We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“too much "stuff" packed into this house” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hollerstown Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hollerstown Hill
Ranked #2 of 6 Frederick B&B and Inns
St Paul, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“too much "stuff" packed into this house”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I were overwhelmed with all the "stuff". The unusually large collections of dolls, ceramic Victorian lady-candy dish things, animals, etc etc did not create a nice atmosphere. The mantles, tables, shelves, and all other pieces of furniture were just packed with these things. There is a way to display things, and this did not work. It looked like one of those antique/thrift stores with shelves loaded with stuff. Because the house was very Victorian, the furniture was not comfortable, and there was not a comfortable place to sit in the room. No night stand between the beds (we got the room with 2 twin beds) so no clock or place to leave your eyeglasses, cell phone or watch to know what time it is, water, etc.
The owners talked..and talked...and talked our ears off in the morning. We both enjoy good conversation but it was non-stop and I just wanted a bit more peaceful atmosphere for breakfast. Unfortunately, this was not one of our better B&B experiences.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank janearleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    17
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
62
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hollerstown Hill B&B for a quick romantic getaway on a Friday night. It was just the right place to be after a long week. The hosts, the LeBlancs, were as nice as could be. After checking in with Betty, we walked to dinner at the Tasting Room (also recommended) and around lovely downtown Frederick. Betty's breakfast included a casserole w/ ham and strawberry smoothies--yum! I would have appreciated a vegetarian option, but no biggie. The location is just great, as most other B&Bs in the area are outside Frederick city. We liked being able to walk everywhere during our brief stay. It's true, there are a lot of dolls around--kind of kitschy but charming in its own way.

Room Tip: The website describes each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn41353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I were attending a conference in Baltimore, but we wanted a more personal experience than staying at a downtown hotel. So, we elected to try Hollerstown Hill, and we are glad we did. The room was comfortable, spacious, and beautifully decorated. The hosts were friendly, and the inn is very close to all the fantastic restaurants of Frederick, including Volt, the famous eatery of Top Chef finalist, Bryan Voltaggio. We loved our stay at Hollerstown Hill and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge Area
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for a night on a motorcycle trip thru Maryland. Great location. Once we get off the bikes after a day of riding we like to be able to walk to dining and attractions. The rooms were very spacious and very clean. Everything was within walking distance. The Innkeepers were very knowledgeable of the area and helped us with our dining decisions . They did not dissapoint us. We would definitely stay here again. Cute dogs!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sfore93392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Inn is really nice. The hosts couldn't be more accomodating. The Garden Room in the back has a private deck that overlooks the garden. We had glasses of wine and enjoyed the summer day. You are in a city, there are city noises, but its an oasis. Plan to take a relaxing bath in the claw foot tub (private bath in each room). Breakfast was delicious and we are still talking about the smoothies. I was looking for a shop to buy tea and the hosts recommended two in down town Frederick. We stayed a few years ago and it was just as fun. There is so much to do in downtown Frederick. We had a fabulous, fancy dinner and listened to a great band at a bar down the street. It's a few blocks to the downtown and we did take the car, which worked well. Parking at the BnB is free and right out front.

Room Tip: the back garden room has the private deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcc1Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Lick, In
Level Contributor
199 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This B&B is great....Phil and Betty are great people and very informative on the area. Betty fixes terrific breakfasts and our room was the Cannon Hill room which was very comfortable. I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I were to go again to Frederick. Shopping and restaurants were just a short walk away. If you are a Civil War buff there are several sites close to Frederick and Hollerstown Hill is a great place to stay for such exploring.
thanks Phil and Betty for a great stay. M and W from Indiana

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dino2mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We've had our eye on staying in Frederick for quite a while. Hollerstown is one of the two B&Bs in downtown Frederick and received better reviews than the other option. We found it to be a great value - within walking distance to all the shops and all the amazing food downtown has to offer. Most of our interaction was with Betty and she seemed to be just the right type of person to run a B&B - great sense of how to make an environment feel homey, and she's a good cook. There were dolls and other figurines, but hey, don't we all collect something? It gave the B&B some really unique character and a theme. I snuck a peek at three of the four rooms and really loved the one with the purple bedspread, but thought the one with the balcony would've been nice so we could've enjoyed the amazing weather we had this weekend. The place has a nice wrap-around porch, so we enjoyed our beer outside on the porch after a long day of shopping. The neighborhood itself was beautiful and quiet with easy street parking. Everything was so close, that we didn't need to move the car at all during our weekend stay. We really enjoyed our meals out at Black Hog (bbq), The Tasting Room (new American cuisine), and a Japanese restaurant n by the canal. The museum of Civil War Medicine is a must do and the Candlelight Ghost Tour was a nice way to walk off some of those heavy meals. We didn't do any antiquing, but we heard from others to hit Patrick Street if this is your thing.

If you're okay with getting in your car and exploring the area, you could easily stay at the B&B for days. Gettysburg, D.C. Annapolis, vineyards, etc are all short day trips away. The only thing we didn't do that we're sorry we missed was the Flying Dog Brewery Tour - you really need to schedule this months out, so I've already reserved a tour for us in the fall.

Thanks Betty for taking such good care of us! Your orange smoothies were the best - I'm already missing them.

Room Tip: Queen Anne's is a nice room, but has twin beds Request the room with the balcony if you like to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ready4nextvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Frederick
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 21 in Frederick
4.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
1.5 mi away
Motel 6 Frederick - Fort Detrick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollerstown Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollerstown Hill

Property: Hollerstown Hill
Address: 4 Clarke Pl, Frederick, MD 21701-6528
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victorian Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing