We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service but very loud”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tasting Room

Tasting Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Tasting Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 397 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Church Street
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and service but very loud”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Frederick for a concert on a Friday evening and made reservations at the Tasting Room for dinner. We were there at 6 p.m. and were seated near the bar at the end of Happy Hour. The relatively small dining room was getting busy too. All this, coupled with the wood floors and high ceilings, made for a very loud ambience. Despite the lively surroundings, the service was great and the food was special. I had the ginger-carrot soup, and it was a taste sensation. My wife said it would be simple to make, but it was really good I had the scallops for my entree. Despite the rather small serving (3 large scallops), they were exceptional and succulent. My wife had the salmon By contrast, she got a rather large piece of salmon that was grilled just right and terrifically tasty. For dessert, we shared a creme brule that was smooth and creamy and prepared to perfection, The price? The Tasting Room is pretty pricey, but the quality justifies the cost if you can stand the noise!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roaddiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    110
    31
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
260 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent food and affordable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stopped for lunch and had a great experience. The menu is very unique and the food was very good. Service was great. Even though it has linen table cloths and napkins, anyone is welcome. The pricing was much less than we thought it would be when we first walked in.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vjlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tasty But High Priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We enjoyed an evening at the Tasting Room after many praises from friends. The place is surprisingly small, which is probably why reservations are highly recommended. We expected the evening to be pricing and were told upfront that the Menu is on the higher end. With that in end mind, you automatically expect more and maybe that is why I am not giving the Tasting Room 5 out of 5. My meal was tasty. The Lobster Mashed Potatoes and Soup was WONDERFUL; however, the steak, which everyone raved about really lacked flavor in my opinion. Especially for the price you pay. The service was good, the atmosphere has a city feel to it and the wine and beverage selection is great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdgirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick, md
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Birthday evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had a wonderful birthday dinner with family. Reservations were made and we arrived early. We were seated near the windows for downtown dinning. Bar area is near but not interrupting. Food selection was great, staff helpful and knowledgeable. Steaks were perfect and the evening was a hit for my birthday.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sharkytoucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
197 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Light and Luscious Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

A great place for lunch with friends. The Tasting Room is beautifully situated in historic downtown Frederick. We had a fairly large party and were given a small room in the back. Our service was excellent. I had the grilled chicken salad, which was lightly dressed with a delicious combination of flavors. It was a bit pricey, but I wouldn't hesitate to return to taste some of the other menu options.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teri99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasting Room also viewed

 

Been to Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing