We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
12
3
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
12
3
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 16 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2016 via mobile

We held our daughters wedding and reception here this past weekend. The pictures do not do this venue justice. It is far more beautiful and scenic in person. The staff from Day 1 were professional, timely in responding, patient and caring. They do their best to make sure everything runs smoothly and turns out exactly how you want.
We went to the tasting in January to sample the offerings for the reception. We met with Katie the coordinator assigned to us and the chef. Both were attentive, professional, and want you to have the event you desire. The chef was willing to calculate an upgrade option for Filet Mignon with Bernaise at the carving station. We went with the filet and it was delicious. We received many compliments from our guests about the choice of venue and especially about the food. If you are looking for an event venue, especially a wedding venue, make sure to visit in person.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank rphm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2015

My brother got married here last October. The venue is pretty idyllic...the drive to the mansion was great. The outdoor ceremony location was sweet. You really do not need much with a beautiful background. The cocktails were held downstairs & dinner was upstairs. Dancing was held where cocktails was served. I personally don't like that you have to go up & down those stairs & DJ had to make announcements.
Another disappointing is that they did not have any rooms for overnight stays. The closest hotels are 15-20 minutes away.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Service
Thank dancelovah4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2015

Out in the middle of nowhere, literally, is a little piece of heaven called Morningside Inn. Built on top of a historic barn, in the middle of a huge grassy farm with gentle rolling hills, is the perfect space for a wedding and reception.

Discovered this little piece of paradise when a family member had their wedding and reception here. Location is perfect, facilities and staff were perfect, food was really awesome, service was fast and polite, and everything was simply grand.

I would recommend this venue as a must see for anyone looking for a unique event.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank XPepsiGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I attended a wedding here this past weekend. The venue was a bit out of the way but was absolutely gorgeous once you arrived. The staff was very accommodating, the scenery was gorgeous and it was well organized.

Cocktail hour is downstairs and dinner is served upstairs. The DJ was nice, the food was okay for wedding food (buffet style, chicken/fish/roast beef), the bartender was good and the music was fun and what the bride and groom requested. We took great pictures outside and enjoyed ourselves. It was perfect for a small-medium wedding (not large weddings, that'd be a bit of a pain) and I thought it was great!

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The views of the rolling hills of Frederick County, Maryland are beautiful from the deck on the back of this multi-story building. We attended a wedding and the staff here ran the event with precision. Inclement weather forced the ceremony inside and the change was easily handled by event staff. After the ceremony, while guests enjoyed cocktail hour with a chocolate fountain and cheese display, the wedding party took photos. It was then upstairs to a sit down dinner of salad and main course. Salad was crisp; crab cake was good (a little more filler than I prefer, but more lumpy than many other venues serve), filet cooked medium. The potato and vegetable were unremarkable but adequate. Food could have been hotter. After dinner, it was back downstairs for dancing and cake. The bartenders were efficient and there was almost never a wait for those wanting to replenish a glass. The event staff was totally outstanding and anticipated most needs (boxes of tissues for the ceremony placed under the chairs of the mothers of the couple)...the staff worked quickly, quietly, and unobtrusively during the various set ups/clean ups of the rooms. If there was an elevator here, I did not see it. The bride and groom rooms for before the ceremony were sizable, with bathroom/shower facilities. There were several bathrooms in the building - which was a big plus (not all old buildings have more than one of each). There is ample parking. However, this venue is not visible from the road, except for a sign and a mailbox - so driving out in the dark can be a challenge on the one-lane winding paved private road.

Room tip: no longer a B&B - only an event location
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msp1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews