We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value but still a few growing pains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Frederick
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Huntingown, MD
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value but still a few growing pains”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Check in was delayed due to the hotel being closed because of a fire scare - I understand this is out of their control but still frustrating to be delayed by over an hour. Once checked in I had to wait for clean towels to be delivered.
Room was clean but not soundproof - heard other guests arriving all night long. Refrigerator thermostat not working properly.
Location is close to mall and historic downtown area as well as fairgrounds (my destination). Had to leave early so missed breakfast. Very difficult to find as street numbers make no sense what so ever. I literally drove around 20 minutes trying to find it by street number.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minimee64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    112
    47
    23
    10
See reviews for
133
58
34
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were on our way home from a vacation and all motel's in the area were filled. It was suggested that we go to Country Inn. I hesitated because it was rated a 2 but it was late and we had no other place to go with a small child and we needed 2 rooms. We were so surprised with the friendly greeting we received, the cleanliness of the lobby and the rooms. Everything was done to make our stay as comfortable as possible including bringing in a crib for the baby. There were so many choices for breakfast, something for everyone. I would highly recommend staying at this location. You will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ball Ground, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Hotels in the Frederick, Maryland area are consistently average or better. This property was well below average. The staff appeared to be very lacking in training. They were not familiar with the area, did not respond to phone requests for wake-up calls, and one had to ring a bell to get a clerk to come to the front desk. Although the hotel advertises free breakfast, one would be hard-pressed to consume it. The fruit (previously frozen) was still frozen in spots, and both hot food trays were empty. When we reported the need for more food, (many guests were waiting), it took quite a while to get the food replaced, and then what was brought was luke warm at best. The room did not contain an actual closet, the room's coffee service was not stocked, the room was incredibly tiny, the hallways were dirty, and there is no elevator in this establishment, a huge inconvenience when carrying a heavy suitcase. Finally, the guest computer is from the dark ages, making it impossible to print boarding passes. When we asked the front desk if they could handle printing boarding passes, the response was, "sorry, we can't do that".

Room Tip: Since there is no elevator, insist on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie82649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torrance
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

OK ... this place is having growing pains. I believe it was previously a Holiday Inn Express, got bought out, and is still being remodeled.
Our first room (245) had a King bed but had very little room to move around. The key didn't work in the back door (it was fine after they reprogrammed it), the phone in the room didn't work (only needed it to call the desk), the wi/fi was very slow (but functional) , and room service couldn't seem to get the towel count right. 3 nights later we moved to a room with twin queens (226). The room was very big and everything was in order.
The lobby computer was useless while I was there. The processor was totally hung up as if infected with a virus. All I wanted to do was print some boarding passes, but couldn't. One morning a Rugby Team staying there completely cleared out the breakfast supplies.
Having said all that, would I stay again? Yes. The rooms were clean, the beds/pillows were very comfortable, the location is convenient, the area was quiet, and (most importantly) the price was right. The "nits" I mentioned could have easily been "one time events".

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Good: I was hesitant booking this hotel from the reviews, but the bed's comfort was a surprise; it was so comfortable in the room, we added a night to our stay; it was ridiculously cheap on PL Express Deals; the hotel was recently remodeled, so it feels like a nicer hotel. The options in Frederick are over-priced, so this is a good option.

Bad: We tried to add a night to our reservation through the front desk - it was $111. The straight price on PL was $90. We bid on it and got it for about $60. I would have rather given my money directly to the hotel, but not for nearly twice the price. Other guests are right, you can really hear the other guests slamming doors. Also, the AC was loud at times.

Ugly: Parking on the first night was absolutely ridiculous. The lot was full due to construction trailers, as well as a tractor trailer parked sideways, taking up many spots. There were a number of cars having to circle the lot waiting for an open space. The front desk's answer? "Park along the perimeter, in the fire line and in the handicapped spots. I've already been told about the tractor trailer that is taking up nine spots." Are you serious? Since it was our only option, we avoided the fire lane and handicapped spots and parked in front of the fire hydrant. By the time we were out of the car, other vehicles claimed the handicapped spot and the fire lane. Thankfully, there wasn't a fire.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vagabond_Yogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

It was a good experience, considering the price. My only complaint was that it was too easy to hear people shutting their room doors. Having said that, I could not hear anyone talking in the rooms next to me and could not hear any outside noise.

The hotel has been remodeled. It is clean and convenient. I did not have the breakfast but I did take a look see and it looked good.

I would stay here again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JukeJointJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed for one night while traveling. Close to expressway, plenty of parking, near lots of restaurants. Great rate, OK breakfast, easy to find at night. Very welcoming of well-behaved dogs. In room WiFi worked fine, but the router had the name of a different hotel. Not a problem, but a bit confusing. "Business Center" computer in lobby great for printing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacht42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#3 of 22 in Frederick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#7 of 22 in Frederick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Frederick

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Frederick
Address: 5579 Spectrum Dr, Frederick, MD 21703-8350 (Formerly The Hotel Frederick)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Frederick
#6 Family Hotel in Frederick
#7 Business Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Frederick 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two story interior corridor hotel featuring rooms with two double beds or one King size bed. Hotel offers free hot breakfast, High speed wireless internet access, free parking, business center. Each room has a coffee maker, iron and ironing board , refrigerator and microwave. 24 Coffee available. Within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frederick Hotel Frederick
Holiday Inn Frederick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing