We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beer was good. Food was decent.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brewer's Alley

Brewer's Alley
Ranked #8 of 398 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beer was good. Food was decent.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Let me just start off by saying that this place had high expectation because my native Buffalo has a similar establishment called the Pearl Street Grill & Brewery which is one of my favorite places of all time! Comparably Brewer's beer offering is pathetic. There are just more basic beers with no real twists or inventiveness. However the beer is of good quality. The food on the other hand is overpriced for what it is. I got the Buffalo Shrimp wrap which was puny with itty bitty shoestring fries. Not worth the $12 is cost! I would go again, possibly for beer, but eat elsewhere. Pearl Street- you got nothing to worry about!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JacksonJeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    223
    100
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beer Great, Food Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

The beer was great...plenty of choices for those who like a wide range of micro-brews. The food was just average...although I do recommend the macaroni and cheese. I had a hamburger and the rest of my party had the pizzas. A good stop for a mid-afternoon lunch. The food wasn't anything special but it was good and the portions were the perfect size. In the heart of downtown frederick. The wait didn't seem long at all either for five people on a holiday weekend.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank roobrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fun Concept in Downtown Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

We were in town for a wedding and hit this place up for lunch and some drinks before the rehearsal. It had good beer and good food and the prices were pretty normal for lunch. I highly recommend the Mac and Cheese it was AWESOME. Also I think its seasonal but the Pumpkin Ale was Delish. The outside it super cute while the inside lacks some atmosphere but overall I think this is a great place to grab lunch or a casual dinner.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JennDC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

This was our first time ever going. We went for dinner not the bar. It was a Friday night and was quite busy. The food was very good, particularly the wild boar special as well as the samon off the regular menu. Desserts were excellent as well. We would stop here our next time through the area.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveA65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warm ambiance and quick service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

I went with a large group for work which can be slow going at some restaurants but they were very efficient! I rarely have a hot dog outside of a ball park but the the hot dog with pretzel bun sounded so good, and it didn't disappoint, although I kept the chili on the side, I would recommend!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kfitzy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewer's Alley also viewed

 

Been to Brewer's Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing