We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, friendly and helpful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Historic Frederick
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great staff, friendly and helpful!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Good hotel, but a little run down. First floor hallway has a distinct smell of stale smoke and strong air fresheners...wasn't pleasant. Room had a mildew-y smell upon check-in as well. Was moved up to the second floor upon discovering that the smoky/air freshener smell didn't seem to exist up there. The staff was very friendly and helpful and answered all of my questions patiently, even showing me an alternate route around the busy 270 corridor towards Washington, as I would be travelling during rush hour the next morning. Pool was sadly closed for the season. Fitness room was nice to have, but very warm! No access to the thermostat to fix this either. Bed was very comfortable! Breakfast was excellent, with lots of choices and it was kept freshly stocked promptly when items ran low. Price point was great and would stay again, but only in a second floor room.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room to avoid smoky hallway and parking lot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerTraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    156
    77
    55
    33
See reviews for
143
143
32
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Love the staff the they went out of the way to make sure my stay was enjoyable will refer all my friends this this hotel. wish could have spent more time there felt like home . cant wait to go back hope the same staff are available . keep up the good work . Nice beds and tvs are great

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gera F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Great room. Comfy bed.nice bath towels. Convenient location. Good rates. Very nice staff. Cookies in the afternoon. Very good selection for breakfast both hot and cold. Nicely done bathroom. Clean.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I reserved a block of rooms at this hotel for my wedding and I was a little disappointed with the smell of the hotel and the noise of other travelers early in the morning. The bottom floor smells like cigarette smoke and the 'clean towels' in our room were not clean at all. The bathroom was really small but in general the room was not too bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, GA
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Front desk check in was friendly and helpful, but the hotel is old and run down. The first room's window was open when we arrived and it would not close. We were pleasantly moved next door and it too, had a window that was slightly open. I did the best I could with it and said forget it, I didn't want to move again. The reason this was a problem, was that my mother and I were on the first floor directly adjacent to the parking lot on a warm night. I didn't want the hot air, the noise, or a potential break in, but we made do.
The hallways had a funny smell and the outside key card entry door worked about 30% of the time. The interior was worn and felt dirty. The fabric chair was stained as was the bed covering. I found a couple hairs in the bed as well. The worst part was the size of the bathroom. It was truly the smallest space I have ever tried to use for a shower and dry off. The problem was that all Frederick hotels seemed to be way over priced. This place was slightly over $100 in late May and the next closest in price was near $150. My advice would be to try a different town. I like the Best Western chain in the western US, but many of the eastern locations seem old and run down.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

It is a nice hotel, with a better than average free breakfast too. The King bed I had was comfortable, and the room was spacious. The bathroom is TINY, but you don't actually stay in the bathroom. There is no elevator if you are on the second floor, so count those steps as exercise.

The weird thing at check-in was they could not find my reservation. The reason they couldn't find it was the manager had already checked someone in under my name/reservation earlier. It concerns me that they did that since you question if they check ID, or if you will get re-billed, etc. But everything turned out just fine! It just took a few minutes to straighten out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel was very clean, employees friendly, amenities were nice, room was clean and in order. The bed was very comfortable. They serve a very nice breakfast variety. I would definitely stay their again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cecil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 22 in Frederick
835 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#6 of 22 in Frederick
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Frederick
WoodSpring Suites Frederick
#15 of 22 in Frederick
21 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Red Horse  Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Historic Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Historic Frederick

Property: Best Western Historic Frederick
Address: 420 Prospect Boulevard, Frederick, MD 21701-6400 (Formerly Quality Inn Historic Frederick)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Frederick
#5 Business Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Historic Frederick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming Frederick, MD hotel is conveniently located off of 4 major highways and is just minutes from the downtown Frederick area. With room types for all your traveling needs including amenities such as, Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Complimentary High Speed Internet access and Complimentary Parking make a stay at our hotel both convenient and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Historic Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Frederick Hotel Frederick
Best Western Frederick
Frederick Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing