We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Steak Heaven” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tasting Room

Tasting Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Tasting Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 390 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Church Street
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Steak Heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went to Tasting Room 11/3/12 and had the best steak in town. Service was good but waitress could have been a little friendlier. We were late eating so maybe we got her when she was very tired. Good place to go. A little on the high side but once in a while you mujst treat yourself.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BabyHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    99
    31
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“New York prices but not exactly New York food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

You don't really get what you pay for here. There's an arrogance to the staff and the menu that is not justified. The food is okay and Nicky presented, but nothing special. I had always heard that this was a great treat, but I was disappointed. For the money, Volt is better.

Helpful?
Thank Gana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Much of the menu is overhyped/overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

and you feel like you're in a fishbowl. They boast about their martinis but I've never had one there that blew me away, better luck for that at Bonefish grill.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank PandorasInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

6 of us ate at The Tasting Room on a Mon evening after tramping Antietam Battlefield since 6am. We were ready for a relaxing and hearty meal. The specialty drinks were imaginative and delicious. Everyone loved their dinner. Service was supuperb. Our, server, David, was a lot of fun. Excellent wine list with lots of price points. Would definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pompous and Unprofessional”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I grew up in Frederick county and I have eaten at most restaurants in downtown Frederick. I find the Tasting Room very pretentious and loud, from the staff to the clientele. The last time my friends and I went here we were running late because one person in our party had a little trouble with her toddler. We called ahead and told them we would be 15 minutes late and they told me they would hold the table. When we arrived 20 minutes late, they had given away the table. That would have been fine; we were late I get it, but don't tell me you're holding the table.

The most repulsive thing about the evening was the Maitre D. While we waited for our table that had been given away, he proceeded to go up to a table of women beside the window and started to make fun of a man who was stretching to take a run just outside the window. Really? I just thought it was really mean and unprofessional, but that is the vibe in there.

The food is always good, don't get me wrong, but I don't think it's worth the money or pretentiousness of the place.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CountessCrabCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasting Room also viewed

 

Been to Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing