We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location but needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
GreenLeadersBronze level
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good location but needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel was in a convenient location for my travel needs but the room decor was outdated. They may have been tying to set a world record for the worlds smallest bathroom and the wallpaper was peeling. It wasn't a really restful night's sleep because you could hear doors slamming up and down the hallway. The "secure" entrance was left open all night. The best thing about the hotel was the free breakfast and Wifi was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    138
    62
    45
    22
See reviews for
122
122
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Staff was rude upon check out. Our window was broken (came off), the tv remote was difficult to use, the beds felt old. The towels were very worn and thin. Breakfast had a good selection and it was nice to have a good size fridge in the room for left over food and beverages.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frederick hotels

Salisbury, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The staff is helpful and pleasant and good location. Breakfast was really good and had plenty of food and fresh coffee. Staying there again. We were close to Baltimore, Harper's Ferry, West Va. and Leesburg Va. The hotel has internet in lobby if you don't want to bring your lap top.

Room Tip: Get room close to pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atlanticprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great location. Great staff. Clean and quiet. Breakfast items could be a bit more robust. I did like the waffle maker.Typical breakfast however with muffins, rubbery eggs, and tons of bacon. I would definitely stay again if in the area. Those traveling on motorcycles will enjoy the parking and apparent safety of the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Good hotel, but a little run down. First floor hallway has a distinct smell of stale smoke and strong air fresheners...wasn't pleasant. Room had a mildew-y smell upon check-in as well. Was moved up to the second floor upon discovering that the smoky/air freshener smell didn't seem to exist up there. The staff was very friendly and helpful and answered all of my questions patiently, even showing me an alternate route around the busy 270 corridor towards Washington, as I would be travelling during rush hour the next morning. Pool was sadly closed for the season. Fitness room was nice to have, but very warm! No access to the thermostat to fix this either. Bed was very comfortable! Breakfast was excellent, with lots of choices and it was kept freshly stocked promptly when items ran low. Price point was great and would stay again, but only in a second floor room.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room to avoid smoky hallway and parking lot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerTraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Love the staff the they went out of the way to make sure my stay was enjoyable will refer all my friends this this hotel. wish could have spent more time there felt like home . cant wait to go back hope the same staff are available . keep up the good work . Nice beds and tvs are great

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gera F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Great room. Comfy bed.nice bath towels. Convenient location. Good rates. Very nice staff. Cookies in the afternoon. Very good selection for breakfast both hot and cold. Nicely done bathroom. Clean.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 21 in Frederick
4.0 of 5 stars 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#9 of 21 in Frederick
3.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Frederick
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Red Horse  Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Property: BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
Address: 420 Prospect Blvd, Frederick, MD 21701-6400 (Formerly Quality Inn Historic Frederick)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Frederick
#5 Business Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming Frederick, MD hotel is conveniently located off of 4 major highways and is just minutes from the downtown Frederick area. With room types for all your traveling needs including amenities such as, Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Complimentary High Speed Internet access and Complimentary Parking make a stay at our hotel both convenient and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Frederick Hotel Frederick
Best Western Frederick
Frederick Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing