We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Clean but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice and Clean but noisy”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

A nice and clean hotel with big spacious rooms. We were in a room with two double beds and we had more then enough room with the four people we had in our room. The rooms come equipped with a microwave and fridge as well. The bathrooms were clean but the front desk and maids were a bit stingy on the towels. We were situated by the pool, also known as poolside...which we thought was a benefit. We were wrong. It was an indoor pool and it's great for kids. The complex also had a ping pong table, mini-golf and a hot tub. All within the atrium. The problem was the noise echoes....and you have no choice of sleeping after 8 or 9 in the morning after the pool opens up. The pool itself and hot-tub were well maintained and it was extremely clean.

The hotel is not centered within walking distance of downtown Frederick so you'll have to drive to downtown which was a minus. Also, the hotel has a sports bar in it's center as well. Drinks were fast....but one had to question why so much security in this place. A few rent-a-cops took there jobs too seriously. They were actually an eyesore. I get "bouncers" but these guys were a bit much. Overall for the price it was worth it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roobrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    76
    70
    36
    34
See reviews for
85
55
17
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This hotel has an atrium setup so the rooms are in a square around it and in the atrium is the pool and put put course. SO its very loud because people bring a lot of kids here. The rooms are clean and good size and also have a fridge and microwave which comes in really handy. The rate was cheap but its also a good drive from downtown Frederick so if you're going here to walk around I suggest staying somewhere closer. On the upside it does have a bar onsite with a dance floor and karaoke which is always entertaining.

Room Tip: Not poolside if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennDC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We were here for ACUI conference from 11-3-11 to 11-6-11 and at no time were we informed it was "pet friendly". A large dog has barked all day for the third day causing two other small, yappy ones to bark too....if you can't stay with your pets, don't bring them! Also room opens to pool area and in all wehear are screaming children of all ages and screaming parents trying to keep up with them which is probably why the dogs are barking! We've had headaches because we haven't been able to rest! This is a lot of money for three days without sleep.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cindywv66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We were told by the Manager that we reserved a "block of rooms" for our wedding. Turns out, they never actually blocked off the rooms so wedding guests were scattered throughout the hotel.

Check in took 1 hour...for everyone. The front desk was rude and slightly inept. They tried charging the Bride and Groom upon check in and check out for which they had promised a Free room upon reserving the lot.

We were also told we would have discounted rooms for the guests of wedding staying there. Turns out they still charged people FULL price even after telling them they were with the wedding party.

The only positive was Karaoke night Thursday and Friday night in the lounge to which we had a blast.

I strongly advise looking into other hotels before booking this one.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fender240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I recently stayed with a wedding group that had arranged for a block of rooms at this hotel. The young lady at the front desk had an awful attitude, the overall condition of this old hotel (I am guessing 60's vintage, but redone) is only fair, the cost of the breakfast buffet incredibly does not include coffee or juice, but the waiter did not tell us this when we ordered, and the housekeeping is marginal. Strangely, there is a Holiday Inn Express in the same complex, and directions to the much larger hotel are poor. Many of the arriving guests mistakenly stopped at the more visible Express first. I would not stay here again, and do not recommend this hotel which seems to survive by booking conventions of government contractors and such.

Room Tip: Rooms at another hotel are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAD232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Normally I stay at budget motels but was here for a wedding, and it was very nice. They are pet friendly but there is an extra fee for pets. The front desk staff was exceptionally cordial upon check in, and the hotel also catered a dinner associated with the wedding, and the food was great. My room was very comfortable and there are large grassy areas in which to walk a dog if one is with you. Some relatives stayed in rooms that were poolside and those rooms were not as quiet as mine was (I was away from the pool area), but they liked being near the activities in the Holidome. The pool seemed very clean and well maintained, and there was a fitness room and saunas available also. We all enjoyed our stay here. No complaints. The children enjoyed the mini golf located in the Holidome also. And the shopping mall is right next door but we were occupied with the wedding festivities and didn't visit the mall. Macy's was right across from the hotel. We had breakfast at the buffet one day and it was delicious. Everything was fresh and well made. All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northsouthq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Thank you very much for your remarks!! My staff and I work hard to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay with us and it is wonderful when a guest has a great stay and let's us know. Our hotel is convenient to alot of destinations with the area, and as you noted, is directly across from the mall making it very convenient for shopping and dining. I am glad that family members with children enjoyed the Holidome. We always try to place our gests in rooms that cater to their needs and family's truly enjoy the poolside locations. We look forward to having you stay with us should your travels bring you to the area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plain City, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Easy access from RTS 270/70 and 85. Next to Francis Scott Key mall and less than 10 minutes to Downtown restaurants. It had an active bar and the area it is in has many restaurants. The dining scene in Frederick is vibrant. The area is also about 20 minutes from historic Harper's Ferry. On check in the desk staff was friendly and helpful with accurate directions. The room on Priceline was less than $85 with tax, so it was a good deal. The room was clean as was the pool and spa area. We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 22 in Frederick
815 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
2.1 mi away
Best Western Historic Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Frederick
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#7 of 22 in Frederick
617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#14 of 22 in Frederick
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center

Property: Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center
Address: 5400 Holiday Dr, MD, Frederick, MD 21703-8472 (Formerly Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center)
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center! We are conveniently located at the intersection of I-270 and Route 85 at the Francis Scott Key Mall. Our central location to historic downtown Frederick, Washington DC and Baltimore makes for an easy drive to any local area attraction or businesses.We are just minutes away from local attractions including Fort Detrick, Frederick Fairgrounds, Frederick Keys, Adventure Park, Hood College and more! Are you in town for business? We are located near several companies including State Farm, Allegheny Power, Lockheed Martin, Landmark Aviation, Bechtel, BP Solar and FKI Logistix to just name a few.This Frederick Hotel offers 155 beautifully appointed guest rooms. Our rooms offer the new Simply Smart bedding collection, complimentary high speed wireless internet access and all the conveniences of home. Dine in our 5400 Market Place Restaurant where kids 12 and under eat free*. Our indoor recreation center features a pool, sauna, miniature golf, games, fitness center, business center and more! Planning an event? We have over 13,000 Sq Ft of event space. Our experience staff will help you plan your next meeting, wedding or event. We offer catering and equipment rental.The Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center is the perfect hotel for your business or leisure travels. We are also pet friendly! Make your reservation today! *Only with the purchase of an Adult Meal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel Frederick
Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel And Conference Center
Frederick Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing