We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great for Kids and Adults

Fantastic place! Our docent was wonderful. We learned all about the unsung members of the... read more

Reviewed August 20, 2018
Ily911
,
Wilmington, Delaware
A Great Place to Explore

This is a great historical gem within Frederick city. Family members of all ages will enjoy this... read more

Reviewed August 20, 2018
Roguejck7
,
Frederick, Maryland
Read all 45 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Frederick
from $65.00
More Info
from $87.00
More Info
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
27
15
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
15
3
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 45 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2018

Fantastic place! Our docent was wonderful. We learned all about the unsung members of the Continental Congress and what their lives were like during that time period. TONS of hands on activities for the children! Unbelievable collection of horse drawn carriages and sleighs. We had a wonderful afternoon there.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Ily911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018

This is a great historical gem within Frederick city. Family members of all ages will enjoy this underrated point of interest. Local, state, and national history unfolds as you explore the historic home and grounds. The museum is very hands on and the staff is exceptional! They work so hard to make learning fun, entertaining, and relevant. They also bring in outside experts to enhance the materials they have on site. This is a must see for anyone interested in history!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Roguejck7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

It's rare to find a place that is so fun and engaging for the kids, but also just as interesting for the parents. Our wonderful guide gave us a personal tour of the house, gardens, and the multiple different areas on the grounds (carriage house, ice room, etc...) all while engaging our three kids (aged 1-5) and giving them ample time to play and explore.

Even the 1 year old had a blast playing with all the toys!

We had an amazing time and had the entire facility nearly to ourselves.

We highly recommend and look forward to visiting again.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank aaron_family01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2017

I have visited this place many times, especially taking field trips with my students from Montgomery County. It is very hands-on and there are mny dosons to explain the history to our groups. They share interesting stories which keep the attention of little ones.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

Lovely historic home & farm turned into a Children's Museum. Our granddaughters love going and exploring. About every year, the museum changes up a few things to keep it interesting. Just walking (or running) around the grounds is nice also.

Date of experience: October 2016
2  Thank Ragz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews