We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but Sweet Stay at Stone Manor”
Review of Inn At Stone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn At Stone Manor
Ranked #3 of 6 Frederick B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Great spot about 15min outside Frederick; idyllic location and beautiful house - very well kept, very clean. Innkeepers Vern and Astra are very welcoming and even guided us to some nearby trails for a hike. Overall great experience, we hope to return before too long.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 63 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2011

We honeymooned for two nights in the Laurel two-room suite at Stone Manor and were very impressed. The rooms were clean, comfortable and filled with period pieces of furniture; an around-the-clock coffee/tea bar was available outside the room; the breakfast was well-made and gourmet quality; and the grounds were peaceful and filled with interesting things to look at and photograph, from an old wooden bridge and a pond that is home to geese and herons, to grape arbors set up to produce wine grapes and bee hives along the tree line. If you want a peace and quality all around, and are willing to spend more than a motel or hotel costs in order to get more of a manor-style home atmosphere, then this is it.

Room Tip: Some are two-room suites, some single rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaFrench52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I were looking for a romantic getaway for valentines day. He works in Baltimore and I in western MD. We needed a place in the middle. So we search the internet and came across Stone Manor. First, let me say the pictures do not do this place any justice. This wonderful B&B far exceeded our greatest expectations. I arrived early to be greeted by the inn keepers. I've never met nicer. I was given a little tour of the house and then shown to my room. The laurel suite. It was perfect. Decorated perfectly. Big antique bed bath tub for two and a fire place. While I waited for my partner the innkeepers brought me maps and brochures for several local food\activities. We had the most romantic night. Breakfast in the morning was wonderful. I will be returning to stone manor first chance we get. And definately next valentines day will be spent in this wonderful romantic spot.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nursebettyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

One word describes this Bed & Breakfast: Perfect. Nestled in the rustic Frederick County countryside, amid rolling fields and sleepy farmland, this beautiful manor house offers quiet tranquility, comfort and luxury. My wife took me here for a birthday weekend, and we absolutely loved it. We stayed in the Gardenia room, which is the newlywed suite, and loved the fireplace, hot tub and elegant furniture. We saw no reason to venture into town for dinner and just made a picnic by the fireplace with supplies purchased in Frederick. The best part of this B&B are the proprietors: Vern & Astra. They are super sweet and helpful and clearly love what they do (as well as each other). This B&B is a hidden gem!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Logan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

The rooms were very clean, well decorated and spacious. The innkeepers were very pleasant to talk with. My only criticism would be that no one asked about dietary needs for breakfast, and I was not able to consume the main dish. Other than that, our stay here was fantastic. Just a beautiful, well kept up building and very kind innkeepers.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kbs133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We came out to Frederick for a wedding at another location and decided to stay at Stone Manor for the night. Very quiet and serene. The rooms are really nice and the innkeepers are great. Good value.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crh436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Did I have a good time at Stone Manor? You betcha! Would I go back? In a heartbeat. The innkeepers, Vern and Astra are outstanding at their job...so accommodating coming up with great suggestions for what to do and see in the area.
Our room,The Laurel, was part of the original four room home built in 1750. How cool is that? We learned Stone Manor is composed of three separate divisions.The oldest part was built in1750 by a gentleman farmer(translation: owns the land but doesn't work it.) The second addition came in 1850 for a working farmer with a larger family and the last addition in1975-76 for a professional group who built with a country club/ bed and breakfast in mind. It all comes together beautifully--the old and the new --and if you can catch Vern or Astra at a slow time they 'll probably point out the different additions.
The inn is decorated beautifully and conveys a feeling of romance and times gone by.The grounds go on forever and the birds! Real live bluebirds! Coming from New Jersey it was thrilling to sit at an outdoor table with a cool drink and wait to catch a glimpse of those gorgeous little guys. Our breakfasts were scrumptious...blueberries,strawberries,yogurt,granola and a Paula Deen -type casserole..yummy with potatoes,eggs, sausage and cheese and juice and good hot coffee. Another day a breakfast dish of ham,eggs and cheese served with fresh baked muffins plus fresh fruit etc was provided.
I can't wait to see the inn with snow on the ground . I'll rebook The Laurel and enjoy its gas fireplace while curled up with a Jane Austen novel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauicherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederick
13.6 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
864 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Frederick
7.8 mi away
10 Clarke Place
10 Clarke Place
#1 of 6 in Frederick
213 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hollerstown Hill
Hollerstown Hill
#2 of 6 in Frederick
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At Stone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At Stone Manor

Address: 5820 Carroll Boyer Rd, Frederick, MD 21769-6315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Frederick
Price Range: $210 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn At Stone Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 18th-century manor offers elegant lodging in a sophisticated, yet unpretentious atmosphere. Luxurious suites feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, private porches, fine linens, and period antiques. Nestled in the Middletown Valley, the pastoral views of working farmland, preserved parkland, and beautiful mountains create a tranquil backdrop for a spectacular Inn. The expansive grounds of the 100 acre estate encourage wonderful country pursuits. Let nature's beauty restore your senses before you set out to enjoy the many nearby attractions. Relax, Rekindle, Restore, Rejuvenate, and Refresh at The Inn at Stone Manor - So Far Away, Yet So Close To Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Inn At Stone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Manor Hotel Frederick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing