We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for a short stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
GreenLeadersBronze level
Voorhees
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good for a short stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here 12/29/12. Found it to be a decent stopping point off I-70. Con: Bathroom was phone booth like with sink in room hall. Pro: The room was clean, the bed and pillows good. Staff was attentive . Con: The hotel auxiliary entrances and doors could use a fresh coat of paint inside and a pressure wash outside. The 1st floor hall space did not smell clean. Either smoking was being tolerated on the 1st floor or seeping from the upper floor. It smelled stale. It was not noticeable in our room nor was any noise from the highway as others have noted. A "B-" stay. Major brand store and restaurants are about 5 miles/minutes away one exit west on I-70

Room Tip: Request a limited mobility room for extra bathroom space if you plan on staying more than two days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HYKYRJOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    131
    60
    44
    20
See reviews for
118
117
24
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed one night in a standard room, November 18, 2012. Breakfast at least had bacon and scrambled eggs.

Refridgerator was noisey to the point that I put my perishables back in the car and turned the fridge off. The room heater was very noisey and turned on and off all night. The door to the room chafed against the door-frame and didn't close properly without pulling or pushing it shut. The bathroom sink was not in the bathroom but in the bed area of the room itself.

Stayed at competing chain in Gettysburg the next nite:
- King bed with pull-out sofa
- Flat screen (and larger) TV
- Pool
- new building
- more than $15 lower rate

My brand loyalty to BW took a big hit due to Frederick.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frederick hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in mid October. The breakfast was adequate and our room was clean and comfortable but we found the bathroom to be very small. The location of the hotel was perfect for us since we were in that area to tour some of the battlefields. It is an OK hotel, nothing more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryd987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainwell, MI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed for three nights. The room was clean and the breakfast was fine. Security was compromised by a faulty lock on the door from the parking lot. Although the problem was reported the day we arrived, the lock remained unfixed at the time of our departure. As a place to sleep, It was adequate, but nothing exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 21 in Frederick
4.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#7 of 21 in Frederick
3.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Red Horse  Frederick
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Property: BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
Address: 420 Prospect Blvd, Frederick, MD 21701-6400 (Formerly Quality Inn Historic Frederick)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Frederick
#5 Business Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming Frederick, MD hotel is conveniently located off of 4 major highways and is just minutes from the downtown Frederick area. With room types for all your traveling needs including amenities such as, Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Complimentary High Speed Internet access and Complimentary Parking make a stay at our hotel both convenient and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Best Western + Iniative, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Frederick Hotel Frederick
Best Western Frederick
Frederick Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing