We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop in in area.”

Monocacy National Battlefield
Book In Advance
More Info
$240.00*
and up
Private Customized Tour of Washington DC with US Veteran
Ranked #4 of 52 things to do in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This key Civil War battlefield marked the last push north by Confederates in 1864. Although it's seen as a confederate victory, this advance on Washington, D.C. was brought to a hault by the forces led by Major General Lew Wallace, U.S. Army.
pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stop in in area.”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Small civil war battlefield , but important one that should nto be overlooked if in the area. The NPS ranger was friendly and I enjoyed speaking with him and the other staff.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank litt34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    87
    18
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great hidden jem!!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Great place to visit for an hour or two. Cool museum to wander through - but the battlefield is pretty much, just an open field :) The rangers are VERY helpful and knoweldeble and willing to answer any and all questions. Fun afternoon outing!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank court10482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Favorite place to walk.........”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Many trails on this battlefield. Give your kid a fake rifle and get to hiking. There are signs next to historical markers explaining the battles. Nice evisitor center as well. Park Rangers are very helpful and much nicer than other National Parks I have been to recently.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I really enjoyed how quiet it was for a warm July day. Get list and maps at Visitors center. There is also a museum upstairs with some hands on exhibits. Nice trails.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lehooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice, educational, and beautiful park.”
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

The battlefield is very cut up by the modern roads but that's to be expected. If you don't mind driving around you will like it. The visitors center was interesting and educational, run by nice and helpful personnel. They have recently found that the Best farm had slave quarters and are doing digs to find out more about that farm which was amazing and the other farms were nice as well. I like all the history and the farms I just wish they would offer tours of the farm buildings so we could see the inside. Maybe they will in the future. I like it and go there about twice a year however it needs more hands on stuff like the tours I mentioned and maybe some living history folks.

Helpful?
1 Thank susu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monocacy National Battlefield also viewed

 

Been to Monocacy National Battlefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing