We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Haven in a storm.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Prospect Boulevard, Frederick, MD 21701-6400 (Formerly Quality Inn Historic Frederick)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET A $50 GIFT CARD
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Haven in a storm.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We had just come out of the VOLT restaurant and it was snowing. With over an hour drive home it was great to know we had a place to stay just over a mile away. This was our first stay at the Best Western Historic Fredrick. The room we had was large and quiet. All the amenitys we needed to make our stay just like home. Breakfast in the morning and check out at 12:00. A little shopping and we were on our way. Can't wait to go back for another stay. The hotel is located close to great shopping and dining.The hotel staff made us feel at home. We ended up driving home on a beautiful day.

Room Tip: Suits are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwfrederick, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your dinner at VOLT, it's a very popular restaurant here in Frederick. We certainly appreciate you staying here and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    129
    60
    44
    20
See reviews for
117
116
24
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed one night for a dinner in Historic Frederick. Location is convenient, right off highway and close to Historic district. Room was clean. Bathroom is VERY small, but ok for one night. Could have used another pillow (only 3 on a king...). Check in staff was very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is about what you would expect for the price, but again, got the job done for a one night stay. Would recommend to others.

Room Tip: We booked standard king on internet rate (very cheap). When we got there, were upgraded for free bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank januaryalane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwfrederick, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We pride ourselves making sure all our rooms are clean and comfortable. I realize the bathroom is small and apologize for this inconvenience. In about a month we are implementing a new bedding package for all our suites and are definitely adding more pillows. If you are ever in the area again we would love for you to stay in one of those rooms and meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

My hockey team stayed at the Best Western Historic Frederick (Maryland) this past weekend. I am pleased to say that the staff was EXCELLENT. From the moment we checked in they had every detail handled for us. They were all professional and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay great.

Although only a one night stay, they treated us like guests that are frequent customers.

The hotel was clean and fresh and the rooms were spotless.

My hats off to DOS Paige Marchette and the entire staff.

My team will return.

BRAVO!

Pete Preteroti
Buffalo Stars Junior Hockey

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwfrederick, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Mr. Preteroti,

Thank you so much for your feedback, I'm glad your team had a wonderful experience. I’m very fortunate to have my staff including Paige on my team. Without them things would certainly not run smoothly. We look forward to you returning next year and if there is anything I can assist you with please call me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
221 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Room was clean and comfortable but the bathroom was SMALL. Sink is inconveniently located in the entrance way to the room. We got this room on Best Western rewards point otherwise we would have been unhappy paying over $100 for it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyTTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Clean and quiet rooms; friendly staff; budget-friendly; good, sensible breakfast; good choice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swampfox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Historic Frederick this weekend for a little getaway after dinner at Volt. The problem with Frederick is there are no lodging options within walking distance of Market Street other than the two B&Bs downtown. We chose the Best Western because I thought we might be able to walk to dinner, but it's nearly 2 miles away so that wasn't possible. We were able to take a cab with no problem, but I would stay somewhere nicer next time now that I know we'll be taking a cab.

The room was alright but the walls were so thin I could hear our neighbor's entire conversation when he woke up at 8 am (we were hoping to sleep in). The room was too hot, even though our unit was off, the walls were thin, and the bathroom was tiny. It did the job of a place to sleep before and after dinner, but wasn't the date experience I was hoping for.

Overall it was a pretty standard Best Western, not too good not too bad, but I wish we had stayed somewhere more quaint and quiet.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room away from the highway but it was still too noisy. Ask for one with thicker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WrldTrvlr24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwfrederick, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your feedback and would like to extend a apology for your stay here. We are the closes hotel to downtown just not walking distance. We do have rooms that are quieter and if you ever find yourself coming back to Frederick please allow me another opportunity to meet your expectations. Please call directly to the hotel and ask for me.

Thank You again and look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The rooms are tiny. The bathroom is so tiny that it barely has space for the toilet and shower. The sink is outside the main bathroom area. Overall the hotel could use updating. The bed in our room was very soft, I am used to the reasonably new bedding in Marriott and Hilton affiliated hotels since most of them were redone a few years ago.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frederick hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 21 in Frederick
4.0 of 5 stars 611 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#7 of 21 in Frederick
3.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Red Horse  Frederick
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Property: BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
Address: 420 Prospect Boulevard, Frederick, MD 21701-6400 (Formerly Quality Inn Historic Frederick)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Frederick
#5 Business Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming Frederick, MD hotel is conveniently located off of 4 major highways and is just minutes from the downtown Frederick area. With room types for all your traveling needs including amenities such as, Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Complimentary High Speed Internet access and Complimentary Parking make a stay at our hotel both convenient and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Best Western + Iniative, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Frederick Hotel Frederick
Best Western Frederick
Frederick Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing