We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Historic Frederick
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed for three nights. The room was clean and the breakfast was fine. Security was compromised by a faulty lock on the door from the parking lot. Although the problem was reported the day we arrived, the lock remained unfixed at the time of our departure. As a place to sleep, It was adequate, but nothing exceptional.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Historic Frederick
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 461 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Room was average, had been remodeled but cheaply. Clerk at check-in was not friendly. Acted like we were an interuption. Had to walk around 2 buildings to get ice. Pillows were the worst. When I made a comment at the desk I was told they had jsut been replaced, Was ok for a stop but don' expect too much service

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

There was nothing too horrible, but as a well seasoned business traveler, I was not impressed. My issues were: 1) the curtain track did not allow the curtain to cover the entire window allowing light in through the entire night. 2) Noise Level. Thin walls to say the least. I heard every conversation that occurred in the hall all night. I also heard every door slam shut as well. Not a good nights sleep for 3 nights! 3) Outlets and lamps were 50/50 for working. 4) The television tent providing the channels was severely out of date. 5) The first morning I went to partake of the breakfast I was appalled to see the cleaning staff set a bottle of cleaner down on the food table with the nozzle over the food. I don't think it dripped, but it could have. I found a coffee shop for the remainder of my stay. 6) The restroom is so small that to close the door you had to stand in the bathtub.
Lastly- the staff that I came in contact with was polite, helpful, and always had a smile. They were the best part of this stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I just called to try to make a reservation and was put on hold, no response, finally hung up the phone. If this is any indication of customer service and the rest of the hotel experience, I'm glad that I have chosen to pass and go on to another hotel.

Room Tip: never was able to experience the hotel due to the poor customer service on the phone
Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank pronsard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I made a reservation two months prior to my sons wedding. After preparing the venue, and needing somewhere to get ready for the wedding, we are told they have no room for us and they are "fully booked". Needless to say, we where "unhappy". To top it off the person at the desk was very unappologetic, and rude. He did find us a room at the last minute, which ended up being awful. Small bathroom that you can hardly undress in. I would never stay here again or recomment to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

As we walked in, we saw a large spider crawling across the lobby floor. Another guest checking in in front of us said "that's not a good sign.". He was right. The bathroom was smaller than those on cruise ships, and ours boasted flaking paint. The water tasted like chlorine out of the sink. There was no sink in the bathroom. The breakfast was poor - powdered eggs. We were supposed to stay two nights, but we cancelled the second night within an hour of our arrival. This property is in serious need of renovation.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krychek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here one night unexpectedly. Decent hotel - clean, beds comfortable (though small), shower works well, okay price. The problem I had with it is that no one seemed to be minding the store for breakfast (we went down about 8:00). Most of the tables were dirty, the coffee was nearly gone, the trash was overflowing, and the whole area was generally untidy. I never saw anyone around doing anything. Also, very limited in their selection of healthier foods (they did have fresh fruit) but this is a complaint I have about nearly all American hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snooray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 22 in Frederick
868 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#6 of 22 in Frederick
663 reviews
0.5 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Frederick
WoodSpring Suites Frederick
#15 of 22 in Frederick
21 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Red Horse  Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Historic Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Historic Frederick

Address: 420 Prospect Boulevard, Frederick, MD 21701-6400 (Formerly Quality Inn Historic Frederick)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Frederick
#5 Business Hotel in Frederick
Price Range: $71 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Historic Frederick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming Frederick, MD hotel is conveniently located off of 4 major highways and is just minutes from the downtown Frederick area. With room types for all your traveling needs including amenities such as, Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Complimentary High Speed Internet access and Complimentary Parking make a stay at our hotel both convenient and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Historic Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Frederick Hotel Frederick
Best Western Frederick
Frederick Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing