We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice room for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Historic Frederick
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 21, 2009

My girlfriend and I had a wedding to attend in downtown Frederick and chose to stay here for its location. The room was better than expected. We had a king size bed, and we both agreed that it was the softest and most comfortable bed of any hotel that we ever stayed at. The room was very clean and unlike some reviews, we found our bathroom to actually be larger than most hotels that we stayed at. The location was great, it was only a five minute cab ride from the hotel to the downtown area. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FSUgrad09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 475 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2009

Room was very nice. Front desk lady called room and tried to say our room was not properly reserved, I think she wanted us to leave (found out later a tour bus was coming in). Lucky I had my reservation paperwork! Breakfast was packed full of tour bus people one day with all their luggage, swooping in and eating everything before breakfast time was over, with no one to refresh the meal offered. Front desk people were not friendly. Room was really nice, a good place to rest.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlundypgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We stayed here for a friend's wedding in Frederick. The reviews are true - the bathrooms are on the small side with a shower/tub combo + toilet. The sink is in a separate vanity area outside the main bathroom. The bed and pillows were comfortable, and the room was clean. The fridge is also good sized - not as small as you sometimes see. We ended up in a room with a door to an adjoining room; while the locks looked secure, we could hear everything from conversations to TV programs coming from the other room. If you end up with this, ask to be switched to another room. We had to ask for an extra pillow when we arrived (our King bed only had three) - I called the front desk and was on hold for 5-8 min before I gave up and walked down to talk to the person manning the front desk, and the day of our friend's wedding the room still had not been cleaned as of 2pm even though we stayed the previous night. To be fair we were able to get clean towels when we called the front desk, and a maid came within 10 min to get the room squared away so we could get ready. All of this can be reasonably explained since the hotel was at capacity the weekend we stayed, and the staff was clearly overextended. That being said, we were less than pleased with the 4am fire alarm the first night we stayed that was caused by a staff member at the hotel. I checked at the front desk before leaving the building and the night staff member explained that it was because of the waffle iron... I can't think of a reason why the waffle iron would be in use at 4am except for personal use by the hotel staff. When my friends called down to the front desk to see about the alarm, the same staff member answered "Krispy Kreme" - needless to say this one person is not representative of the entire staff. Overall, we were pleased with the room, breakfast was pretty good, and the rooms are not too expensive. We would consider staying here again if in Frederick. PS. If you do stay here, keep an eye out for the hotel sign - it's rather small.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcEagle03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

I stayed for 4 nights at this hotel in early May, 2009. My room was clean, had no odor, a large king bed, cable TV, and plenty of room to sit and read or write. There was a complimentary continental breakfast which was simple but satisfactory. The location off the interstate was convenient and not particularly noisy. The price, and the service, were both great.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomboston58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

I stayed for a week and the service is really good and the people are very polite. The room are confortable and even mine has a refrigerator and a microwave. The only thing was the bathroom is way too small. I big person can't get into the bathroom. I think the distribution of the space is wrong.
The breakfast is good and the value of the room is reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mchamorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

As others have noted, the bathrooms are very small. That being said, this hotel is an excellent value for the money. The location is convenient to the downtown area where there are a lot of nice restaurants and shops. We found the hotel clean, the staff helpful and our room was quiet. The hotel provides breakfast (what you'd expect - waffle maker, bread, bagels, cereal). We booked through Expedia and got a rate of $79 per night which is very reasonable for the area. For the price, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

Staff was very nice. Front desk very polite both at check in and check out. Great breakfast hostess - wanted to make sure that I know about the hot waffles!

Rooms were clean, tv worked great. The noisy idiots in the next room were read the riot act by someone in authority and the baloney ended very quickly.

The bathroom was the smallest thing I have ever seen except in a WWII submarine! If you weighed over 250 lbs you'd get stuck sitting on the loo! It was almost laughable.

Good overall stay - wush the price had been a bit cheaper but anything within 70 miles of Washington DC is expensive these days.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank No_More_Days_Inns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 22 in Frederick
898 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#6 of 22 in Frederick
695 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Red Horse  Frederick
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Frederick
Comfort Inn Frederick
#12 of 22 in Frederick
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Historic Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Historic Frederick

Address: 420 Prospect Blvd, Frederick, MD 21701-6400 (Formerly Quality Inn Historic Frederick)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Frederick
#5 Business Hotel in Frederick
Price Range: $69 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Historic Frederick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming Frederick, MD hotel is conveniently located off of 4 major highways and is just minutes from the downtown Frederick area. With room types for all your traveling needs including amenities such as, Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Complimentary High Speed Internet access and Complimentary Parking make a stay at our hotel both convenient and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Otel, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Historic Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Frederick Hotel Frederick
Best Western Frederick
Frederick Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing