We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Value for the Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
GreenLeadersBronze level
Durham, NC
1 review
“Good Value for the Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

As others have noted, the bathrooms are very small. That being said, this hotel is an excellent value for the money. The location is convenient to the downtown area where there are a lot of nice restaurants and shops. We found the hotel clean, the staff helpful and our room was quiet. The hotel provides breakfast (what you'd expect - waffle maker, bread, bagels, cereal). We booked through Expedia and got a rate of $79 per night which is very reasonable for the area. For the price, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    137
    62
    45
    22
See reviews for
122
122
25
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Staff was very nice. Front desk very polite both at check in and check out. Great breakfast hostess - wanted to make sure that I know about the hot waffles!

Rooms were clean, tv worked great. The noisy idiots in the next room were read the riot act by someone in authority and the baloney ended very quickly.

The bathroom was the smallest thing I have ever seen except in a WWII submarine! If you weighed over 250 lbs you'd get stuck sitting on the loo! It was almost laughable.

Good overall stay - wush the price had been a bit cheaper but anything within 70 miles of Washington DC is expensive these days.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank No_More_Days_Inns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Vermont
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

We were in Frederick for 3 days for a wedding so wanted something convenient and comfortable. This place was both, but nothing exceptional.

If you want a comfortable place at a modest price this might fit your needs. The room had a good sized desk and comfortable desk chair, along with an easy chair. The bathroom was tiny. We appreciated the iron and ironing board in the room.

The front desk staff was indifferent, but we didn't have any problems so that didn't come into play much. Swimming Pool is tiny.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AJVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, OH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

Stayed at the BW Frederick for a week on business. The desk staff was fine and very helpful. Housekeeping did fine as well, but I would say they are very noisy...I was working nights and sleeping during the day.

Room overall was just OK. Bathroom is tiny...I mean really small. Sink counter space is minimal. Bed was comfy and there was a microfridge as well.

Wireless internet service totally sucked. Could not get online and stay on at all. Had to go to the business center to retrieve email. Not good at all. And I was on the 1st floor. They could use a few more 110V outlets.

Breakfast was minimal, waffles, cold cereal and juice.

Not a lot of dining choices in the immediate area, but a grocery store and a few places to eat in the shopping center right next door.

  • Liked — Great staff, good location
  • Disliked — Wireless internet was non-existant
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SamH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parsonsburg, md
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel one night for business. The room itself was spacious. The bathroom was very small, but there was a separate sink/vanity area. The hotel was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was perfect for the short time we were there. The hotel staff that we dealt with were all very friendly especially Cedric at the front desk. It is a no frills hotel, just a clean and comfortable place to sleep, which is all we needed.

  • Liked — price, cleanliness, comfort, friendliness of front desk
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rae_may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville NC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

The hotel was awful when I checked in. When I complained they "checked me out" only didn't tell me, until they re-rented the room and someone tried to get into my room. Then the manager called the police and had me evicted (at 1 a.m.). I hope this new name signifies new management, because the management was absolutely unresponsive to my complaint. At the time it was a Quality Inn. I never got any answer from the hotel itself even though I complained to the Choice Hotels chain.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
Thank ccanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeshore, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick, responded to this review, January 9, 2008
This stay was nearly two years ago when the hotel was a Quality Inn and under a previous owner. It is now under new ownership and new management and has a new flag (Best Western). The hotel has been completely rennovated from top to bottom. This review is no longer applicable to this property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frederick hotels

Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2007

I did not know that there was a Best Western in Frederick, as it was not listed in the BW directory. We were referred there by the desk clerk at the (full) Comfort Inn, and were very pleased with the check in process. The staff were friendly, and the room was neat and clean. Yes, the bathroom was dinky, but who lives in the bathroom? Very good value for the price.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank neonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 21 in Frederick
4.0 of 5 stars 665 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#9 of 21 in Frederick
3.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Frederick
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Red Horse  Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Property: BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
Address: 420 Prospect Blvd, Frederick, MD 21701-6400 (Formerly Quality Inn Historic Frederick)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Frederick
#5 Business Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming Frederick, MD hotel is conveniently located off of 4 major highways and is just minutes from the downtown Frederick area. With room types for all your traveling needs including amenities such as, Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Complimentary High Speed Internet access and Complimentary Parking make a stay at our hotel both convenient and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Frederick Hotel Frederick
Best Western Frederick
Frederick Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing