We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food okay, Staff needs training” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bob Evans

Bob Evans
Ranked #138 of 398 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food okay, Staff needs training”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our server was fairly attentive. Food was good except the hash browns that were ordered extra crispy and came out lightly cooked. We heard our server have to argue with the cook to get them re-done. Most interesting part of the visit was the very large Shield Bug that leisurely crawled across our table. I captured him rather than killed to prevent the foul odor they produce. The server squeamishly removed the bug. As we were near the servers' station, we heard her give it to the manager. No apology from her or the manager. We were asked about our vist by the cashier. When we mentioned our small visitor, she did apologize, but no offer was made to recompense our discomfort. Any gesture would have been appreciated and probably refused graciously. The training, procedures and protocol were disappointing at the Route 40 location.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GSLady777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    26
    21
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Always a good place to go great service and food. Ive been going to the one in Frederick for many years.

Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bob Evans Restaurant - Still a Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I went to the Bob Evans Restaurant by Francis Scott Key Mall while my car was being fixed. I ordered the Meet Lovers Omlett. I wasn't disappointed. The different meat flavoring came out and the side of hash brown potatoes were just right. The coffee was not too strong nor too weak. One thing that really impressed me was the SERVICE!!!!! It was quick, refined, and professional.

If you want a solid, not too expensive breakfast, I recommend Bob Evans with their variety of menu items, homey decor, great food, and top notch service with a reasonable price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fried Mush is Back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Bob Evans Restaurant on Route 40 in Frederick is a great place to enjoy breakfast.

We frequently stop in on Saturday morning while running errands. The service is good. The eggs are usually prepared the way we like them. And....they finally put the fried mush back on the menu (polenta to those of you who don't know what mush is). Yummmmy!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky_Pultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Md
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Reliable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We like Bob Evans for the soups, the breakfasts, the fact that the menu never changes. The food is not bad (except for the Fire Barbeque sauce, it's truly bad) and the service in Westminster is always good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Foxwagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob Evans also viewed

 

Been to Bob Evans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing