We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice for moderate price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
upstate New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good choice for moderate price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

I stayed in the Hampton Inn Ft Detrick at the end of September this year and found it a nice place to stay. The neighborhood is anything but rough. It's actually an upscale area just outside of Frederick, in a commercial area with a good selection of casual/ethnic restaurants and shopping. The community college as well as Ft Detrick are right up Oppossumtown Pike. I was visiting a couple of friends who live in Frederick and it was very convenient to get around the whole area from this location.

I'm not sure what a previous reviewer calls "not a good value" but for a base price of $109, I think it was fine. After staying in major cities where hotels start at $199 and go much higher on average, and don't include parking or breakfast, this seems like a bargain to me. I've stayed in the real bargain hotels, like Red Roof, and I'll gladly pay a little premium for someplace like this Hampton Inn.

I can understand why someone would be intimidated by pan handlers in the parking lot at night. I hope they reported the incident to the management of the hotel who certainly would have done something about that promptly. I saw no indication of problems when i was there.

  • Liked — new hotel with very convenient location at a good price
  • Disliked — Decor tends to be mundane, typical of Hampton Inns
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BigGuyUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    135
    31
    10
    8
See reviews for
168
118
26
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

This is a fairly new Hampton Inn with large nice rooms. The staff was very, very friendly. I asked for a recommention for someplace that would deliver pizza and they gave me coupons. One of the maintenance people overheard that the desk was out of menus and he got one from his office. They also sold beer in the hotel. The room was clean, quiet and it was an overall excellent stay.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank oleroadwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

This hotel is new but the surrounding neighborhood seemed rough.

We where there with a wedding group and one evening when we returned from a restaurant, we were approached in the parking lot by some people asking for money. There was no security and the whole episode was rather intimidating. After that we were frightened to go outside the hotel after dark.

Oddly enough, despite the name of the hotel, we found out it only has one suite. Still, except for a stain on the carpet, the hotel room we did get was nice and we had no real complaints about the service. The hotel's hot tub was a nice feature.

Their breakfast could have been better. The french toast sticks we had one morning were tough and chewy. The following day they served eggs that looked like something on the space shuttle.

We weren't the only people in our group that thought the hotel was a bit expensive for that area. Not quite the value that we've come to expect from Hampton Inns.

  • Liked — Pool area.
  • Disliked — Rough neighborhood.
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank seeshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

this is a nice quiet clean hotel the staff was very friendly and helpful,the complimentary breakfast was fresh and hot each morning we would definately recommend this hotel to a friend,this is a newer hotel so it was hard to find on-line but definately worth looking for.

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — the pool closes at 10:00pm
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Hallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2007

I stayed at this hotel twice over the last month, each time for 4 days. My overall experience was excellent.

Rooms:
My first room had 2 queen beds and a sitting chair. The 2nd room, with a king bed, sofa bed, and coffee table, felt more spacious, although neither was crowded. There was also a 2nd table next to the fridge/microwave that was great for extra storage or to leave a suitcase on.

Nice things about the room include a large work desk, great lighting (not often seen in hotels), very comfortable beds, a choice of pillows ("soft" or "firm," with a noticable difference), and 2 large mirrors.

The bathroom was also good sized. The sink is in the same room as shower/toilet. My room with the queen beds had a shower/tub, and the king bed room had a shower-sized stall (no tub), so make sure to ask if you want to take a bath!

I have 2 minor complaints with the room: a somewhat limited channel selection on the TV (about 25 channels; hotels like the Hampton usually have more channels) and no newspaper on the weekend.

Common areas:
The first floor of the hotel has the check-in desk, meeting rooms, a pool with separate whirlpool (both very nice), a work-out room (which has 4 aerobic machines only - no weights), 2 computers with internet access and printing (free), and a small pantry. Opposite the front desk is a relaxing sitting area with couches, a fireplace and TV. Next to that is a large dining area that feels more spacious due to the 2-story high ceiling. There is an extensive, free, continental breakfast, supplemented with 1 hot entree. Coffee is available all day.

The common areas were very nicely furnished and created a very welcoming feel to the hotel. The staff were also friendly and helpful; they were easily able to direct me to a local gym.

A big plus is the free in-room wired internet and free wireless throughout the hotel. They can even provide an externel wireless antenna connection if you don't have a wireless card.

Location:
The hotel is right off the highway and a few miles from downtown Frederick. A grocery store is within walking distance (although I'd probably drive since it's across a very busy road). Also a few miles away is a shopping center that includes another grocery store, Wal-Mart, Starbucks, Panera, Cold Stone, a few other restaurants, and a local chain called 5 Guys that had amazing hamburgers.

Overall, for a mid-range hotel, you can't go wrong with this one.

  • Liked — Free wireless internet with free use of an antenna
  • Disliked — Limited TV selection
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank NYCBeachLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

One of the newest design Hamptons. Very slick lobby. Nice rooms, expansive desk. Both wired and wireless high speed internet in the rooms. Dbls have Qn beds, great lighting, Micro/Fridge in the rooms, Marble Vanity. Nice breakfast and everyone friendly. Limited cable selection is the only less than "A" rated aspect. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank 30-StateTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2006

The room at the Hampton Inn was exceptional.

Plenty of parking and lighting in the parking lot. Felt safe.

Lobby is very large and spacious. Two internet terminals for use or you can use your laptop in your room.

Breakfast offers quite a variety, different coffees, and other juices, fresh fruit, biscuits, danishes, sausage and eggs, sometimes waffles.

The hotel offers 5 floors of rooms, and 2 elevators.

The room was super nice, with a microwave, refrigerator and coffee pot. Plenty of lighting in the room and bathroom. Mattress very nice, with 3 pillows for each bed. TV has plenty channels, weather channel, news channels, and regular channels, HBO and pay per view.

The bathroom was very nice, plenty of nice towels, curved shower curtain. Plenty of outlets in bathroom, some on each side of the sink.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank wvshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 21 in Frederick
4.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
4.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Red Horse  Frederick
3.4 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#7 of 21 in Frederick
3.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
Address: 1565 Opossumtown Pike, Frederick, MD 21702-4313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Frederick
#1 Business Hotel in Frederick
#1 Romantic Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an ideal location in Maryland’s second largest city, the Frederick-Fort Detrick offers easy access to Fort Detrick along with all the other attractions of the city. Whether you prefer to take in the historical sites or stroll through the town, browsing antiques, this hotel is conveniently positioned for both business and leisure travel. And during your stay, enjoy a free, hot breakfast each morning, complimentary internet service, free parking, an indoor pool, fitness center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick Hotel Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
Frederick Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing