We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot breakfast and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hot breakfast and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you, like me, search for the cheapest hotel with the best breakfast, this is a good bet. The place is not fancy, but it's clean and the staff is friendly. Breakfast consisted of eggs, bacon, biscuits, waffles, cereal, danish, and fruit. And the girl in charge of breakfast did a great job keeping it all fresh and stocked. The wireless is free. You're not far from the downtown area with several good shops and restaurants. It would be a good 1-2 mile walk to get to downtown, but there are several parking garages downtown. Overall, I'm quite happy with my decision.

Room Tip: I was in a downstairs King-size room. Bathroom was tiny, but the main room was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckym36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    130
    60
    44
    20
See reviews for
118
117
24
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitby
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

First let me say that we love Best Westerns and stay at them on every vacation. That said, this hotel was a bit of a disappointment. When we arrived there was no one on the desk for 10 minutes. She was alone in the hotel and had to leave to assist in the laundry. She came back to me waiting and the phone ringing. She put the phone on hold to check me in. She was gracious and apologized for the delay.

The pool is outside the front door and is accessed to the left of the front door. Breakfast is the standard Best Western fare. The rooms are large, but we had a king room - 2 beds would have definitely changed the size of the room. The room was clean, but damp. The carpet felt damp when we walked on it. The AC kept the room cool and was not too loud.

The bathroom was clean, but very small. They have renovated and added a shell to the bath area. The shower curtain is on one of those curved rods, which makes the bathroom even smaller. The sink is outside the bathroom and across the entry hall.

The room had a fridge and microwave - very handy. Internet access is free and needs no password. All-in-all a good, but slightly disappointing, stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy-Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O, Fl.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Planned this visit for quite some time. During numerous phone calls the staff answered
all my questions thoroughly, offered travel times, distances and suggestions.
All in all a really good stay at a great rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

It was a disappointment to find this hotel in an industrial area. Up all night long while a group of semi-pro baseball players partied and ran up and down the halls. Hotel staff did nothing to stop it.
No elevators, small bathrooms with poor amenities and the breakfast room fills up fast so get there early.
In fairness, the front desk did refund partially our room charges but even with the refund, this hotel is overpriced and has very little value.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NzlanderOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frederick hotels

Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were a little worried about booking this hotel since it didn't have very good reviews; but this place is fine. It's not a resort or anything, but the breakfast was adequate and it is pretty quiet considering it is right off the highway. Overall for the price we paid, I would say we got a great deal. Oh but... The bathrooms are tiny.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, MO.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed for one night in April, 2013. Hotel is in commercial setting near highway. Desk staff not helpful. We learned there was no elevator only after asking several times and being assigned a second floor room. We were then offered a first floor room but was told it was in noisy location. About the room: The bath room was tiny. Window opened but had to be prompted open or it would fall shut. Overall, a standard motel room; not worth the price we paid (about $90).

Room Tip: No elevator; request a room on first floor if you have heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfsinmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benezett, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Booked a King size bed and large room through hotels.com. Not avail when I arrived, but it was late so I took a room with two double beds. Talked to another guest that had also booked a king and was told: "Sorry" Place is run down. No decent restaurants close. Bathroom is claustrophobic.

Room Tip: Call to confirm that they really have the room you booked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 21 in Frederick
4.0 of 5 stars 615 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#7 of 21 in Frederick
3.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Red Horse  Frederick
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Property: BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
Address: 420 Prospect Boulevard, Frederick, MD 21701-6400 (Formerly Quality Inn Historic Frederick)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Frederick
#5 Business Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming Frederick, MD hotel is conveniently located off of 4 major highways and is just minutes from the downtown Frederick area. With room types for all your traveling needs including amenities such as, Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Complimentary High Speed Internet access and Complimentary Parking make a stay at our hotel both convenient and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity and Best Western + Iniative so you can book your BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Frederick Hotel Frederick
Best Western Frederick
Frederick Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing