer proximity to the mall. We look forward to seeing you again, and perhaps, get you a little closer to the front of the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

So, we got a good deal on a night here. Won't be going back. While it was clean enough, the whole area around our non-smoking room, on what appeared to be a non-smoking area of the floor smelled like smoke. The rooms appear to have shared hvac, so who knows where the air was coming from. We were over the indoor pool, with a walkway on the other side of the room with a window opening up to it, so we couldn't open window for air. The linens seemed new enough, but the sheets were pilled and scratchy. Front desk was friendly on check in. Oh and the carpet looked filthy, didn't much want to walk around barefoot. So, for our next trip to Frederick, we will stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel for a better room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HighMooring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your response and feedback about your recent stay with us! We are certainly sorry to hear that not everything was as you would have liked. The quality of the sheets and the freshness of the carpeting will certainly be looked into as we take all of our guests' comments to help us improve as much as possible. If you are able to reach out to us at the hotel to let us know what room you stayed in; that will help us a lot in figuring out the smoke smell issue as well. If you are ever back in the area, we hope that you will consider to stay with us again and if you do, please feel free to request a room that is on the outer portion of the hotel so that natural lighting and air can be enjoyed. Again, thank you so much for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a room here fro a wedding that was held at this hotel. The room on the first floor not near the pool with a king size bed had nice space the bathroom was clean. The bed looked really nice and updated with a white coverlet and nice pillows but the sheets were not nice, they were of poor quality and nubby. The price for a night was reasonable, and the pool area with the little golf course looked like fun especially if you had children with you. The food here is average at best.

Room Tip: I liked the pool area rooms although it may get loud.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your feedback during your recent stay with us! We are glad that you were able to enjoy some of our amenities of the hotel; like the pool and miniature golf area! If you are ever back in the area, we hope that you will stay with us again, even if you are not here to attend a wedding! Hopefully it was a fun and enjoyable time though! Thanks so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Since we are Holiday Inn rewards members, we chose this hotel for the night on the way to our final destination. For $5 more, we had the breakfast buffet for four. We had a first floor room with two queen beds that had direct access to the pool.As I waited for our pizza to get delivered, my husband and the kids swam. There was also a little mini-golf area that was designed for kids 7 and under. Since it was a Saturday night there was a wedding & another party going on, in the area directly across from our room. We got the kids to bed by 9 but we had a hard time sleeping. When the pool closed at 10 that part quieted down. But the band was still jamming and there was a lot of noise in the hallway. In the future, I would not want a room that faced the pool. And I would check if the conference center was booked as it made things very loud. The breakfast buffet was good but they were slow to refill and I would have liked more fruit on it. But for $5 to feed 2 kids & 2 adults a hot breakfast, it was great. If you're looking for a quick stay and want a pool, I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Frederick Holiday Inn this weekend and we appreciate that you gave us your feedback. It's certainly nice to see that you were able to partake in so many of our amenities; the mini-golf area, the indoor pool, and our restaurant for breakfast. Of course, we apologize that noise was an issue during your stay! If you are ever back in the area; please let me know so that we can make sure your room location is away from the pool and Courtyard area as requested! As an IHG Rewards Member, we are glad that you were able to stay with us and hope to see you again soon! Thanks so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews