We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice, close to downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
GreenLeadersBronze level
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice, close to downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was more than enough and the room was clean as well. My wife and I will definitely be coming back for another get-a-way close to home. Location is good. It is a decent walk, or $10 cab ride to downtown.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 07Hokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    138
    62
    45
    22
See reviews for
122
122
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel is not terrible, but it's not very good. I read a review that said "mattresses were exceptionally comfortable". Nonsense. Mattresses are worn out. Made my back hurt. The noise from the ac unit was loud enough to wake me up when it kicked on. Breakfast is poor - rubbery scrambled eggs and greasy sausage patties. When we came back from town our keys wouldn't work and there was nobody manning the front desk. Housekeeper said he had gone to the store. One of the housekeeping staff had to let us in to our room. When I went back to the desk a couple hours later there was a customer waiting to be served but again no clerk. A few minutes later a car pulled up - the desk clerk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GHS154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frederick hotels

Austin, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I enjoyed a recent 6 day stay at this warm, friendly hotel in Frederick, Md where I was visiting for both business and pleasure. I originally was only going to stay for two nights then move on, but the mattresses were so exceptionally comfortable and the linens so fresh and clean, that I spent my entire stay there. This is an older, remodeled hotel which is very clean. There was a daily hot breakfast that was wonderful in a room with plenty of tables and chairs to sit comfortably. Also the lobby had a couch, and TV where you could sit. Also there was a business area with free internet access with printer which was definitely for my business needs. The location is at an intersection of two freeways, a little hard to notice at first because the sign is small, but once I learned to navigate around, it was great. There was an excellent Chinese restaurant close by and also a small Thia/Vietnam restaurant where I had excellent service. I would like to particularly like to compliment workers Gracey and Joy for their special assistance. But actually all staff were very polite and helpful. There is also a workout room which I used. My only complaint was the heating unit was very noisey as it turned off and on.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the highway which had wonderful sunshine in the morning hours. I did not notice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaos1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Location is easy to get to. Breakfast is very nice for the price of the stay. Rooms clean and comfortable. Very good value for the dollar. Good food and shopping nearby. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I had a nice experience at this hotel. The lady at the desk when I arrived was extremely nice and helpful and left a great first impression of the hotel. The room itself was nice with a fridge and microwave. The only thing I could say is the ceilings could use a paint job. The breakfast was your average hot hotel breakfast. It did have the waffle maker which is always a nice addition.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NittanyLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here 12/29/12. Found it to be a decent stopping point off I-70. Con: Bathroom was phone booth like with sink in room hall. Pro: The room was clean, the bed and pillows good. Staff was attentive . Con: The hotel auxiliary entrances and doors could use a fresh coat of paint inside and a pressure wash outside. The 1st floor hall space did not smell clean. Either smoking was being tolerated on the 1st floor or seeping from the upper floor. It smelled stale. It was not noticeable in our room nor was any noise from the highway as others have noted. A "B-" stay. Major brand store and restaurants are about 5 miles/minutes away one exit west on I-70

Room Tip: Request a limited mobility room for extra bathroom space if you plan on staying more than two days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HYKYRJOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 21 in Frederick
4.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#9 of 21 in Frederick
3.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Frederick
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Red Horse  Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Property: BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
Address: 420 Prospect Blvd, Frederick, MD 21701-6400 (Formerly Quality Inn Historic Frederick)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Frederick
#5 Business Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming Frederick, MD hotel is conveniently located off of 4 major highways and is just minutes from the downtown Frederick area. With room types for all your traveling needs including amenities such as, Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Complimentary High Speed Internet access and Complimentary Parking make a stay at our hotel both convenient and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Frederick Hotel Frederick
Best Western Frederick
Frederick Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing